We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay with only one Problem - Road Noise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Buford Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Durham, NC
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay with only one Problem - Road Noise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in the General Buford Suite just across the road from the main hotel. The hotel is ideally located on the outskirts of downtown Gettysburg, a few hundred yards from the historic Lutheran Theological Seminary. The suite itself was very clean and well furnished; it looks directly out onto the battlefield out the back and over the town of Gettysburg off the front upper balcony. The hotel staff is courteous, friendly and helpful. There is only one problem - the road noise from Hwy 30. The first night the road noise only ceased for 3 hours until 5 am when the large semis went back on the road. The second night was better; we were tired from a day of walking over the battlefield and weren't as aware of the noise. I would highly recommend a stay here with one caution about the noise. If you are a light sleeper, then I would advise looking somewhere else. Otherwise, its a great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    157
    44
    7
    7
See reviews for
144
153
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
wynnewood
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

We stayed in The General Lee suite with our two sons (7 & 9). The boys loved the history and the roominess, as well as the jetted tub. Dad and I had difficulty with the road (busy Route 30) and bar (smokers outside our windows) noise, and the overwhelming smell of must. We planned on staying two nights, but decided after the amount of truck noise, to only stay one night. We took a ghost tour at The Farnsworth; it was really interesting--our boys loved it! We also took an old-fashioned-bus tour which gave a lot of interesting information about the town people during and after the war. Well worth the cost! The hotel was in a good location, and the history was awesome, but the noise was really heavy. Perhaps take a white-noise machine or earplugs if you are on any way a light sleeper. Comfortable beds and decent water pressure.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearfield, PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

This was my second time staying at the hotel once again I had a pleasant experience. We stayed in the General Lee suite in the stone building that was the headquarters of General Lee during the battle. The suite was spacious it was like a small apartment. My parents went with us and we had plenty of room for all and everyone had their privacy. We loved the antique furnishing in my parents bedroom and the jucuzzie tub in the bathroom. Everything was comfortable. I loved the historical look of the decor. Overall we had a very enjoyable stay. I will definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Va
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

My husband teaches a Civil War class to homeschooled high schoolers and this is where his students and their families stay when it's time for the battlefield tour. He's always spoken highly of the place, so when I had business in the area, I decided to give it a try.

I was most pleasantly surprised. From the exterior, it looks like a better quality 1950's strip motel, set back just enough off the road to minimize traffic noise - in fact, I didn't hear any.

My room had was very comfortable - one very comfortable bed, two armchairs, a nice table for working and a period-style dresser. The bed and pillows were very comfortable.

There is a great pub on the property with superb food at very modest prices - not your cookie-cutter restaurant. Nice atmosphere, nice staff, and most importantly, very convenient on an icy night when I didn't want to drive anywhere.

On nice days, it's less than a mile walk to the center of town with all the great restarurants and independent shops. Just allow enough time to chat with shopkeepers as many of these are family run and you're treated like welcome family!

The motel overlooks a portion of the battlefield, so you have plenty of room to get out and stretch your legs.

  • Liked — How homey it felt.
  • Disliked — Lack of in-room refrigerator.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Lafayette, IN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2008

This is the best motor lodge we have ever stayed in and a terrific value. When we arrived I was worried by its older style layout but the rooms were well maintained and scrupulously clean with newer beds. It is also next to a good brew pub and restaurant that had a family section. We passed on the Gen'l Lee Museum after a full day at the battlefield.

  • Liked — Quality maintenance of older motel, newer bed and helpful staff
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

Not a bad place at all. Well priced, clean, friendly staff, internet, only downside is there is no fridge in room. The heated tiles in the bathroom are very nice. Museum, while small, is very nice indeed. As a history buff, I found this small museum better than the museum at the National Park Visitor Center. This one has real stuff from the time period while the other has alot of "this is what it would have looked like" items. Not bad at all.

  • Liked — Museum
  • Disliked — No fridge in room.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
work
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

We were so pleased with our stay here. We have already recommended it to others. The room was so clean and comfortable. The convenience of a great and reasonably priced restaurant on the property added to our vacation in Gettysburg. We'll definitely be back!

  • Liked — Comfortable room
  • Disliked — Liked everything!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters

Address: 401 Buford Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#5 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#11 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Heart of the Battlefield, Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters is a Platium award winning Choice Hotels property. Our Inn is perfectly located on historic Seminary Ridge overlooking the Gettysburg Battlefield, the Gettysburg Lutheran Seminary and Gettysburg College.Our Hotel also features General Lee’s Headquarters Museum which is complimentary for our Hotel guests. General Lee’s Headquarters Museum is Gettysburg’s oldest museum and contains one the finest private Civil War artifact collections. We blend the feeling of the Civil War experience with 21st century conveniences at Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters. Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters is the only hotel in Gettysburg that offers suites in Civil War era buildings. In Addition, we offer suites with multiple bedrooms and full kitchens for extended stays. Our Appalachian Micro Brewery and Restaurant is conveniently located on site for signature food and spirits. We also offer a Banquet/Meeting Room for up to 50 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn At General Lee`s Headquarters Hotel Gettysburg
Quality Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.