We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay Grreat Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters to your Saves list
Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Buford Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stay Grreat Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Westayed here during ourrecent visit to Gettysburg and the hotel was very nice, clean,comfortable and convenient.We had to leave prior to our scheduled departure due to an emergengy at home and the staff was very accomodating and didn't charge us for the last day even though we left later than the usual check out time. There are few inn keepers who would be that decent.
I highly recommend this motel and we will most definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    168
    48
    8
    9
See reviews for
161
180
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Excellent location with great view of battlefield. We had a double double room. Breakfast ran until 10 (great for us as we usually get a late start, and checkout is at 12 (great for same reason). Parking spot was right in front of the room. The staff was friendly and helpful. The museum was small but nice, and the museum store was cheaper than identical items seen in other museum and tourist shops (so if you see something you like there go ahead and buy it). We were told the restaurant next store was open until "at least 10:30" but when we arrived we saw that sign said the kitchen closed at an earlier time (cant remember if it was 9 or 9:30). Needless to say I was pissed but since it was not too much after, and I was doing a to go order they went ahead and did it anyway. Although I was not impressed with the food but it may be because it was made by people that wanted to go home. I would stay here again and did not feel that it was overpriced for the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed there 2 nights and found it to be everything we had hoped. It is a motel and the property is old, but is kept up very well. The location sells this place, you can walk across the street and be inside a battlefield, simply amazing. The check in was smooth and they were very helpful with hints on where to eat and places to see.The outdoor pool is small but on a hot day felt very good. You can walk oustide your door and visit a nice museum free of charge.The free breakfast was nothing to exciting,but served our needs just fine. Everyone there was very nice and helpful, we would go back again without any doubts.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room, a bit quiter with only one neighbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

For us with 2 kids it was perfect. We could drive right up to our door. The pool was nice. It's about a mile walk to the center of town. We ate next door at the brewery but you could also walk down the street to Pizza Hut. Gettysburg is an easy town to drive and park so not being downtown was not an issue. We stayed 3 nights. One evening we drove to Hanover, PA which was the next town over and got a meal and went to Target. That seemed to be where more of the chain restaurants were.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Nice location especially if you plan to bicycle on the battlefields. Brewery and museum are a plus. Generally clean but the musty smell in the main office /breakfast building and our room was a real negative. Also the loud air conditioning unit in the room detracted from the otherwise comfortable situation.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralLeeGM, Administration at Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We strive very hard to meet our guests' needs. Please come back and join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We needed a stop on a driving vacation, and decided to make our stop in Gettysburg. I'm not a big fan of military history, but my husband is interested, so we looked for a hotel for one night in Gettysburg. I looked on Tripadvisor to find a hotel. I actually chose this hotel because of the microbrewery next door. It turned out to be a great choice, both for the micro and for the hotel itself.

The room was clean, the bed was comfortable. The pool looked very nice, but we didn't have time to use it. Everyone we spoke to at the hotel waspleasant. They had maps and information about Gettysburg, and were good about answering questions.

General Lee stayed in a house on this property, and the hotel is actually on the battlefield. The monument to the soldier who fired the first shot is about 200 yards away. Lee's headquarters is a little museum, and admission is free. The gift shop at the museum had nice merchandise. So much of Gettysburg outside of the National Park Museum and the battlefield is tourist-trap with junky stuff for sale. This little museum on the hotel property is free. It's small but has REAL history, better than places that cost $7.50 to see a small house.

The location is very pleasant, outside of the town, so it's quiet. The only downside to this might be if you didn't want to eat at the restaurant next door, you'd have to drive to somewhere else. It isn't a fancy hotel, but as I said above, it's clean and comfortable, and a good value for a small roadside motel. Staying on the battlefied made me more intersted in Gettysburg than I expected to be.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ozarks
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here at the last minute. We were planning on staying closer to Niagara falls but due to a weather delay we were late seeing all of Gettysburg. We stopped at a couple of other places and they were full or didn't have the beds we needed. The lady at check in was extremely friendly. I got a great first impression from her. Our room was just standard. No frills I didn't feel it was worth what we paid. The bath was clean no complaints there. We didn't think the beds were that comfy but they were clean. Air was back in a corner so room didn't get very cool. We actually turned it down to about 60 to get the room cool that night. No refrigerator or microwave in room but they did have coffee. There was a restaurant in the same Parking lot as the hotel and we ate there it was pretty good. We went back later for dessert. It was convenient to the park but we drove to all the shops. They have a late check out of 12:00 not sure wha time check in is cause we got there kinda late. The pool was open from 8 am to 8 pm which seemed kinda early to me do we did not use the pool. They had shot breakfast not much but very filling. Check out was nog as good the lady was not as pleasant as the lady the night before. Overall an ok place but I would not stay there again for the price I would pick one of the newer places in town for the same price. They also had a museum and gift shop that was wort the stop even if you don't stay there and it's free.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Human Resources at Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
How nice that you have a renewed appreciation for history now! Your kind compliments about our hotel, the museum and gift shop are highly appreciated. We try very hard to ensure that our guests go on their way with a positive experience here in Gettysburg.

We look forward to seeing you again some time.

Donna Gibboney
Human Resources
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters

Address: 401 Buford Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Heart of the Battlefield, Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters is a Platium award winning Choice Hotels property. Our Inn is perfectly located on historic Seminary Ridge overlooking the Gettysburg Battlefield, the Gettysburg Lutheran Seminary and Gettysburg College.Our Hotel also features General Lee’s Headquarters Museum which is complimentary for our Hotel guests. General Lee’s Headquarters Museum is Gettysburg’s oldest museum and contains one the finest private Civil War artifact collections. We blend the feeling of the Civil War experience with 21st century conveniences at Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters. Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters is the only hotel in Gettysburg that offers suites in Civil War era buildings. In Addition, we offer suites with multiple bedrooms and full kitchens for extended stays. Our Appalachian Micro Brewery and Restaurant is conveniently located on site for signature food and spirits. We also offer a Banquet/Meeting Room for up to 50 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn At General Lee`s Headquarters Hotel Gettysburg
Quality Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.