We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a Quality Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters to your Saves list
Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Buford Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good for a Quality Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The people are friendly, the location is fantastically close to the park, and the view from the back is quaint. I wish they let me know that the General Lee Museum is closed for the season. I am typing additional comments to get to 200 characters ... The Quick Brown Fox Jumped Over The Lazy Dogs.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the woods
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    168
    48
    8
    8
See reviews for
160
180
24
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wading River, New York
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

you just can't beat the location waking up in the morning looking at the beautiful view.
the people are nice, this service is good.
a couple probably that did pop up are minor.
you have to remember this is an old place, but they do a good job keeping it nice

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We try to stay here every time we visit Gettysburg, which is annually. I love the decor. It's not your standard hotel furnishings. The staff are always super friendly and accomodating. The rooms are clean and well maintained. And my husband loves the location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond VA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

This is just the old-fashioned independent motel you always hope to find: clean, comfortable rooms at a reasonable price. We were greeted warmly and professionally by the innkeeper. Everything about the inn seemed fresh and well-maintained but with the character and charm of another generation. Our room was large and comfortably furnished, with a lovely updated all-tile bathroom. It was a foggy night when we checked in, so we were delighted to wake to find a beautiful view of McPherson's ridge, monuments and split rail fences. Breakfast was in a lovely dining area with a view across the fields. Right next door is Appalachian Brewing Company, where we had good pub fare and delicious craft brews.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have stayed at the Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters once a year starting in 2009. Last week was my fifth stay there. The place has undergone many improvements during the past year. Before, it was somewhat of a time warp experience, like maybe Dick Clark and American Bandstand might appear if you turned on the clunky old TV that sat on a wheeled cart. This year, there's a large flat panel TV mounted on the wall, newly renovated bathrooms, and a fresh, energetic and friendly staff to greet your arrival. The free breakfast is vastly improved as well, and now includes a friendly employee who clears tables and makes conversation. You cannot go wrong with this place: It's clean, up to date, friendly, and a huge bargain. Did I mention the perfect location right on the edge of the battlefield? Don't miss it: go!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This year was our 8th or 9th consecutive stay at this particular hotel, and all I can say is there is a very good reason Choice Hotels gives them awards year after year. Apart from the history of the property, which I highly recommend you research, the amenities of this hotel are wonderful. The rooms are always wonderfully clean, the staff is friendly, and it wants for nothing in customer service. There is a wonderful brewery-restaurant on site that is a nice treat if you don't feel like crossing town to eat and the beer is very tasty! We always stay at New Years for the town's celebration and have never been disappointed.

Room Tip: There are a few specialty suites with fireplaces or whirlpools, or individual "lodges" acr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis M, General Manager at Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! We value your opinion and appreciate you for taking the time to share your experience. We sincerely hope to see you again when in Gettysburg. From all of us at the Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters, we wish you a very Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed in a regular room over Thanksgiving weekend. I have been in many hotels from NYC to Beijing, China. I found this to be a quaint hotel that is in a GREAT location! We were impressed by the general manager's thoughtfulness to provide a fruit basket as a way to thank us for staying with them over the holiday.

I read other postings and people complained about the free breakfast - I found it to be better than some places I've stayed. Not every hotel offers this option (including the Grand Hyatt Regency in NYC). If it's FREE, don't complain. I thought there was an adequate selection, which may have been updated since some of the complaints - there was a basket full of fruit (bananas, oranges, apples), several types of cereal, oatmeal, English muffins, bagels, and breads with a toaster next to them, coffee, hot tea, hot chocolate and juices, as well as eggs and sausage patties to make a breakfast sandwich or eat by themselves.

People busted on the museum...Yes, it is small, but you are there to learn about history and my husband and I found what they had to be amazing pieces - you have to look at them for their historic value and how they were used in the battle, not the quantity and size of the building. It was neatly displayed and adequately explained. Bear in mind - that is an original building, which was someone's house. They did not have McMansions back in the day people! We enjoyed the museum and give kuddos to the owners for preserving it's history. Being well-traveled and educated, I have also been to many museums (again, in NYC, Washington, D.C., China) and I wasn't disappointed by this one. People like to complain and see the surface, not the intrinsic value or quality.

The location is incredible - right by the monuments and battlefields, quiet, and you do get to see beautiful sunsets/sunrises. We enjoyed our stay, despite issues with our door lock, and we have reservations to stay in one of the suites over Easter weekend (returning with family) - we highly recommend this hotel!

As a bonus, we also got a coupon book for local eateries and attractions such as ghost tours. We took advantage of the booklet and the owners of the establishments valued our patronage. Everyone in Gettysburg was friendly (keep in mind - you get what you give)! If you are into ghosts, take the Farnsworth tour - it was an awesome piece of history. Ghosts are like animals - you can't control them, so you might not always see one on a tour (I saw a complaint about this) - they even tell you that when you pay. Take a digital camera and take a lot of pictures - you may be surprised by what you capture. It was our first time doing a ghost tour, and later, a ghost hunt. Both had great, knowledgeable staff and we hope to do more tours when we return!

Room Tip: We had a corner room and it was perfectly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis M, General Manager at Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
It was truly a pleasure reading your review this morning. We are always looking at ways to improve upon. One such area as you mentioned was our Free Continental Breakfast. Our selection has increased and our menu will be changing daily. We also offer several Packages which coincide with our historical location.
I did see your name in our system this Easter and look forward to your return! From all of us at the Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters, have a wonderful New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters

Address: 401 Buford Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Heart of the Battlefield, Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters is a Platium award winning Choice Hotels property. Our Inn is perfectly located on historic Seminary Ridge overlooking the Gettysburg Battlefield, the Gettysburg Lutheran Seminary and Gettysburg College.Our Hotel also features General Lee’s Headquarters Museum which is complimentary for our Hotel guests. General Lee’s Headquarters Museum is Gettysburg’s oldest museum and contains one the finest private Civil War artifact collections. We blend the feeling of the Civil War experience with 21st century conveniences at Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters. Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters is the only hotel in Gettysburg that offers suites in Civil War era buildings. In Addition, we offer suites with multiple bedrooms and full kitchens for extended stays. Our Appalachian Micro Brewery and Restaurant is conveniently located on site for signature food and spirits. We also offer a Banquet/Meeting Room for up to 50 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn At General Lee`s Headquarters Hotel Gettysburg
Quality Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.