We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay in Hyde Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willows Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hyde Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Willows Bed & Breakfast
53 Travis Road, Hyde Park, NY 12538   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hyde Park B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Falls Church, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay in Hyde Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

In mid-May, my mother, mother-in-law and I stayed at the Willows on our way to Vermont to pick up my college daughter. It was the first stop on a trip of B&Bs and inns, and the "moms" still feel it was the best of the journey. The house is old - dates back to the 1700s - and the floors in particular showed the charm and character of age. Our room - the Green Room - was delightful: pleasant, comfortable and with it's own modern bathroom. The inn is in the countryside, but only about 15 minutes from the sights of Hyde Park and the Culinary Institute. But the heart and soul of the Willows is Lee: a graduate of the Culinary Institute, our breakfast was superb, with a bowl of perfect berries topped with meyer lemon sorbet, a wonderful baked egg dish, homemade bread and homemade sausage. When possible, all the ingredients are from his garden or local farms. Lee is a character: ask to see his I.D. from college!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights at the Willows B&B. The homeyness of the 1700s bed and breakfast is matched by the warmth of the inn keepers, Lee and Lisa. The breakfasts prepared by Lee, a CIA graduate, were delicious!!!! And everything was homemade right down to the bread and butter. I would definitely recommend a stay if you are visiting the Culinary Institute!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We just truly relished our stay at Willows. My husband and I had the opportunity to spend some magnificent quality time with our oldest daughter. The peace and quiet (no TV or phone interruptions) allowed for great conversations. The environment of the 1765 farmhouse was cozy and welcoming. The breakfast feasts were over the top and made even better by informative, welcoming and non-intrusive owners, Lisa and Lee. Within a short riding distance we took in the top sights of choice. The restaurants suggested for dinner were top Zagat rated experiences. All in all we'll do it again!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poconos
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

I was up in Hyde Park for dinner at the Culinary Institute of America and didn't want to make the drive home. We stayed in the Stencil Room. It should really be called the Fishing Room with all of it's fishing-themed decorations. The bedding was wonderfully comfortable. The bathroom was large and there were lots of bubble baths to choose from for soaking in the big tub. The building itself was erected in the 1700's and had a lot of charm to it. Of course, the highlight was breakfast. Lee is a graduate of the CIA and I wasn't disappointed with the oatmeal pancakes with homemade butter and the best bacon I've ever had. Don't forget the apple cider, fresh fruit, and coffee, too. Delicious! Lee and Lisa are also animal lovers and have 2 wonderful dogs and 2 wonderful cats. On the property is a lovely vegetable garden and two bee hives are off in the distance. It was just so charming. I'm hoping to go back in the spring.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Willows B & B is a restored 1765 farmhouse surrounded by lush vegetable gardens and fruit orchards. The owner is a graduate of the CIA and grinds his own corn for the corncakes. The breakfast was made entirely from local ingredients. . He picks blueberries from his bushes. He makes his own butter. Lee gets his meat from a neighbor and grinds his own sausage. Breakfast is a treat not to be missed at Willows. You will sleep peacefully in the attic with plenty of room to spread out. Lee knows the history of the area and helped us get reservations at the CIA for lunch. With only two rooms, you will feel like old friends by the time you reluctantly leave the Willows.

Room Tip: Ask for the
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa, HI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

The location is great because it is quiet and lovely. I wish I could have had better internet but the breakfasts were great and creative. Lee is a very good host and willing to share all kinds of stories so it was fun to hear about the culinary institute and the joys of of the B and b business. If you want a good getaway from NY this is it as we enjoyed the peace and quiet after the noise of New York. We just loved the walk over the Hudson and recommend it!!

Room Tip: The small room has some road noise but still fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Villa, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

My partner and I had a terrific experience at the Willows B&B in Hyde Park - this farmhouse was built in 1765, has 6’6” ceilings and was very quaint, warm, cozy and in excellent condition. The owner is a CIA (Culinary School of America) graduate, so the breakfast was really over-the-top (“baked egg” with homemade cheeses, jams, sausage, bread and juice)…it just couldn’t have been nicer. Homemade soaps, lots of little niceties, a gazillion antiques and no TV! If you're headed to the Roosevelt Museum, Vanderbilt Mansion or to try the CIA, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Willows Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willows Bed & Breakfast

Also Known As:
Willows Hotel Hyde Park
Willows Bed And Breakfast
Willows Hotel
Address: 53 Travis Road, Hyde Park, NY 12538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind in a lovingly restored 1765 farmhouse on a quiet county road in the heart of historic Hudson Valley. Two guest rooms each with private bath. Breakfasts are prepared by the owner, a Culinary Institute of America graduate. Homemade butter, jams, breads, and sausages. Honey from our own hives! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willows Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Willows Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list