We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be happier” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters to your Saves list
Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Buford Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
“Couldn't be happier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We cannot say enough good about the staff, the room and the location. We were upgraded to the Dustman Barn Suite and it was fantastic and HUGE! It also has a great view of the Buford battlefield. We arrived late and were pleased to see that there is a brewery on the property which was about 40 feet away from our room. Our room, the office, the breakfast area and the entire property were absolutely clean and flawless. They have not overlooked any detail.
We will gladly recommend this fine place to anybody considering going to Gettysburg.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    168
    48
    8
    9
See reviews for
161
180
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
SuzyChadwick
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

VERY CLEAN!!! I was not sure what to expect from a motel, but we were limited on our budget, and still wanting to stay IN Gettysburg. I WILL return! This hotel is right on the battlefield tour. In fact, General Lee's Headquarters / Museum is on the property and you can visit for free. It is less than three miles from the visitor's center and extremely close to the shopping / tourist area of town. The breakfast is included and has cold AND hot options - so if you are someone who needs protein, you will be able to find it. There is also a Brewery / Pub on site if you need lunch or dinner and the prices were very reasonable. In short, I am impressed with what you get for your money. I would definitely stay here again - and this is from someone used to staying at the Disney Vacation Club resorts. My definition of clean is strict - this place was that and more. **** Caution - if you are a light sleeper, you should know that you can hear doors banging when people enter or exit their rooms. The doors are heavy and this might be why. I travel with a sound machine and could still hear them, so you should take this into account. ****

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed here in late October. The location is fantastic! The hotel is terrible. The rooms were dirty (the sheets had stains and chocolate on them)! The decor is very old. It doesn't seem as though they have ever updated their rooms. The breakfast was terrible, too. There wasn't much to choose from and what was there, was displayed awful. It was not appealing at all!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I had stayed at this inn several years ago and remembering its special location on the battlefield of the first day of fighting at Gettysburg, I drove up from Virginia to see the new museum (magnificent!) and stay again at this inn. I booked a large room and had the upper floor suite in the two-suite Dustman Barn.This was a barn in 1863 and served as a field hospital. The suite is elegantly furnished, comfortable and in a quiet location. It is adjacent to the Appalachian Brewing Company pub restaurant which allows for near by dining in or carry out. The inn stands at the end of development along the road and offers wonderful views of McPherson Ridge and the battlefields of the first day at Gettysburg. The staff is friendly and the breakfast was somewhat above usual motel standards. I look forward to returning again.

Room Tip: My suite in the Dustman Barn was roomy, comfortable and in an historical building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I loved this hotel. It was directly across from Seminary Ridge, the location of the Confederate army during much of the battle. The Thompson house is on the property, and there is a small museum describing how Lee ate at the home during his time in Gettysburg. It was quiet and about a mile from the city square. The room was clean, there were nice touches: mints, a coffee/tea service. The hotel is vintage and I liked that about it. The staff was friendly and helpful and the continental breakfast was impressive: eggs, ham, waffles, sweet rolls, cereal, fruit. Coffee, hot chocolate, tea available in the lobby throughout the day. I bought take-out at the Appalachian Brew Company, which was fine. Quite busy early on a Saturday night (5:30).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, MI
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed at this Quality Inn this past September 2013 with my husband, brother and his wife. Perfect location. Nice folks. Nice rooms. It's a little walk to downtown but doable. Liked having the Brew Pub right on site. Overlooking the battle field. My husband and my brother, both civil war buffs thought it couldn't get any better than that! Also recommend the bicycling tour. Beautiful and informative.

Room Tip: Most room have double beds but the suites have queen or King. So ask for those if bed size matters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Even though the government shutdown was still in force during our visit in early October, we had a magnificent view of a large part of the battlefield from our hotel grounds. We were able to walk from the hotel to parts of the park that contain public roads, and thereby view many of the monuments. The hotel sits on Seminary Ridge, near where the first battle occurred with General Buford holding the line against the Confederates until Reynolds arrived with his infantry. The Quality Inn also is right next door to the small but impressive General Lee Museum. The old stone building actually served as Lee's headquarters during the battle. We found the museum most interesting, and the museum store is well stocked with moderately priced souvenirs. The hotel also has a lovely pool that was still open during our stay. It also sits adjacent to a nice brewpub with very good food and many interesting beers. The rooms were very large, with nice bedding and were immaculately clean. They were also very quiet and we heard nothing from nearby neighbors. The only downside to our stay occurred at the included buffet breakfast. Since there is only limited seating in the breakfast area, good manners dictate that people should eat and then move elsewhere to continue lengthy conversations, etc. There's plenty of alternate seating in the lounge area of the hotel for that purpose. However, many people were taking up whole tables to read their e-mail, check their computers, read newspapers or chat for long periods of time, while making no pretense of eating at all, or long after completing their meal. The management seemed disinclined to ask those people to move elsewhere and allow others to sit down and eat, even though we asked them to do so. Apart from this one issue, we were most happy with our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel for those wishing to enjoy the true Gettysburg Battlefield experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters

Address: 401 Buford Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Heart of the Battlefield, Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters is a Platium award winning Choice Hotels property. Our Inn is perfectly located on historic Seminary Ridge overlooking the Gettysburg Battlefield, the Gettysburg Lutheran Seminary and Gettysburg College.Our Hotel also features General Lee’s Headquarters Museum which is complimentary for our Hotel guests. General Lee’s Headquarters Museum is Gettysburg’s oldest museum and contains one the finest private Civil War artifact collections. We blend the feeling of the Civil War experience with 21st century conveniences at Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters. Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters is the only hotel in Gettysburg that offers suites in Civil War era buildings. In Addition, we offer suites with multiple bedrooms and full kitchens for extended stays. Our Appalachian Micro Brewery and Restaurant is conveniently located on site for signature food and spirits. We also offer a Banquet/Meeting Room for up to 50 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn At General Lee`s Headquarters Hotel Gettysburg
Quality Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.