We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, part of the history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters to your Saves list
Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Buford Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great location, part of the history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We really were pleased that we chose this hotel for our Gettysburg trip. Our main goal was to ride our bikes on the battlefield trail. This hotel is adjacent to the National Park auto trail. The main building is right across the street from the Seminary and Seminary Ridge. You just could not find a better location to be right near the battlefield. We had 2 different rooms, one couple in each. Of the two, the Upper Cushman was the better choice. Very nice king bed suite. We had the Fireside Suite but, although it had a fireplace, it really is not a suite. No separate sitting area or extra room you would expect with a suite. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly and talk to them in person. The rooms are all quite different and they are h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    168
    48
    8
    8
See reviews for
160
180
24
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Hotel staff really went out of their way to provide great customer service. Everyone we spoke to was so friendly and pleasant it really added to a great stay. Our room was spotlessly clean and appeared to have been recently renovated. There was a nice size flat screen on the wall. The beds were comfortable and had a good number of pillows. The continental breakfast had omelets, bacon, sausage, biscuits and gravy, waffle machine, and other items.....long story short, we never bothered eating breakfast out in town.The breakfast area provided a gorgeous view of the battlefield each morning. Future trips to Gettysburg will have us staying at the Quality Inn at General Lee's HQ.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

A great place to stay. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating and went out their way to be helpful. Out room was very clean, and we enjoyed the continental breakfast. We recommend the Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters if you are in the Gettysburg area. The price is right, and the location is relaxing.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed at this Inn for two days while we toured the Gettysburg historic sites. The location is great, just outside of town, with an awesome view of a battlefield. We didn't get to go to the museum bc we were too busy seeing all the other sites. The pool was nice and the continental breakfast was pretty good--more than just cereal. Our room was also nice. It's not your typical hotel room. The room is decorated more like a house than a standard hotel room with standard dressers etc... and there was plenty of room for the four of us. I would highly recommend this hotel. The staff was also very nice and helpful when we checked in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Hotel situated right on the battlefield. Room was comfortable. WiFi worked well. The breakfast room was large and pleasant. Breakfast was the usual stuff but it was hot and fresh.
The only problem we had was that we arrived early, around noon. we had planned to stop along the way but the weather was awful, freezing rain and icy roads. It was early January and hardly anyone around. BUT we weren't allowed to check in early. Told us to come back at three. We had lunch nearby and then tried to find something else to do. Well because of the bad weather everything was closing. Even the Visitor's Center. Nothing to do but drive around in the freezing rain.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel many times. The last two times have been disappointing to say the least. The time before bathroom was never cleaned before check in. Oftice didnt have a clue what to do to remedy this. This time buford suite stove doesn't work and hot tub jets broken. Pull out couch can not be slept on...it is rediculously sagging having to sleep like a snake. Ran out of hot water too. Called front desk and it is 830 kids still haven't eaten. All I can say is sad...sad...sad. bee. Coming here for years and never a problem. Would love to understand why management is lacking. No compensation and no service. We have booked a room for next weekend.I am betting we will cancel. Why stay in a suite with a kitchen and hot tub paying extra for it and getting no use from them?

Hope you realize what you are doing to this establishment. Taking it down hill fast!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The family and I have stayed here twice during the last year and I even went 40 miles out of my way to stay here while on a business trip. This is my all time favorite hotel. The staff is always friendly and rooms very clean. Sure it is older, but that is part of the charm!! The gift shop is even fun to visit - the manager Cass is a local history expert.

If going to Gettysburg do not miss this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters

Address: 401 Buford Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Heart of the Battlefield, Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters is a Platium award winning Choice Hotels property. Our Inn is perfectly located on historic Seminary Ridge overlooking the Gettysburg Battlefield, the Gettysburg Lutheran Seminary and Gettysburg College.Our Hotel also features General Lee’s Headquarters Museum which is complimentary for our Hotel guests. General Lee’s Headquarters Museum is Gettysburg’s oldest museum and contains one the finest private Civil War artifact collections. We blend the feeling of the Civil War experience with 21st century conveniences at Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters. Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters is the only hotel in Gettysburg that offers suites in Civil War era buildings. In Addition, we offer suites with multiple bedrooms and full kitchens for extended stays. Our Appalachian Micro Brewery and Restaurant is conveniently located on site for signature food and spirits. We also offer a Banquet/Meeting Room for up to 50 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn At General Lee`s Headquarters Hotel Gettysburg
Quality Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.