We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A simple get away (if you are extremely rich)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vanderbilt Mansion National Historic Site

Vanderbilt Mansion National Historic Site
519 Albany Post Road, Hyde Park, NY
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 Attractions in Hyde Park
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 54-room mansion could be considered modest for a Vanderbilt.
Andover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A simple get away (if you are extremely rich)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The grounds are spectacular - do spend time walking to Bard's Rock and back to the lower gate house. The house - you get to see most of it and you can take (nonflash) pictures of the interior. Our guide was very good, lots of interesting stories. How much time to see the Mansion and grounds: the house tour is about an hour and an hour plus for walking the grounds.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    139
    28
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“See how the other half lived!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stopped here on our annual national parks trip- this time to the East Coast. We always buy the national parks recreation passport which allows you to get into all of the national parks for a full year for one price. If you are visiting multiple national parks you should look into it because it will save you money, often paying for itself after only two or three stops.

We arrived here around 3:30 and the 4:00 tour was sold out and they do not sell tickets for the next day. We walked around the grounds and took pictures after a visit to the FDR house (we made the last tour there ;) which was at 4:00) and looked out over the river as the sun was setting- it was lovely. We came back the next morning and got on the 9:00 tour- there were only 2 other people on this tour. The park ranger was knowledgable and because there were only the five of us they gave us plenty of time to look around the home. The home is beautiful. It is reminiscent of Versaille in that it is OVER THE TOP. And to think, they only used this home 4 months out of the year, using this during the cool spring months and late summer and then yachting around Europe. What a life. This is a great stop and I would recommend doing all three parks in the Hyde Park area to get a full view of how the other half lived- very beautiful and peaceful setting as well. There is RV parking and you can have dogs on the property but not in the home of course!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Vanderbilt mansion”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I was expecting a lot more to this visit. It was a bit disappointing. But still a learning experience. To know how the Vanderbilts started and where the money came from,the intrigues and their other homes around the US as well.
What gas disappointing wad that there was really no wheel chair access. Though they had an elevator inside the house.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Chester, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great visit - great docent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The docent was absolutely great! His knowledge of the mansion and its history was impressive and his anecdotes and sense of humor made the visit very memorable. The house itself was impressive, as were the grounds...lots of BEAUTIFUL, old trees.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Vanderbilts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

A beautiful home and grounds. We took the tour inside the mansion and was impressed with the authenticity. It was a pleasure to not only see the upper floors where the family and guests lived, but also the lower kitchen level where the staff worked. a good blend of both sides of life, the people in service and the wealthy family they serve

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vanderbilt Mansion National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Vanderbilt Mansion National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vanderbilt Mansion National Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.