We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Cafecito

El Cafecito
820 E Santa Fe Ave, Grants, NM 87020-2434
505-285-6229
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 27 Restaurants in Grants
Cuisines: Mexican, American
Description: Built new restaurant in 2011, same location for 26 years we now seat 113 and offer a banquet room that seats 50. We are on the corner of Nimitz and Santa Fe Ave. on historic Rt. 66, just 1 mile off of I-40.
Restaurant details
Description: Built new restaurant in 2011, same location for 26 years we now seat 113 and offer a banquet room that seats 50. We are on the corner of Nimitz and Santa Fe Ave. on historic Rt. 66, just 1 mile off of I-40.
Great Falls, Virginia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Took ride with family on trip to ABQ, and stopped here for quick lunch. Fast service, friendly atmosphere. All three of us enjoyed our chile rellenos, tacos and enchilada. Nice that you can order ala carte and not have to get platter with beans and rice. Interesting art work. Only draw back was people coming around selling jewelry- but they moved on quickly if you said no thanks.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    30
    21
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't waste your time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The service was poor. They don't tell you that the enchiladas are cheese and if you ask for beef in the enchilada they consider it a substitution and charge you $1.50 extra. May not sound like much but when you order the enchilada plate it only costs 50 cents for beef for two enchiladas. Makes no sense to me... Pointed it out and the comment was "you are only one of hundreds who have complained about that". Have to pay for chips and salsa. But you get complimentary sopapillas. They were TOUGH! Would rather have the chips and salsa.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Show Low, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Over-fried Chile Rellenos”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The waitress was to be commended for good service, attentiveness, and got the order correct.

After driving the drag a couple times (and visiting competition that shares a large parking lot with the main grocery store in town), we settled on El Cafecito having read some reviews here and elsewhere.

We all ordered chile rellenos, and all arrived over-fried, as if they had been deep fried and forgotten. The dough surrounding them was thick and inside was a medium picante green chile with white cheese. At least two of us gave up trying to slice the relleno with fork and knife and sliced it open to eat the chile and cheese alone.

The orange cheese that came on it congealed quickly. I simply removed it off to the side as it didn't seem very palatable.

One of us received a side of red chile (enchilada sauce) for the rellenos. It came in a small plastic container. It, like the green enchilada sauce, only comes with meat (as noted by one reviewer here earlier--I thought perhaps that might have changed. (The competitor in the grocery shopping center area said that they have stopped adding meat to the enchilada sauce, green and red.)

I ordered a bean tostada that was tasty and a very good value for $1.50.

Overall, I felt that the food was not worth returning a second time. I've eaten rellenos in many places and this was by far the worst.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Would not return, friendly but food not real impressive much less good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I ordered a beef chimichanga plate, chimi was dry and very small, had lettuce, rice and refried beans but no sour cream or salsa to go with it. Chimi's were very small compared to what the chim's are in the Midwest.

Husband had a burrito, small and dry too.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Great Value, Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My daughter and I stopped here on our way traveling cross country from the Midwest to California. We missed the exit for the hotel we had booked so we took the next one, which put us on the old route 66. We were hungry and saw that this place had plenty of cars in the parking lot, so we thought it would be a safe bet. The waitress explained the New Mexico food served there. We had both green and red chili sauce which they call "Christmas". The chili sauce is just cooked chilies you add to your food. The meal came with a basket of warm sopapillas - fried puff balls of bread which you put honey on. The food was tasty and a good sampling of typical New Mexico style cuisine.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Cafecito also viewed

 

Been to El Cafecito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cafecito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.