We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On Sacred Ground....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Buford Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Philadelphia, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“On Sacred Ground....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My wife and I have been going to Gettysburg since 2005 and have stayed 4 or 5 other motels in the area, Quality Inn at Lee's HQ is our favorite. Let me start with the staff. Always helpful, professional and ready to go the extra mile to make you comfortable and at home. There is a wonderful little breakfast bar where you can have breakfast, read the free USA Today or Gettysburg paper, catch up on the news on the flat screen TV. Of course it is also common to get into discussions of the battle all the while looking out at Herbst Woods, scene of fierce fighting by the Iron Brigade and where General Reynolds fell visible right out the window. You are on the Battlefield. The railroad cut is 400 yards away to the west and the Lutheran Seminary is the same distance south.
The rooms are clean and comfortable and period style. Every room we have been in has plenty of outlets to plug your gadgets in. The beds are always comfortable and inviting. Flat screens are standard and a very large selection of TV stations to choose from. Every room has a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board
Some suites offer Jacuzzi tubs to soak your bones after a long day of tramping the battlefield. As well as refrigerators and microwaves. (check the room description before booking if you want those options) You have an assigned parking space for your room so you never have to worry about a spot that's close. There is an outdoor pool for use in the summer months that comes in handy on hot days as well.
Out in front is the Widow Thompson's house where General Lee took some meals and planned the battle. (His actual HQ tent was across the street) It is now a free museum and gift shop downstairs and a suite you can rent upstairs.
Beside it is the Appalachian Brewing Company Restaurant with good food and many varieties of fresh unique beer. Try the PA pretzel logs... they are off the hook!
Next time you are headed for Gettysburg, give Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters a try. I seriously doubt you will want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    234
    159
    45
    7
    8
See reviews for
144
158
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

This property is clean comfortable and in a good location.
The staff are very helpful.
With free internet and breakfast it's good value, my only negative would be that the beds are small and that the bathrooms tiles are very slippery so for an older couple this would be an issue.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

A friend and I stayed there while visiting the battlefield. (couple of old guys who like history) We found the hotel to be clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy but we didn't expect that. It's a great location with history right outside your door. From there I could see places where some of my ancestors had been in battle. The staff was nice and the breakfast was good. I would go back. By the way, we got a tour guide at the visitors center and he was worth every cent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Hotel was somehow given Choice Hotels Platinum award but after staying here in a standard room my guess is they only took into consideration a suite or two. The furnishings were wore out, bed was uncomfortable and the room we stayed in didn't have any liners on the curtains so it was very bright. That is until I told the lady at the front desk, she supplied me with 2 sheets to hang on the windows!! I'm serious! After looking at the curtains some more you could see where someone had cut the liners off. Really weird! Breakfast was fair and staff was friendly, but room was a dump for the price paid.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We pulled up in front of this quaint and charming motel and I instantly had deja'vu. I had stayed here many, MANY moons ago as a kid. What a coincidence that I selected (unbeknownst to me) the same motel in our visit to Gettysburg! It was a hoot and the motel was way better than I remembered. The rooms were exceptionally clean and the bathrooms have been completely updated from my first visit way back when. I usually prefer a modern decor however I found the decor at general Lee's to be perfect for the location (which is right across from one of the battlefields) and town. The staff is super-friendly and the complimentary breakfast was a great way to start our day (and the beds were comfy) We will be back and this time, it won't be as long between visits!!

Room Tip: Be sure to visit the little museum in the gift shop on the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I have traveled and stayed in many hotels during my career. I have to say that this trip was the most enjoyable. I cannot tell you what a pleasure it was to stay at General Lee's Headquarters. The staff, the cleanleness of the rooms, the courtesy entended to us was overwhelming !!!!!!!!! I plan on returning to Gettysburg in the spring and will most definately stay there again. I would highly recommend to all my friends to stay at this hotel. I guarantee you will be completly satisfied.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have been staying here for over 26 years, four to five times a year. The rooms are cozy, clean and safe and the staff go out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. It sits right of the First Day of the Battlefield and was Lee's Headquarters.

Room Tip: Call early as these rooms do sell out fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters

Address: 401 Buford Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#12 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Heart of the Battlefield, Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters is a Platium award winning Choice Hotels property. Our Inn is perfectly located on historic Seminary Ridge overlooking the Gettysburg Battlefield, the Gettysburg Lutheran Seminary and Gettysburg College.Our Hotel also features General Lee’s Headquarters Museum which is complimentary for our Hotel guests. General Lee’s Headquarters Museum is Gettysburg’s oldest museum and contains one the finest private Civil War artifact collections. We blend the feeling of the Civil War experience with 21st century conveniences at Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters. Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters is the only hotel in Gettysburg that offers suites in Civil War era buildings. In Addition, we offer suites with multiple bedrooms and full kitchens for extended stays. Our Appalachian Micro Brewery and Restaurant is conveniently located on site for signature food and spirits. We also offer a Banquet/Meeting Room for up to 50 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn At General Lee`s Headquarters Hotel Gettysburg
Quality Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.