We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to everything in Gettysburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Buford Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Barre, Vermont, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Convenient to everything in Gettysburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Very clean, spacious room. Not fancy, but nice and reasonably priced. Right adjacent to battlefields and Appalachian Brewing Company Pub. Very close to the college. Free wifi. Decent breakfast food choices are included. Will come back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    157
    44
    7
    7
See reviews for
144
153
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Frankfort, KY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I spent three nights at the Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters in Gettysburg. The motel is next to one of the battlefields and conveniently located to other points of interest in this historic Civil War town. Our room had a Civil War decor and very clean. There is individual parking for each room. A continental breakfast is served and the variety is excellent, ranging from Belgian waffles to cereal to eggs and sausage. If I ever visit Gettysburg again, this will be the place I wish to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This place was outside of the craziness of "historic downtown" (in quotes because I can't imagine anything historic about ridiculous traffic that never moves and people swarming everywhere) which was nice. Unfortunately, you do have to go through the traffic circle to get anywhere. I am surprised to see so many reviews about how quiet it is, but that may have been because we stayed in Lee's Suite, where General Lee actually made his headquarters. It was a great room, but right on the road. Just a warning to light sleepers that you will hear cars drive by almost all night so just book this room with that caution. The staff here were very nice and accommodating. Special thanks to Carolyn for entertaining my husband with her stories.

Room Tip: Book Lee's Suite if you want a truly historic experience and don't mind a bit of drive-by no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staten island
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Located across the street from the battlefield. The rooms are oversized and clean. 3 minutes from the college and downtown and museums. Breakfast is complete and included. Incredible value when you factor in breakfast it's about 100 cheaper a night then branded hotels nearby. Internet is iffy.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Perfect location and clean, clean, clean rooms. I love going down Seminary Ridge when I hit the battlefield and it is located right across the street. The atmosphere is second to none and the staff is very friendly. I stayed here this past April and was a bit disappointed that there wasn't any vacancy last week...shows just how popular this place is!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I never thought I would actually stay in one of those old pull-right-up-to room motels, but we loved it! After a long day of battlefield exploring it was nice not to have to park, walk thru a lobby and up an elevator. Not to mention makes checking and out a breeze! Yes it is old, but kept well maintained and super clean. Staff was friendly and informative. We stayed in the bottom part of the dunston barn, an unusual structure in the center parking lot. Nice king size bed with a large living room and big bathroom with a jetted tub. We did not have a view, but a mere walk up to the hotel entrance provides you with great view. Giftshop was small but full of the same stuff we found everywhere. Free museum nice bonus, tip: tour the museum and gift shop if u arrive early for your checking time. The brewery goes on another review but, we ate there 3 NIGHTS In A ROW. Part of the draw was we walked out our room and up their sidewalk, but food was great. Service ok. Excellent hotel to visit, not in busy part of town, and actually very close to stop one on the audio tour.

Room Tip: The dunston barn is a small standalone cottage, quiet, no view but appointed very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanton, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We found the Quality Inn to be very comfortable and VERY clean! Our room had a view of the battelfield which was really nice. And since on our last visit we stayed in town which was very noisy we really enjoyed how quiet it was staying here. You are still in walking distance of downtown and you can cross the street and take a walk along Seminary Ridge. We will be returning and will be staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters

Address: 401 Buford Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#11 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Heart of the Battlefield, Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters is a Platium award winning Choice Hotels property. Our Inn is perfectly located on historic Seminary Ridge overlooking the Gettysburg Battlefield, the Gettysburg Lutheran Seminary and Gettysburg College.Our Hotel also features General Lee’s Headquarters Museum which is complimentary for our Hotel guests. General Lee’s Headquarters Museum is Gettysburg’s oldest museum and contains one the finest private Civil War artifact collections. We blend the feeling of the Civil War experience with 21st century conveniences at Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters. Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters is the only hotel in Gettysburg that offers suites in Civil War era buildings. In Addition, we offer suites with multiple bedrooms and full kitchens for extended stays. Our Appalachian Micro Brewery and Restaurant is conveniently located on site for signature food and spirits. We also offer a Banquet/Meeting Room for up to 50 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn At General Lee`s Headquarters Hotel Gettysburg
Quality Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.