We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good Gettysburg headquarters.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters to your Saves list
Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Buford Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Racine, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A good Gettysburg headquarters.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My father in law and myself stayed here two nights in July, 2013 (on advice of my brother, who had stayed here in a previous year). We were very satisfied.
First of all, I try to run 3 miles every morning, and Confederate Avenue is literally across the street, and provides a beautiful run along the line where Pettigrew/Pickett/Trimble formed for their charge (the halfway point in the run is the Wilcox line). It was a great run past the monuments and the "ghosts".
As far as the accommodations, they were clean and well maintained.
The breakfast was good, though the serving area is a bit small, so it can get a little congested.
The staff was very pleasant and helpful ... particularly when I needed directions.
For location and pleasant accommodations I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had the end room near the driveway that leads to the ice machine ... it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    168
    48
    8
    8
See reviews for
160
180
24
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Location, location.. This motel is on the battlefield! Very clean rooms with a staff that doesn't sit still. Some of the rooms have period furniture (or close). The grounds are very well kept. If you're into ghosts, this is a good place to start looking, at least in the room we had anyway. The device we have literally remained pegged in our room. Nice pool and very close to all the amenities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Ledge, Michigan
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The grounds of this hotel were well kept and the location was perfect for touring the battlefields. The room (we had a suite in the back of the property) was clean but could have used some attention. The lamp shades were dirty, and the walls although not bad could've used some touching up. Somehow the well kept look of the grounds was not exactly transferred to the inside. Breakfast was good, nice set-up, but on a busy day it doesn't appear there would be enough seating. Overall, not a bad place to stay but if we returned to the area we would probably look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordentown, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I had two familys with us and after a day driving the battlefield, we enjoyed the pool after a hot day. The rooms were spacious, clean and the beds were comfy. A beautiful view of the battlefild along Buford Road. The Brew Pub next door was a plus!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here three nights. So glad I chose this hotel. We stay in cookie cutter hotel rooms travelling all summer with son's baseball team. I wanted my son to experience the old style hotel that we remember as kids. Drive up, park at door, less formal with a more family feel. The room was clean and larger than newer hotels.This was the first time we've ever experienced housekeeping thank us for tipping-husband was so impressed he tipped extra. Our room 325 faced the front with views of the first day's battlefield across the street and the pool. We went to the center of town one evening however, the other two evenings we had dinner at the brewery on the property. It was nice to be able to have a few drinks with dinner and walk to our room. The only negative about the stay was the breakfast. Our teenage son has eaten countless hotel breakfasts and said the sausage was the worst he has ever eaten. Maybe a slightly better quality sausage should be served as he is a hungry teenager and not a picky breakfast person. The muffins and fruit were satisfactory. We enjoyed the General Lee museum and gift shop on the property. Our son enjoyed the speed of the internet. We will stay here again when we return to Gettysburg.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Patchogue, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

A Wonderful find. Perfect location. The children loved the pool. Very affordable and clean. Will be staying here again. We stayed in the downstairs Dustman Suite. Our very own cottage. The kids loved the tv in the bathroom! Breakfast was plentiful and tasty.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed here one night on a roadtrip to see the Battlefield. I traveled from Michigan after work on a friday, and we ended up not arriving until after 2 AM! We called ahead to confirm our reservation just to make sure. We when arrived we met the most pleasant, knowledgeable staff member (Carolyn), who checked us in. She was ready to give us everything we need to make the most of our visit. I found myself so engaged with her, that I forgot my friends were in the car and ready to get to bed!
We found the room to be clean and updated- not super fancy or high end by any means, but more than adequate. If I return to Gettysburg I will stay here again.

Room Tip: If traveling to explore the battlefield, the hotel is on the North end of Seminary Ridge and just ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters

Address: 401 Buford Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Heart of the Battlefield, Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters is a Platium award winning Choice Hotels property. Our Inn is perfectly located on historic Seminary Ridge overlooking the Gettysburg Battlefield, the Gettysburg Lutheran Seminary and Gettysburg College.Our Hotel also features General Lee’s Headquarters Museum which is complimentary for our Hotel guests. General Lee’s Headquarters Museum is Gettysburg’s oldest museum and contains one the finest private Civil War artifact collections. We blend the feeling of the Civil War experience with 21st century conveniences at Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters. Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters is the only hotel in Gettysburg that offers suites in Civil War era buildings. In Addition, we offer suites with multiple bedrooms and full kitchens for extended stays. Our Appalachian Micro Brewery and Restaurant is conveniently located on site for signature food and spirits. We also offer a Banquet/Meeting Room for up to 50 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn At General Lee`s Headquarters Hotel Gettysburg
Quality Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.