We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters to your Saves list
Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Buford Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A good motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here for one night, and were very happy with the room. It's not the largest or the best hotel bed we've ever had, but you get what you pay for. The breakfast was a buffet and you had polystyrene plates and plastic cutlery, but there was plenty of basic breakfast fare on offer. One drawback for me was the rather strong smell of cleaning fluid throughout the hotel, but this didn't seem to bother my travelling companions, so maybe it was just me. The hotel is in a nice location, and the Appalacian Brewery next door is an excellent place to eat - and drink.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    165
    47
    8
    8
See reviews for
155
175
24
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed the beginning of September and our stay was fabulous. I was just reading the last review and we must have stayed in completely different hotels. I thought the decor was fitting for the historty and style of the hotel.I slept soundly in our bed.The staff was beyond helpful they definately went the extra mile to help us with directions,the best places to eat, and where to go for specific information.I would recommend this to anyone heading to gettysburg. The stay we had was definately worth the price and when we were shopping around most of the hotels in town were more expensive or exactly the same price. oh, and the breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Ideal location about a mile from the centre of Gettysburg hence avoiding the crowds and traffic. Immediately opposite the Seminary Ridge part of the battlefield. Good motel with above average size rooms with all modern facilities. Adjacent to a good bar/restaurant and a small free museum

Only slight down side was breakfast, which was included in the price. Self service and fairly average but maybe I was expecting too much as I had previously stayed at a B&B at Sharpsburg, MD (for the Antietam battlefield) where the breakfasts were home cooked and absolutely great.

That said I would be very happy to stay at this motel again if I was ever in the Gettysburg area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I don't know where these other people stayed but if they stayed at the same place we definitely must of have a bad room. The room is very expensive 120 a night, the bed was lumpy, the décor was something you would find in a cheap motel, the fan in the bathroom was really noisy, the hot and cold water changed as someone else in the drive up motel was using it. You could get really cold or hot water in the shower at any time. The staff at the front desk was very friendly. I did like having the ability to drive right up to the door. The driveway for each vehicle is clearly marked by the room number. Would definitely not stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomson, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed here twice and would always choose this charming motel. It's right across from the battlefield! We loved walking over to Seminary Ridge. Very clean rooms. Jean went the extra mile to determine if one of the nights we requested was available. Also enjoyed the museum shop.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

very nice ,friendly ,Jean was helpful when we had to reschedule on short notice the rooms and our attraction ticket package from August to now.Good breakfast choices,good location,plan to return as there is way to much to see in 3 days.Very happy with The General Lee,great views and easy access to all attractions.

Room Tip: almost all rooms on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in August 2013, as part of a road trip. Good views across the Battlefields over the road. Just outside town, but you can walk in for dinner in about 5/10 minutes - although the onsite restaurant was recommended by fellow guests. A good selection of beers in the bar too!
The visitor centre is about 5 minutes away by car.
Nice little swimming pool if the weather's hot (don't think it's heated).
Free parking directly in front of your room.
Breakfast is provided - don't expect a massive buffet selection, but it's adequate and plentiful.
And, of course, the house General Lee used as his Headquarters are on site and is free to browse.
Good Value. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters

Address: 401 Buford Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Heart of the Battlefield, Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters is a Platium award winning Choice Hotels property. Our Inn is perfectly located on historic Seminary Ridge overlooking the Gettysburg Battlefield, the Gettysburg Lutheran Seminary and Gettysburg College.Our Hotel also features General Lee’s Headquarters Museum which is complimentary for our Hotel guests. General Lee’s Headquarters Museum is Gettysburg’s oldest museum and contains one the finest private Civil War artifact collections. We blend the feeling of the Civil War experience with 21st century conveniences at Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters. Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters is the only hotel in Gettysburg that offers suites in Civil War era buildings. In Addition, we offer suites with multiple bedrooms and full kitchens for extended stays. Our Appalachian Micro Brewery and Restaurant is conveniently located on site for signature food and spirits. We also offer a Banquet/Meeting Room for up to 50 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn At General Lee`s Headquarters Hotel Gettysburg
Quality Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.