We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“newly renovated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum

Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum
4097 Albany Post Road, Hyde Park, NY 12538
800-337-8474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 attractions in Hyde Park
Type: Historic Sites, Libraries
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Historic site features the home and estate of Franklin D. Roosevelt, Springwood, and the Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum, the only Presidential Library used by a sitting president. It was conceived and built under President Roosevelt's direction and opened to the public in 1941.The Library's mission is to foster research and education on the life and times of Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt, and their continuing impact on contemporary life. Our work is carried out by four major areas: Archives, Museum, Education and Public Programs.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Mamaroneck, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“newly renovated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great use of voices (fireside chats), videos, and gave a very moving and interesting history lesson, from the depression right through WWII. Excellent stop.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    64
    13
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Remarkable tribute to a remarkable man”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have been here twice now and would go again in a heart beat. FDR's presidency covered such a tumultuous period in modern history, and this museum/library does a wonderful & engaging job to telling that story. I had my 9 year old nephew with me on my last visit, and he was fascinated by the interactive features, videos and audio clips. This is not strictly a political/historical record of FDR's tenure----there's also a wealth of social history and many interesting artifacts of daily life in the US during the Depression and WWII. The whole story is told with such clarity and with such a command of the entire period that you can't help but feel you've stepped back in time. No matter how much you think you know about FDR or his presidency, you'll come away knowing, and appreciating, much more.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean, NJ
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Could have spent another 2 hours!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Fascinating! There are so many films to view and pictures to look at. A history lesson in the Great Depression. There is a lot to learn about Eleanor Roosevelt also. I visited with my cousin, can't wait to return and take my husband. Carve out enough time for yourself. Really not appropriate for young children.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“New exhibits are fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We have been to this library twice. The house tour was great, led by a British woman who had heard Roosevelt speak on the radio as a child in London. We spent hours in the library. The new exhibit is very interactive, and many points of view are presented. There is also a lovely courtyard where you can sit next to a bronze life size sculpture of FDR sitting on a bench. Lots of info on Eleanor Roosevelt as well including excerpts of the huge file the FBI kept on her suspecting she was a communist!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“First presidential library: A fitting tribute to a remarkable man.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This library/museum is on the grounds of FDR's Hyde Park NY home. He designed & built it during his 2nd term. Of course he went on to win 2 more elections. Consequently it remains the only presidential library ever used by its honoree during his time in office. It is a great museum and contains lots of the types of things we political & history junkies crave. FDR was a collector and the museum and his nearby home are full of his treasures.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum to your Saves list