We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Motel

Sands Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sands Motel to your Saves list
Sands Motel
112 McArthur St, Grants, NM   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Grants
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Okay, I'm a sucker for a good motel sign, and the Sands has one of the best in Grants. Reception was polite and helpful and the room was clean and comfortable. Although it had seen better days, some effort had been made to keep everything in neat and good repair. The Wifi worked fine and the bed was comfortable. All in all, $32 well spent for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    13
    10
    10
    4
See reviews for
6
10
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at the Sands not by choice but out of necessity because of car troubles. The rooms were shabby and the towels were yellow. As an extra bonus our room had some paranormal activity. I would not be shocked to see this place on Ghost Hunters very soon. If you don't mind any of these things then this is the place for you!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grants hotels

Chicago
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

We stayed one night after a long day's drive. Arrived about 11:30 and out the door around 8:00 to get back on the road. I have mixed emotions here. In no way, shape, or form is this place nice. Had we spent more time as guests, the approval would have declined even more because it was very uncomfortable. Old and worn is okay if it's clean and comfortable, but this place was neither. We were afraid to touch anything but non-porous surfaces. Luckily, there was a long counter and a table on which we could set our belongings. The refrigerator was an unexpected bonus, but our friend's had leftover beer in it. Even though I was really tired when we arrived, I tossed and turned the whole night. Don't know how much of that can be attributed to the condition of the bed or the condition of my mind.

The mixed emotions stem from our getting a lifetime of laughs remembering this place. The night before we were in Vegas and stayed at Paris. Upon check-in, we all roared at how far the mighty have fallen! What do you expect for $35 (total WITH tax) a night? The memories are priceless!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RESERVE
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We spent one night at this hotel and the managers were very helpful and gracious. They are foreigners, but they went out of the way to help. This is an old-timey motel that is only one story with outside entrances to all rooms. The room was not the greatest to look at, but it had a small refrigerator, microwave and television. Wifi was also free and available. There was a free continental breakfast in the morning. It was very reasonably priced at $43.00 for 4 people including tax.

Although it is old, it is in good repair. Personally we prefer this type of hotel to the newer ones that all the rooms open on to a common hall. It is much safer in case of a fire.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

This room wasn't too pleasing to the eye, but serviceable. The price was really cheap, only $40 per a night and AAA discounts are available. As is such, the bathroom was pretty gross (giant crack fixed by adding a pile of white sealing putty that was yellowing, stains on shower curtain) and the dark hardly-even-carpet material probably hid a lot of dirt. Blanket had two or more cigarette burns, but the sheets were clean. Ice was plentiful, and small amount of breakfast (donuts, juice, coffee) were available in the lobby.

All in all, if you want to save money and don't mind these things, should be doable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
163 hotel reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

From the outside and the inside this place looks like it is 60-70 years old. There is enough room to park a couple of trucks, but not a huge lot.

No issues with check-in, check-out was just dropping the key in the night box. Actual key, not a card.

The place is old, but in good repair. Repair. Some items had been repaired where more expensive places would have replaced the item. The WiFi worked good and the room had plenty of outlets.

But the basics were good, clean room, hot water, good bed, fridge worked. Because of the general age of this place and (and ones like it) I was surprised to find towels that were thicker than / thick as the ones at a Holiday Inn.

See photos …

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

I prefer the old fashion motor lodges to the new hotels with the inside hallways. Planning a visit to El Malpais NM we looked for a hotel in Grants. Getting off the 40 at exit 81 which brings you to old Route 66 and bygone glory.

This hotel is VERY reasonably priced, nice management, PET FRIENDLY, hi speed internet, and you can park you car in front of the door. The beds were very comfortable and the pillows were fluffy. The management was friendly and helpful.

Yes, the hotel is old, but that's also the charm. It's not a cookie cutter hotel, but a bit of history.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Motel

Address: 112 McArthur St, Grants, NM
Location: United States > New Mexico > Grants
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Grants
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Grants

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.