We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters to your Saves list
Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Buford Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
PDX
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Loved It”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We spent 2 nights here on our annual family vacation. We originally booked to stay in the hotel, but decided to change our reservation to the Inn @ Seminary Ridge, which is operated by the same company. It's across the road from the main complex, but the inn is 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom with a full kitchen / dining area plus a spacious living room.
Check in went really well, and the front desk were very helpful providing us with maps and details of tourist attractions.
The Inn itself is amazing. Quiet, tidy, neat and clean. The upstairs bedroom / bathroom would be a little challenging as the stairs are steep and narrow - after all the Inn was built in the 1800's. We were there in October and it was cold. While the downstairs area was toasty warm, the bedroom upstairs was freezing. We did have a blanket, but that didn't do anything to take the morning chill from the air. The upstairs bathroom is a shower/bath combo, however the shower portion is not very tall or wide as the ceiling over the top of this area is gabled. This was pretty annoying to my 6ft husband.
We left a "do not disturb" on our door for housekeeping, however they cleaned our rooms. It wasn't a big deal to us, but some people might be annoyed about it.
Breakfast is hot and cold options, served in the main complex. The breakfast room is clean and well stocked - just outside the breakfast room is a coffee / tea machine which is in operation 24 hrs.
Make sure to stop at the Free Museum, it's filled with wonderful artifacts and stories from the Civil War along with reasonably priced souvenirs.
We loved our visit and can't recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: Stay at the Inn @ Seminary Ridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    169
    48
    8
    10
See reviews for
163
181
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We cannot say enough good about the staff, the room and the location. We were upgraded to the Dustman Barn Suite and it was fantastic and HUGE! It also has a great view of the Buford battlefield. We arrived late and were pleased to see that there is a brewery on the property which was about 40 feet away from our room. Our room, the office, the breakfast area and the entire property were absolutely clean and flawless. They have not overlooked any detail.
We will gladly recommend this fine place to anybody considering going to Gettysburg.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuzyChadwick
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

VERY CLEAN!!! I was not sure what to expect from a motel, but we were limited on our budget, and still wanting to stay IN Gettysburg. I WILL return! This hotel is right on the battlefield tour. In fact, General Lee's Headquarters / Museum is on the property and you can visit for free. It is less than three miles from the visitor's center and extremely close to the shopping / tourist area of town. The breakfast is included and has cold AND hot options - so if you are someone who needs protein, you will be able to find it. There is also a Brewery / Pub on site if you need lunch or dinner and the prices were very reasonable. In short, I am impressed with what you get for your money. I would definitely stay here again - and this is from someone used to staying at the Disney Vacation Club resorts. My definition of clean is strict - this place was that and more. **** Caution - if you are a light sleeper, you should know that you can hear doors banging when people enter or exit their rooms. The doors are heavy and this might be why. I travel with a sound machine and could still hear them, so you should take this into account. ****

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed here in late October. The location is fantastic! The hotel is terrible. The rooms were dirty (the sheets had stains and chocolate on them)! The decor is very old. It doesn't seem as though they have ever updated their rooms. The breakfast was terrible, too. There wasn't much to choose from and what was there, was displayed awful. It was not appealing at all!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I had stayed at this inn several years ago and remembering its special location on the battlefield of the first day of fighting at Gettysburg, I drove up from Virginia to see the new museum (magnificent!) and stay again at this inn. I booked a large room and had the upper floor suite in the two-suite Dustman Barn.This was a barn in 1863 and served as a field hospital. The suite is elegantly furnished, comfortable and in a quiet location. It is adjacent to the Appalachian Brewing Company pub restaurant which allows for near by dining in or carry out. The inn stands at the end of development along the road and offers wonderful views of McPherson Ridge and the battlefields of the first day at Gettysburg. The staff is friendly and the breakfast was somewhat above usual motel standards. I look forward to returning again.

Room Tip: My suite in the Dustman Barn was roomy, comfortable and in an historical building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I loved this hotel. It was directly across from Seminary Ridge, the location of the Confederate army during much of the battle. The Thompson house is on the property, and there is a small museum describing how Lee ate at the home during his time in Gettysburg. It was quiet and about a mile from the city square. The room was clean, there were nice touches: mints, a coffee/tea service. The hotel is vintage and I liked that about it. The staff was friendly and helpful and the continental breakfast was impressive: eggs, ham, waffles, sweet rolls, cereal, fruit. Coffee, hot chocolate, tea available in the lobby throughout the day. I bought take-out at the Appalachian Brew Company, which was fine. Quite busy early on a Saturday night (5:30).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, MI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed at this Quality Inn this past September 2013 with my husband, brother and his wife. Perfect location. Nice folks. Nice rooms. It's a little walk to downtown but doable. Liked having the Brew Pub right on site. Overlooking the battle field. My husband and my brother, both civil war buffs thought it couldn't get any better than that! Also recommend the bicycling tour. Beautiful and informative.

Room Tip: Most room have double beds but the suites have queen or King. So ask for those if bed size matters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
2.8 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#9 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,696 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#6 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#1 of 29 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#5 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 439 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters

Address: 401 Buford Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#12 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Heart of the Battlefield, Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters is a Platium award winning Choice Hotels property. Our Inn is perfectly located on historic Seminary Ridge overlooking the Gettysburg Battlefield, the Gettysburg Lutheran Seminary and Gettysburg College.Our Hotel also features General Lee’s Headquarters Museum which is complimentary for our Hotel guests. General Lee’s Headquarters Museum is Gettysburg’s oldest museum and contains one the finest private Civil War artifact collections. We blend the feeling of the Civil War experience with 21st century conveniences at Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters. Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters is the only hotel in Gettysburg that offers suites in Civil War era buildings. In Addition, we offer suites with multiple bedrooms and full kitchens for extended stays. Our Appalachian Micro Brewery and Restaurant is conveniently located on site for signature food and spirits. We also offer a Banquet/Meeting Room for up to 50 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn At General Lee`s Headquarters Hotel Gettysburg
Quality Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.