We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly, helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters to your Saves list
Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Buford Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tonawanda, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly, helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located with a beautiful look over a battlefield. The rooms are small but very clean. The bed was comfortable. I cannot say enough about the staff. Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the breakfast. The area was kept cleaned and breakfast items were kept stocked. There was cold cereal, yogurt, fruit, muffins, toast and the make your own waffles were delicious. I would stay again at this hotel and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with one queen size bed. The hotel room was small, but it was fine for the two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    168
    48
    8
    9
See reviews for
161
180
24
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fairport, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stopped here on our way back from Spring Break and continued our impromptu Civil War historical tour (we also went to see the HL Hunley, Ft. Sumter, Boon Hall Plantation and spent a day in Savannah). As other reviews have noted, the property is in an absolute perfect location as it overlooks part of the battlefield and is also far enough outside of town to not feel too close to "civilization." Upon check-in, the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, giving us all sorts of material to help plan our time in the area. While waiting to check in, there are some Civil War artifacts in display cases in the lobby that were rather interesting.

The room itself was somewhat dated, with creaky floors underneath, but the beds seemed to be relatively new and comfortable. The bathroom also seemed to be recently renovated, which was a plus. The dining area for breakfast was very small and did not have much of a selection for either hot or cold food. During our time there, this was the only downside that I can think of.

Unfortunately, due to other plans in the area, we did not get a chance to check out the museum on the property, but from what I heard by MANY people in the area, it is quite good.

I would probably stay here again if I am in the area as the location was perfect and the price was well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed here during my recent visit to Gettysburg. All of the reviews about this hotel are true. The staff was friendly and the room was very clean. A great location right across the street from the battlefield...a beautiful view in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skippack, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hotel is by far one of the best locations to stay while in Gettysburg. The hotel faces Seminary Ridge and has the best scenery of any hotel in the area, in my opinion. It was far away enough from the heart of town so as to avoid looking at a restaurant or gas station, but still less than a 5-minute drive to main attractions.
The room was simple, yet comfortable. Some parts of the room showed its age (like room carpet, and trim in bathroom) but it was extremely clean and the bed was comfy (although I didn't sleep well, thanks to a ghost tour earlier that night! haha!!) And I don't use the term "clean" loosely....I am OCD abut that type of thing in a hotel room.
Also, the staff was SO nice. Everyone, even a groundskeeper, had warm hello's and smiles. That can make all the difference! Oh! And the breakfast.....wonderful hot breakfast, and again the dining room was CLEAN.
I have traveled the world and stayed in various levels of hotels. For the money spent, this hotel is a gem!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a romantic getaway. I reserved the oak ridge suite. It was a great room!! It had a huge whirlpool tub for 2, a very comfy king size bed, French doors with a little patio with table and chairs. The room was clean and fresh. Also had a nice kitchen area with fridge,micro, coffee pot, couch, and chair. The decor was beautiful!!! The only improvement I would make would to have a blanket of some sorts on the bed to make it coozier! Other than that I have nothing bad to say about Our stay here. We will stay again I'm sure as the location is great also!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The room was spotless. The staff was very friendly, proffesional and knowledgable.The free breakfast each morning was delicious and the coffee was delicious too. The gift shop that is on this very historical property has plenty of Gettysburg treasures to choose from.This property has many other amenities, a museum, a restaurant/pub, a pool, etc. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are planning to stay in the Gettysburg area.

Room Tip: King suits very spaciuos
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manawa, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We booked this hotel through Hotwire. Upon arriving, it looked like a very nice place. We got the keys to our room and went to check it out. The second I turned the door handle, I could smell an odor coming from the room. It smelled like cat urine or something else really foul. We called the front desk and they brought an ionizer and febreze in. We left for a few hours, but the smell was still there when we got back. They had no other rooms available, so we left and stayed somewhere else.

The worst part of this is that we called Hotwire and they called the hotel and the manager at the hotel said they offered us another room and we declined. Luckily, Hotwire still credited us, but shame on the hotel on for making something like this up. We will never stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters

Address: 401 Buford Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Heart of the Battlefield, Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters is a Platium award winning Choice Hotels property. Our Inn is perfectly located on historic Seminary Ridge overlooking the Gettysburg Battlefield, the Gettysburg Lutheran Seminary and Gettysburg College.Our Hotel also features General Lee’s Headquarters Museum which is complimentary for our Hotel guests. General Lee’s Headquarters Museum is Gettysburg’s oldest museum and contains one the finest private Civil War artifact collections. We blend the feeling of the Civil War experience with 21st century conveniences at Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters. Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters is the only hotel in Gettysburg that offers suites in Civil War era buildings. In Addition, we offer suites with multiple bedrooms and full kitchens for extended stays. Our Appalachian Micro Brewery and Restaurant is conveniently located on site for signature food and spirits. We also offer a Banquet/Meeting Room for up to 50 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn At General Lee`s Headquarters Hotel Gettysburg
Quality Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.