We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have been there 3 times” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vanderbilt Mansion National Historic Site

Vanderbilt Mansion National Historic Site
519 Albany Post Road, Hyde Park, NY
1-877-444-6777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Hyde Park
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 54-room mansion could be considered modest for a Vanderbilt.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I have been there 3 times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I was just in aw of it!! I take all my friends and family, to visit it.. mosly lov lov lov the gardens, i could stay there all day!!!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    151
    28
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Mary, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A great guide brought it to life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Usually it is hard to imagine how people lived like this but the guide did an excellent job of bringing the history of the family and the time period to life. What my daughter and I found interesting is that for a beautiful, opulent mansion it actually had a homey feel. If you enjoy history and visiting great houses of a previous decade it is a must see. Because of the time of year, I can't speak for the grounds but if they are anything like the house, they must be spectacular.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Historic, Romantic, Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Vanderbilt Mansion suits many different groups of people. We have been going there for years, over 20 now! The gardens in the Spring and Summer are spectacular! We go once a week even in Winter usually just to sit at the overlook to unwind after the week. They have a once a year plant and flower sale on Memorial Day weekend in May which they cultivate from the actual HISTORICAL (over 100 years old) plants from the property! We go every year to expand and specialize our home garden. It's an amazing place! And, it can be very romantic as my husband and I had our first kiss there years ago :)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A little piece of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

It's a little hard in this day and age to put in our mind's eye how elegantly the super wealthy used to live but a trip to the Vanderbilt mansion is a skip back in time to an era of marble, gilt finishes, lush fabrics and handcrafted beauty. But in the New York/New England area, Age of Innocence residences and museums are relatively aplenty: a trip to Newport, RI, Long Island or even New York City proves that. What makes this special and far worth the moolah you spend on admission and getting up there is the location and park that surround the Vanderbilt mansion - on the banks of the Hudson, the views are spectacular and the park serene. In addition, a ticket to the mansion will include an educated, top notch tour and if you want to make a weekend of it, the Roosevelt mansions and the CIA culinary school are close by. A perfect day trip or mini vacation. Highly recommended!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful little Vanderbilt Cottage!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Have seen other Vanderbilt Mansions and this one is the smallest of them all at only 50 rooms! The tour is very interesting and they give lots of great information. The house was donated with all of the original furniture in it and it is fascinating to see. We went on a day during the peak Autumn foliage and the views across the river are STUNNING! Well worth the admission price. Do NOT miss this house while you are in the area, you have got to go see it for yourself!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vanderbilt Mansion National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Vanderbilt Mansion National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vanderbilt Mansion National Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.