We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, comfy beds, beautiful view of battlefield” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters to your Saves list
Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Buford Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Bordentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Clean rooms, comfy beds, beautiful view of battlefield”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I had two familys with us and after a day driving the battlefield, we enjoyed the pool after a hot day. The rooms were spacious, clean and the beds were comfy. A beautiful view of the battlefild along Buford Road. The Brew Pub next door was a plus!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    169
    48
    8
    10
See reviews for
163
181
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wadsworth, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here three nights. So glad I chose this hotel. We stay in cookie cutter hotel rooms travelling all summer with son's baseball team. I wanted my son to experience the old style hotel that we remember as kids. Drive up, park at door, less formal with a more family feel. The room was clean and larger than newer hotels.This was the first time we've ever experienced housekeeping thank us for tipping-husband was so impressed he tipped extra. Our room 325 faced the front with views of the first day's battlefield across the street and the pool. We went to the center of town one evening however, the other two evenings we had dinner at the brewery on the property. It was nice to be able to have a few drinks with dinner and walk to our room. The only negative about the stay was the breakfast. Our teenage son has eaten countless hotel breakfasts and said the sausage was the worst he has ever eaten. Maybe a slightly better quality sausage should be served as he is a hungry teenager and not a picky breakfast person. The muffins and fruit were satisfactory. We enjoyed the General Lee museum and gift shop on the property. Our son enjoyed the speed of the internet. We will stay here again when we return to Gettysburg.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Patchogue, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

A Wonderful find. Perfect location. The children loved the pool. Very affordable and clean. Will be staying here again. We stayed in the downstairs Dustman Suite. Our very own cottage. The kids loved the tv in the bathroom! Breakfast was plentiful and tasty.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed here one night on a roadtrip to see the Battlefield. I traveled from Michigan after work on a friday, and we ended up not arriving until after 2 AM! We called ahead to confirm our reservation just to make sure. We when arrived we met the most pleasant, knowledgeable staff member (Carolyn), who checked us in. She was ready to give us everything we need to make the most of our visit. I found myself so engaged with her, that I forgot my friends were in the car and ready to get to bed!
We found the room to be clean and updated- not super fancy or high end by any means, but more than adequate. If I return to Gettysburg I will stay here again.

Room Tip: If traveling to explore the battlefield, the hotel is on the North end of Seminary Ridge and just ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I don't understand why anyone would give this place A bad review, The staff was supper Friendly helpful, The rooms were large and outstanding very clean the beds was great. The best free breakfast I have ever had, Hot eggs Bacon fresh muffins and Fruit, Just wonderful. They have a very nice musuem and Gift shop a Pup with outstanding burgers I want another one right now. And the view is breath taking. If your going to gettysburg for the rich history and to view the battlefield Gen Lee's is the place to stay. Its The best hotel I have stayed and I have stay at many over the years even Disney this was far better Hats off Guys to great INN

Room Tip: Many haunted Rooms ask the front desk for one There fun if nothing more
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

If you are visiting Gettysburg for the history, this hotel is right in the middle of Day one, and has a good view of the Peace Light. In terms of access to the national park, its second to none. If you want to have a night out in the town itself you'll need your car!
Rooms were very cleam, with excellent artwork in each room of scenes from the battle! If i had one criticism, is that the cooked breakfast items looked rather nuclear! We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I'm not sure what I expected here, but this Quality Inn exceeded my expectations. First, and probably most important, it's right by the battlefield--almost in the battlefield. Second, it has the feel of an old style motel, out of the '50s, but updated. It just felt right. The people in the motel were all excellent, and helpful in the extreme, friendly and ready with directions to all points of interest. The hotel serves a good breakfast--coffee, eggs, sausage, English muffins and the like--and there's a tavern right on the grounds for lunch or dinner (or a ball game from the bar). Food at the tavern was very good, and comfort food--don't miss the Mac + Cheese--with good sized servings. Third, the hotel is actually at what was General Lee's headquarters, and has a small (and free) museum. We were able to get around the battlefield and the town efficiently from the hotel, and simply could not have asked for more.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
2.8 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#9 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,704 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#6 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#1 of 29 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#5 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters

Address: 401 Buford Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#12 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Heart of the Battlefield, Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters is a Platium award winning Choice Hotels property. Our Inn is perfectly located on historic Seminary Ridge overlooking the Gettysburg Battlefield, the Gettysburg Lutheran Seminary and Gettysburg College.Our Hotel also features General Lee’s Headquarters Museum which is complimentary for our Hotel guests. General Lee’s Headquarters Museum is Gettysburg’s oldest museum and contains one the finest private Civil War artifact collections. We blend the feeling of the Civil War experience with 21st century conveniences at Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters. Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters is the only hotel in Gettysburg that offers suites in Civil War era buildings. In Addition, we offer suites with multiple bedrooms and full kitchens for extended stays. Our Appalachian Micro Brewery and Restaurant is conveniently located on site for signature food and spirits. We also offer a Banquet/Meeting Room for up to 50 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn At General Lee`s Headquarters Hotel Gettysburg
Quality Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.