We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Place to stay in Gettysburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters to your Saves list
Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Buford Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The Perfect Place to stay in Gettysburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We loved our visit to this hotel. Everything was so wonderful it's difficult to know where to begin. The location was perfect - historic, beautiful views of the National Military park, and close to town while just outside the noise and traffic. The staff were friendly and eager to help. Our family scheduled this vacation to join up with friends who had flown cross country, and the hotel staff arranged adjacent rooms for us. The staff also offered suggestions for touring and dining, helped make reservations for us, and were as helpful as could be. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and charming. Housekeeping did a great job of cleaning our rooms each day. There were ample choices for breakfast, and everything was tasty. The adjacent Appalachian Brewing Company offered convenient dining after our arrival and a long day of driving. Onsite the museum of Lee's Headquarters was well-done and impressive for such a small space. As an added bonus, I was surprised to learn the home has deeper historic roots -- it was at one time owned by Thaddeus Stevens. All in all, the hotel was such a gem, I would welcome a return visit to Gettysburg with an opportunity to stay once again at this Quality Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    163
    47
    8
    8
See reviews for
151
169
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Flippin, Arkansas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I chose this hotel after reading many glowing reviews of the property. My family and I were not disappointed. Staying here helped make our vacation to Gettysburg something special. We stayed there twice, at the beginning and end of our trip. There were two different rooms. Both were nicely updated, sparkling clean, spacious, and reasonably quiet. I wouldn't mind having the bathrooms from this property in my own home. The view is stunning, and the exterior of the property is well-maintained. The breakfast room is the cleanest I have had the pleasure to find while traveling. Everyone was friendly and helpful. When checking out, I mentioned that the bathtub was draining slowly, and the desk clerk thanked me for reporting it. The slow drain is the only thing about either of our stays that could be remotely considered negative. Do yourself a favor and stay here if possible when in Gettysburg.

Room Tip: The rooms surrounding the pool have the best views of Seminary Ridge. Be sure to visit the museum a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We began our trip east by staying here at the beginning of our East coast trip. The room was very clean and spacious. In addition to the two queen beds they small couch was a pull-out, which was nice for our daughters. The breakfast was adequate and well stocked. The price seemed reasonable for the area and the accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston,Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

General Lee's Headquarters located on Seminary Ridge in Gettysburg's historic district, overlooking Gettysburg National Military Park and adjacent to Gettysburg College and Lutheran Theological Seminary at Gettysburg. We stayed in the General Buford Suite across the street from the headquarters. This was our third time to stay here. We enjoy sitting out on the porch with the view of Gettysburg and Seminary. Nice room with plenty of space. King size bed with large bath upper stairs, fold out couch family area down stairs with a kitchen. Good for a family of 4 people or just 2 adults. The last two times we stayed there it was not part of Quality Inn chain but no big difference but the breakfast was a little better then. Museum & gift shop are a bonus. Quiet room and one of those places that you will always remember. Great for exploring the battlefield and getting a real sense of history. The cottage is haunted so says many people but we have yet to see any ghost. Great stay on the 150th anniversary of the battle.

Room Tip: Stay in the cottage across the street. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

If you’re a history buff looking for a place to stay in the Gettysburg area, you must consider booking at this Quality Inn. Not only is the property on Seminary Ridge (in front of which Buford’s cavalry delayed the Confederates to give Union forces time to arrive and ultimately occupy favorable positions), it even encompasses key historical buildings like the house occupied by Lee for the remainder of the battle. The Seminary itself is just a short walk distant. Remarkably, suites are available in several of the historic buildings at prices not greatly higher than rooms in the motel.

Of course, history alone doesn’t make for good accommodations. The QI has many strong points, a very few weak ones, and overall represents good value. I would almost certainly stay here again on a return visit, though I might try to book one of the historic suites for a more unique experience.

The QI’s location is literally on the edge of town; the land west and south is all part of the battleground, very scenic. Driving to town (or through it and south to the park visitor center) is quick and easy, so enjoying the bucolic surroundings incurs no offsetting downside. The two lane highway in front of the motel is busy, but noise was not a problem for us in our room, and besides I’d guess most of the hotels and B&Bs in the area are on comparably busy streets. If you really want that battlefield view from your room though, be aware that half of the motel rooms are blocked from the view by the Appalachian Brewing Co. and Lee’s HQ (as ours was).

The QI’s facilities include an attractive small outdoor pool (with the battlefield view), an exercise room, and a very pleasant dining area with a great view, adequate number of tables, and two TVs. The free breakfast was very good, including waffles (two waffle makers, no waiting), an omelet style egg offering, ham, four juices, and the other usual ‘continental’ fare. The staff was attentive to cleanliness in the dining area and keeping the food stocked.

The motel room itself was very satisfactory, and larger than many motel rooms tend to be. Our two-queen included a good flat screen TV with extensive channel options, a writing table with chair, two sitting chairs and a book/lamp table, and a large chest of drawers. Beds and pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom was updated, but there was no second sink outside the bathroom. The room AC/heater had digital control and was not too noisy (and I liked that it was not located right by the beds). Unfortunately the WiFi (pretty much essential these days) was virtually unusable in our room (and didn’t seem much better near the office).

As other reviewers have noted, the presence of the ABC restaurant onsite is a plus. We had one dinner there and were pleased with the quality, price and service. For more stylish cuisine still at a good price I recommend you try the Blue Parrott Bistro on the first block west of the circle downtown.

Overall, the QI almost earns 5 stars from me but fell just short on the disappointing lack of a view from our room, poor WiFi, and value (price was about $150/night including tax). But like I said before, I’m pretty sure I’d stay at this QI again on a future visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was a nice down and out hotel that reminded me of traveling with my grandparents when I was a little girl but with all the conveniences of today's era. The rooms were very spacious clean and well kept. The pool was refreshing after a day of touring in 90 degree weather. This hotels location is ideal if following the battlefield tour as it is a short distance from site #1 on the auto tour. Its location is not in the center of town which was a nice getaway from the hustle and bustle of downtown. We ate dinner at the micro brewery on site and the food was great as well as the micro brew beer. Also on site is general lees headquarters and museum a true step back in time. Thanks for the great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We previously stayed at Quality Inn in the Gen'l Lee's Headquarters' suite in 2008 and rebooked for our visit for the 150th anniversary of Gettysburg's famous battle. The suite is the top floor of Widow Thompson's Civil War era home and isn't suitable for handicapped patrons as there is a short staircase to reach the entry door. The air-conditioned suite has 2-bedrooms with a sitting room and kitchen (with fridge, small sink and in-room coffee maker) and 1 full bathroom. While the décor could use an good update, we appreciated the important historical setting in the heart of the battlefield. Although located on busy Buford Avenue and adjacent to the Restaurant, there was little traffic noise during night, and moderate early-morning traffic. Staff was cordial and helpful and there was a good array of brochures. The breakfast was satisfactory with hot and cold options, juice, fruit and coffee. There is a free museum and gift shop located on the ground floor of the suite. While small, it is definitely worth a visit. Touring the battlefield sights and the town center is very easy by car. The Battlefield Visitor's Centre and National Cemetery are less than 15 minutes drive away. Recommended if you are a Civil War buff and looking for unique accommodations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters

Address: 401 Buford Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Heart of the Battlefield, Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters is a Platium award winning Choice Hotels property. Our Inn is perfectly located on historic Seminary Ridge overlooking the Gettysburg Battlefield, the Gettysburg Lutheran Seminary and Gettysburg College.Our Hotel also features General Lee’s Headquarters Museum which is complimentary for our Hotel guests. General Lee’s Headquarters Museum is Gettysburg’s oldest museum and contains one the finest private Civil War artifact collections. We blend the feeling of the Civil War experience with 21st century conveniences at Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters. Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters is the only hotel in Gettysburg that offers suites in Civil War era buildings. In Addition, we offer suites with multiple bedrooms and full kitchens for extended stays. Our Appalachian Micro Brewery and Restaurant is conveniently located on site for signature food and spirits. We also offer a Banquet/Meeting Room for up to 50 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn At General Lee`s Headquarters Hotel Gettysburg
Quality Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.