We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine and unusual retreat provided by engaging hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willows Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hyde Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Willows Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Willows Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
53 Travis Road, Hyde Park, NY 12538   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hyde Park B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A fine and unusual retreat provided by engaging hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were delighted with our stay, and with the sumptuous and highly innovative breakfasts, which got us all the way to the evening meal in good style. The house is just short of 250 yrs. old but has been cleverly updated while retaining the XVIII century atmosphere, and the location is well away from the clamor of the various routes 9, providing restful uninterrupted sleep.

Green Features: lee and lisa recycle everything, and seem to enjoy the practice.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I tried to make a reservation through their website, phone and e-mail and although I got an initial response letting me know that the room I wanted, for the dates I wanted, was available, it was impossible to complete my reservation. I called three times (during business hours) the following week, and no one answered,so I left messages at their answering machine, and sent a couple of e-mails. I never got a response.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hunterstar, Owner at Willows Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
We are sorry you felt so strongly as to write a negative review even though you did not stay and experience our B&B.

It was unfortunate you didn’t find the email responses sent to you explaining the delay to your reservation request because we were on a short vacation, so often business emails end up in spam folders. We sincerely hope you were able to find other accommodations for your upcoming stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsonia, PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is our second three-night stay at the Willows and we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when we visit Hyde Park. The house is charming and is filled with beautiful antiques and whimsical decorations. How often does one get to stay in a house that is older than the USA??! Our room was cozy and comfortable, but what made our stay most memorable were our gracious hosts, Lee and Lisa. Warm and welcoming, generous and helpful, we felt instantly at home. We looked forward with great anticipation to Lee's delicious, artfully prepared breakfasts. Lee is a masterful chef. The dishes he prepared were made from local ingredients; he grows fruits and vegetables on the property, grinds his own flour, makes his own butter......and we savored every bite!! Perfection! (Ask him to make the lemon sorbet - it's so-o-o good!) We highly recommend the Willows and look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upupandawaygrammy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The room we stayed in was very small. The staircase leading to the upstairs was quite difficult for anyone to manage who has knee problems, or other mobility issues. The bathtub was a beautiful claw foot, but it was so high, that stepping in to take a shower was almost impossible. There were no grab bars or safety features.

We were never shown the living room, and assumed it was non existent, so we were forced to spend our evening in a little room with poor reading light.

Although the mailing address is Hyde Park, the Inn is actually in Pleasant Valley. It was still a distance from the Roosevelt Estate.

Have stayed in many bed and breakfasts, and must say this was one of the least appealing we ever stayed in,

Room Tip: Second room is larger. Only two bedrooms in the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaire, Texas
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My wife and I spent the night at The Willows last month. The Willows is a small “farmhouse’ in a farming area. It was a little hard to find. They have two rooms. Our room was small but comfortable and the other was vacant. The accommodations are not luxurious but they are fun.
Our host, Lee, was very friendly and helpful. He is a graduate of the Culinary Institute was full of information. We enjoyed talking to him.
He fixed a very nice breakfast.
I would enjoy staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We spent a night at The Willows after visiting the Roosevelt home.
Lee started well by giving us excellent directions to reach The Willows and a warm welcome when we arrived at the delightful cottage. We stayed in the Green Room,beautifully furnished in antique style,in keeping with the property(but with a comfortable 21st century bed).
We were given good suggestions for restaurants and particularly enjoyed Lee's home prepared and home cookedbreakfast which met the vegetarian requirements we had asked for.
An excellent stop which we would recommend.

Room Tip: only 2 rooms___both delihtful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

In mid-May, my mother, mother-in-law and I stayed at the Willows on our way to Vermont to pick up my college daughter. It was the first stop on a trip of B&Bs and inns, and the "moms" still feel it was the best of the journey. The house is old - dates back to the 1700s - and the floors in particular showed the charm and character of age. Our room - the Green Room - was delightful: pleasant, comfortable and with it's own modern bathroom. The inn is in the countryside, but only about 15 minutes from the sights of Hyde Park and the Culinary Institute. But the heart and soul of the Willows is Lee: a graduate of the Culinary Institute, our breakfast was superb, with a bowl of perfect berries topped with meyer lemon sorbet, a wonderful baked egg dish, homemade bread and homemade sausage. When possible, all the ingredients are from his garden or local farms. Lee is a character: ask to see his I.D. from college!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Willows Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willows Bed & Breakfast

Address: 53 Travis Road, Hyde Park, NY 12538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind in a lovingly restored 1765 farmhouse on a quiet county road in the heart of historic Hudson Valley. Two guest rooms each with private bath. Breakfasts are prepared by the owner, a Culinary Institute of America graduate. Homemade butter, jams, breads, and sausages. Honey from our own hives! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Willows Hotel Hyde Park
Willows Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willows Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.