We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Franklin Delano Roosevelt Home

Franklin Delano Roosevelt Home
4097 Albany Post Rd, Hyde Park, NY 12538
800 337 8474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 attractions in Hyde Park
Type: Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Visit FDR's 1826 home that remains almost exactly as it was at the time of the president's death in 1945, including the stables, icehouses, a walking trail, and the graves of Franklin and Eleanor located in the Rose Garden.
mattpoisett
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nice tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The guide makes the tour a lot to see and look at in the house. You see the way that they lived and enjoyed the days

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    69
    14
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Historic Roosevelt Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I loved seeing this historic house with its furnishings and art. It is fun to compare the way the "old money" Roosevelts lived compared to the Vanderbilts nearby.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Gotta go here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Go visit this home. Enjoy its splendor. Then go next door to the Vanderbilt's "Hyde Park" and be prepared to be WOW'd by the difference in fortunes between the two famous American families. By visiting in the fall, the tree colour was wonderful but the large rose garden, much loved by Momma Roosevelt, was done blooming for the season.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota - Mt. Rushmore State
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“FDR Home and Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I was intrigued that there was a statue that was created 10 prior to FDR contracting polio. That statue had him sitting down in a chair that looked like the kind he had made into a wheel chair. The lower part of his legs were not part of the sculpture... Kind of an erie feeling

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“One of the best Presidential homes we have visited!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband and I have visited about 20 different Presidential homes/ Libraries, and this was one of the best. We spent almost an entire day between the FDR home, Top Cottage, and Val-Kill. Every one of our guides was interesting, knowledgeable, and courteous, making the experience fun as well as educational. The grounds are immaculate and the artifacts are many and well-preserved. The library itself was under rennovation, so we did not go there, but did not feel cheated in any way. We would recommend seeing all 3 sites (Top Cottage was built as a getaway for FDR and Val-Kill was Eleanor's retreat/home) if you have the time. Since FDR presided over the country during one of the most difficult times in our history, it catches you by surprise feeling the emotional impact of the times brought home by seeing some of the most intimate parts of the lives of this family. This is truly a must-see for anyone who wants to understand what it means to be American.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Franklin Delano Roosevelt Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franklin Delano Roosevelt Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Franklin Delano Roosevelt Home to your Saves list