We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Escoffier Restaurant

Escoffier Restaurant
1946 Campus Dr, Hyde Park, NY 12538-1430
845-471-6608
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #7 of 43 restaurants in Hyde Park
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Williamsville
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We dined at Escoffier last week, the menu for which is now being served at the St. Andrew's Cafe. In Escoffier's former location will be the new restaurant, Bocuse, which is scheduled to open before next spring. I have no idea how the menu for Bocuse will compare to Escoffier, but the companion and I definitely enjoyed our recent Escoffier dinner. Service was generally pretty good. The food was also very good, although this was the least favorite of our three meals at the CIA in as many nights. They did start us out with a very nice amuse bouche, a small pork terrine with a mini gougere. It was a very nice start. My companion and I both ordered a salad special of the night, which was a lovely nicoise with lightly seared tuna over greens with some cherry tomatoes, fingerling potatoes, anchovies, and a quail egg. We both loved it. For our entrees we both chose the beef tenderloin, with crispy truffle pudding, asparagus, and port wine glazed onions. The beef was perfectly cooked, and we both loved the tarragon and foie gras sauce.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    20
    9
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful and fun experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Dinner threatened to be a disaster but turned out delightful instead. In planning our trip to the Hudson Valley, we had made electronic reservation for the American Bounty restaurant at the Culinary Institute of America. When we arrived at the CIA, however, there was no record of our reservation and the restaurant was full. Unable to accommodate us at the American Bounty, the staff there called the Escoffier, the French restaurant of the CIA, which was able to seat us. The CIA restaurants are staffed by faculty (supervising) and students. The dinner was delightful. The servers, who are students training for careers in the food-service industry, especially as chefs. While they are learning and don't always get things right, they bring much more energy and interest to their jobs than the staff at just about any restaurant you will try. Servers are eager to engage in discussions about food, wine, service traditions in other countries. The enthusiasm was infectious. The food was very good, of a quality usually to be found in larger cities not smallish towns. And the wine list by the glass was small but well curated, with several interesting selections. The evident interest the servers and cooks take in learning the craft in which they will spend their careers made this a memorable and highly enjoyable evening, despite the bumpy start. We all know America is in the midst of a food revolution, and the CIA has been in the forefront of that. Based on the meal we ate in the CIA's traditional, European-style dining room, we can say with confidence that the future of American dining is in good hands. If you are in the area, go!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fufu58
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Treat yourself !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have visited the CIA many times, but forgot to make reservations on this visit. They had an opening so we took it even though I didn't feel as dressed as I thought I should be. The Maitre'd didn't even blink ... and later a gentleman arrived in ripped jeans. Our student waitress was nervous, but did an outstanding job describing the specials. The entire staff was so beyond professional and the presentation of both appetizer and entree was top notch. Everything was delicious and can't wait to return on our next visit to the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

this place never disappoints. been there 5 times over 20 years & it just keeps it's reputation. went with 3 couples to celebrate our meeting on a cruise in France; it continued our great times & delicious culinary experiences

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous and Fun Place to Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

We loved our lunch here. The food was excellent. We especially liked the beet and goat cheese salad. We were in the room where we could watch all the student chefs at work- great entertainment. And the waitstaff was excellent - friendly and eager students obviously enjoying what they were doing. And prices were reasonable. One of our favorite lunches ever

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Escoffier Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Escoffier Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Escoffier Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.