We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious in the winter sun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Land of Fire & Ice (Bandera Volcano & Ice Cave)

Land of Fire & Ice (Bandera Volcano & Ice Cave)
Highway 53 (28 miles SW of Grants), Grants, NM
1-888-ICE-CAVE
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 10 attractions in Grants
Type: Geologic Formations, Caverns/ Caves
Attraction Details
London
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Glorious in the winter sun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

A lovely scenic drive down from Grants and then we spent a good hour and a half visiting the volcano and ice cave. Although there was snow around, the paths had all been cleared (dry and non slippy) and the views were stunning - clear blue sky and crisp white snow on the ground made thenwhole area more beautiful.

Given the ambient temperature, the ice cave's consistent 31f was cosy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    22
    8
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coromandel, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It's worth the walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

As you walk along the scoria path you will notice the exquisite work of art mother nature has made out of lightning strikes on the surrounding trees. Take time to stop and enjoy the majesty of this wood art. The brave little plants that have struggled through the rocky terraine are beautiful. The walk to the volcano is a gentle uphill stroll, it evens out just when you need a break and then the sight of the hole leaves you to imagine the force behind the blow that has left this volcano 1400 ft deep and 800ft around. It is worth the effort to walk there and then to cool off, as the day we were there temps were 87o, walk down into the wonderous ice cave. You are met by the cool 31o inside this cave, easy walk down the steps, and the ice is incredible, a lush lime green in colour. They say the thickness of the ice is about 20ft, and the water is about 3,000 years old. What an incredible break in our journey. The shop is very authentic, lovely indian artwork, and the hummingbird feeder was busy with these darling little birds. What a find and a treasure this stop was. Enjoy your back garden America, it has some extraordinary treasures to be found.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucca Valley, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fire & Ice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

It is a great place to stop if you have the opportunity. It is very reasonably priced and the owners are really nice. The girls loved watching all the hummingbirds flying around. They also loved the dog. The volcano wan't very impressive, but the ice cave definitely made up for it. It is amazing to see ice that thick when it's 90 degrees out and it's not melting.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Visit to Ice Caves in 1958”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I visited the ICE CAVES when I was eight years old. I am now 62, and I'll never forget it. (I had to mark a more recent date below to get this website to accept)

The old fellow who talked to us said he'd crawled over the ice (with a coat and raincoat on) for "who knows how far" and never found the end.

I've told people about it over the years and few had heard of it.

Quite an area ... I jumped off of a runaway horse and had my head sewn up by an Indian Doctor! My Uncle said he was as gentle as a lamb. Right.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
131 attraction reviews
Reviews in 169 cities Reviews in 169 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Incredible”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This privately owned site is very amazing and worth the hour or two stop. I never would expect to experience an ice cave in NM (or anywhere) that is so incredible. I've visited caverns, but never saw an ice cave like this.

Walking around the volcano was surreal, and folks need to be agile to do this. Then the decent into the Ice Cave was amazing. Reminder, there are about 50-70 steps, but worth it ti see the ice that is there year-round. Take a jacket and enjoy!

Got gr8 pix, but can't get them loaded, so will try to add later.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Land of Fire & Ice (Bandera Volcano & Ice Cave) also viewed

 

Been to Land of Fire & Ice (Bandera Volcano & Ice Cave)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Land of Fire & Ice (Bandera Volcano & Ice Cave), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Land of Fire & Ice (Bandera Volcano & Ice Cave) to your Saves list