We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Only!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Buford Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Binghamton, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Location Only!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed here in late October. The location is fantastic! The hotel is terrible. The rooms were dirty (the sheets had stains and chocolate on them)! The decor is very old. It doesn't seem as though they have ever updated their rooms. The breakfast was terrible, too. There wasn't much to choose from and what was there, was displayed awful. It was not appealing at all!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    233
    157
    44
    7
    8
See reviews for
144
155
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I had stayed at this inn several years ago and remembering its special location on the battlefield of the first day of fighting at Gettysburg, I drove up from Virginia to see the new museum (magnificent!) and stay again at this inn. I booked a large room and had the upper floor suite in the two-suite Dustman Barn.This was a barn in 1863 and served as a field hospital. The suite is elegantly furnished, comfortable and in a quiet location. It is adjacent to the Appalachian Brewing Company pub restaurant which allows for near by dining in or carry out. The inn stands at the end of development along the road and offers wonderful views of McPherson Ridge and the battlefields of the first day at Gettysburg. The staff is friendly and the breakfast was somewhat above usual motel standards. I look forward to returning again.

Room Tip: My suite in the Dustman Barn was roomy, comfortable and in an historical building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I loved this hotel. It was directly across from Seminary Ridge, the location of the Confederate army during much of the battle. The Thompson house is on the property, and there is a small museum describing how Lee ate at the home during his time in Gettysburg. It was quiet and about a mile from the city square. The room was clean, there were nice touches: mints, a coffee/tea service. The hotel is vintage and I liked that about it. The staff was friendly and helpful and the continental breakfast was impressive: eggs, ham, waffles, sweet rolls, cereal, fruit. Coffee, hot chocolate, tea available in the lobby throughout the day. I bought take-out at the Appalachian Brew Company, which was fine. Quite busy early on a Saturday night (5:30).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, MI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed at this Quality Inn this past September 2013 with my husband, brother and his wife. Perfect location. Nice folks. Nice rooms. It's a little walk to downtown but doable. Liked having the Brew Pub right on site. Overlooking the battle field. My husband and my brother, both civil war buffs thought it couldn't get any better than that! Also recommend the bicycling tour. Beautiful and informative.

Room Tip: Most room have double beds but the suites have queen or King. So ask for those if bed size matters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Even though the government shutdown was still in force during our visit in early October, we had a magnificent view of a large part of the battlefield from our hotel grounds. We were able to walk from the hotel to parts of the park that contain public roads, and thereby view many of the monuments. The hotel sits on Seminary Ridge, near where the first battle occurred with General Buford holding the line against the Confederates until Reynolds arrived with his infantry. The Quality Inn also is right next door to the small but impressive General Lee Museum. The old stone building actually served as Lee's headquarters during the battle. We found the museum most interesting, and the museum store is well stocked with moderately priced souvenirs. The hotel also has a lovely pool that was still open during our stay. It also sits adjacent to a nice brewpub with very good food and many interesting beers. The rooms were very large, with nice bedding and were immaculately clean. They were also very quiet and we heard nothing from nearby neighbors. The only downside to our stay occurred at the included buffet breakfast. Since there is only limited seating in the breakfast area, good manners dictate that people should eat and then move elsewhere to continue lengthy conversations, etc. There's plenty of alternate seating in the lounge area of the hotel for that purpose. However, many people were taking up whole tables to read their e-mail, check their computers, read newspapers or chat for long periods of time, while making no pretense of eating at all, or long after completing their meal. The management seemed disinclined to ask those people to move elsewhere and allow others to sit down and eat, even though we asked them to do so. Apart from this one issue, we were most happy with our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel for those wishing to enjoy the true Gettysburg Battlefield experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My wife and I have been going to Gettysburg since 2005 and have stayed 4 or 5 other motels in the area, Quality Inn at Lee's HQ is our favorite. Let me start with the staff. Always helpful, professional and ready to go the extra mile to make you comfortable and at home. There is a wonderful little breakfast bar where you can have breakfast, read the free USA Today or Gettysburg paper, catch up on the news on the flat screen TV. Of course it is also common to get into discussions of the battle all the while looking out at Herbst Woods, scene of fierce fighting by the Iron Brigade and where General Reynolds fell visible right out the window. You are on the Battlefield. The railroad cut is 400 yards away to the west and the Lutheran Seminary is the same distance south.
The rooms are clean and comfortable and period style. Every room we have been in has plenty of outlets to plug your gadgets in. The beds are always comfortable and inviting. Flat screens are standard and a very large selection of TV stations to choose from. Every room has a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board
Some suites offer Jacuzzi tubs to soak your bones after a long day of tramping the battlefield. As well as refrigerators and microwaves. (check the room description before booking if you want those options) You have an assigned parking space for your room so you never have to worry about a spot that's close. There is an outdoor pool for use in the summer months that comes in handy on hot days as well.
Out in front is the Widow Thompson's house where General Lee took some meals and planned the battle. (His actual HQ tent was across the street) It is now a free museum and gift shop downstairs and a suite you can rent upstairs.
Beside it is the Appalachian Brewing Company Restaurant with good food and many varieties of fresh unique beer. Try the PA pretzel logs... they are off the hook!
Next time you are headed for Gettysburg, give Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters a try. I seriously doubt you will want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

This property is clean comfortable and in a good location.
The staff are very helpful.
With free internet and breakfast it's good value, my only negative would be that the beds are small and that the bathrooms tiles are very slippery so for an older couple this would be an issue.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters

Address: 401 Buford Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#11 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Heart of the Battlefield, Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters is a Platium award winning Choice Hotels property. Our Inn is perfectly located on historic Seminary Ridge overlooking the Gettysburg Battlefield, the Gettysburg Lutheran Seminary and Gettysburg College.Our Hotel also features General Lee’s Headquarters Museum which is complimentary for our Hotel guests. General Lee’s Headquarters Museum is Gettysburg’s oldest museum and contains one the finest private Civil War artifact collections. We blend the feeling of the Civil War experience with 21st century conveniences at Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters. Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters is the only hotel in Gettysburg that offers suites in Civil War era buildings. In Addition, we offer suites with multiple bedrooms and full kitchens for extended stays. Our Appalachian Micro Brewery and Restaurant is conveniently located on site for signature food and spirits. We also offer a Banquet/Meeting Room for up to 50 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn At General Lee`s Headquarters Hotel Gettysburg
Quality Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.