We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a revisit. A historical must see.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Franklin Delano Roosevelt Home

Franklin Delano Roosevelt Home
4097 Albany Post Rd, Hyde Park, NY 12538
800 337 8474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 14 Attractions in Hyde Park
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Visit FDR's 1826 home that remains almost exactly as it was at the time of the president's death in 1945, including the stables, icehouses, a walking trail, and the graves of Franklin and Eleanor located in the Rose Garden.
Lake Mary, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Worth a revisit. A historical must see.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The grounds weren't impressive because of the time of year, but I would definitely revisit to see the rose gardens which must be amazing. The guide made it quite clear that visits to enjoy the grounds, at no charge, are welcome at any time. We were unable to visits the FDR Library and Museum due to renovations but were told that our ticket would gain us admission after June. The history of FDR and Eleanor just breathes in the home and yet it is hard to imagine how world changing these two were in this setting. It seems like a house for regular people (of course wealthy ones). Visited the same day as the Vanderbilt Mansion it showed the huge gap between the simply wealthy and the excessively wealthy of the late 1800's as this was FDR's birth place and belonged to his mother until she died.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    109
    23
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“WOW!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This place is filled with amazing history!!! I love the story about President Roosevelt sitting on the back porch overlooking the Hudson River... you have to go to get the story because I won't ruin it.. it's that wonderful! You will not be disappointed!! It's gorgeous; the home, the furniture, the stories, the history, the romance, it's all here!! I've been going for many many years since we're fortunate to live in the area. Even though I go many times a year, I always learn and see something new and beautiful! A MUST!!! Enjoy and bring the kids so they can learn first hand about our beloved USA <3

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“History for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The FDR home is a beautiful location to enjoy, but a guided tour offers a more complete experience that would appeal to children and adults alike.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“FDR Home and Presidential Library”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Have read about FDR's home and its history so I was happy to be able to take the tour.
It was very different on the inside from what I had always visualized.
We went on a day when they had costumed guides and that made it even more enjoyable.
Highly recommend it (and Mrs Nesbitt's Cafe in the Visitor's Center is MUCH better than ones I have been in similar historic places!)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amory, Mississippi
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Lots like a real family home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I must say that I really enjoyed that the Roosevelt family didn't feel the need to be ostentatious! It looked like a family still lives there. The wheelchair really told the story! The view overlooking the Hudson River was awesome! Enjoyed so much!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Franklin Delano Roosevelt Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franklin Delano Roosevelt Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.