We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!! What more could you ask for?!?!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters to your Saves list
Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Buford Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great stay!! What more could you ask for?!?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just stayed here for a small one night getaway with my girlfriend. We ad dinner at the one site Appalachian brewery which was incredible. The room was extremely nice and clean the breakfast awesome with a nice view if the battlefield and the staff was extremely helpful an friendly! Also located with very easy access to the battlefields an downtown Gettysburg. This is definitely gonna become a annual stay for us. I highly recommend the Quality Inn at Lee's Headquarters.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    168
    48
    8
    9
See reviews for
161
180
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The people are friendly, the location is fantastically close to the park, and the view from the back is quaint. I wish they let me know that the General Lee Museum is closed for the season. I am typing additional comments to get to 200 characters ... The Quick Brown Fox Jumped Over The Lazy Dogs.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the woods
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wading River, New York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

you just can't beat the location waking up in the morning looking at the beautiful view.
the people are nice, this service is good.
a couple probably that did pop up are minor.
you have to remember this is an old place, but they do a good job keeping it nice

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We try to stay here every time we visit Gettysburg, which is annually. I love the decor. It's not your standard hotel furnishings. The staff are always super friendly and accomodating. The rooms are clean and well maintained. And my husband loves the location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond VA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

This is just the old-fashioned independent motel you always hope to find: clean, comfortable rooms at a reasonable price. We were greeted warmly and professionally by the innkeeper. Everything about the inn seemed fresh and well-maintained but with the character and charm of another generation. Our room was large and comfortably furnished, with a lovely updated all-tile bathroom. It was a foggy night when we checked in, so we were delighted to wake to find a beautiful view of McPherson's ridge, monuments and split rail fences. Breakfast was in a lovely dining area with a view across the fields. Right next door is Appalachian Brewing Company, where we had good pub fare and delicious craft brews.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have stayed at the Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters once a year starting in 2009. Last week was my fifth stay there. The place has undergone many improvements during the past year. Before, it was somewhat of a time warp experience, like maybe Dick Clark and American Bandstand might appear if you turned on the clunky old TV that sat on a wheeled cart. This year, there's a large flat panel TV mounted on the wall, newly renovated bathrooms, and a fresh, energetic and friendly staff to greet your arrival. The free breakfast is vastly improved as well, and now includes a friendly employee who clears tables and makes conversation. You cannot go wrong with this place: It's clean, up to date, friendly, and a huge bargain. Did I mention the perfect location right on the edge of the battlefield? Don't miss it: go!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This year was our 8th or 9th consecutive stay at this particular hotel, and all I can say is there is a very good reason Choice Hotels gives them awards year after year. Apart from the history of the property, which I highly recommend you research, the amenities of this hotel are wonderful. The rooms are always wonderfully clean, the staff is friendly, and it wants for nothing in customer service. There is a wonderful brewery-restaurant on site that is a nice treat if you don't feel like crossing town to eat and the beer is very tasty! We always stay at New Years for the town's celebration and have never been disappointed.

Room Tip: There are a few specialty suites with fireplaces or whirlpools, or individual "lodges" acr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis M, General Manager at Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! We value your opinion and appreciate you for taking the time to share your experience. We sincerely hope to see you again when in Gettysburg. From all of us at the Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters, we wish you a very Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters

Address: 401 Buford Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Heart of the Battlefield, Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters is a Platium award winning Choice Hotels property. Our Inn is perfectly located on historic Seminary Ridge overlooking the Gettysburg Battlefield, the Gettysburg Lutheran Seminary and Gettysburg College.Our Hotel also features General Lee’s Headquarters Museum which is complimentary for our Hotel guests. General Lee’s Headquarters Museum is Gettysburg’s oldest museum and contains one the finest private Civil War artifact collections. We blend the feeling of the Civil War experience with 21st century conveniences at Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters. Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters is the only hotel in Gettysburg that offers suites in Civil War era buildings. In Addition, we offer suites with multiple bedrooms and full kitchens for extended stays. Our Appalachian Micro Brewery and Restaurant is conveniently located on site for signature food and spirits. We also offer a Banquet/Meeting Room for up to 50 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn At General Lee`s Headquarters Hotel Gettysburg
Quality Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.