We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters to your Saves list
Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Buford Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Gladwyne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We are from the Phila area (Lower Merion.) This hotel was perfect for our family of five, very clean and across the street from one of the battlefield fields and a five minute drive to downtown Gettysburg. Don't be fooled by the downtown locations, this is the "perfect" place to stay to tour everything in Gettysburg. Very friendly staff. Rooms are much larger than most hotels, breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    169
    48
    8
    10
See reviews for
163
181
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

I stayed one night at this hotel while doing some business at the Gettysburg Seminary. I had a queen bed room, which was very roomy. The bed was comfortable, bathroom a good size, and the room in general was clean. There was a very nice wall mounted TV and free wireless internet. The free breakfast included cereal, pastries, muffins, eggs and sausage, as well as juices and coffee. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Located right next to Appalachian Brewing Company, and close to battlefield.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLEN BURNIE
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We recently stayed at this inn for our anniversary in January 2012. This is an old refurbished motel and has a colonial feel. Our room was clean, the bed was comfortable and they give you plenty of pillows. The bathroom was clean and functional -- nothing fancy. We enjoyed visiting the Apalachian Brewing Company which was just a short walk from our room. Our room had a great view of the battlefield. The breakfast was very nice with a wide variety. The office staff was very friendly. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Pick a room overlooking the battlefield if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed at this inn again after enjoying our first stay. The inn and the management are first class !!! It was interesting to read about what happened on and around the grounds during the Battle !!! We are planning our next stay for this July !!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
214 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed here while returning our student to college. We ended up booking an extra night to outrun the inclement weather which was headed our way. We checked in on a Friday evening and Jean at the front desk was very warm and welcoming! The reception area was nicely kept, so my first impression was good, as was my first impression of our room. However, there were a few things that were not so impressive. The bed linens and carpet in the room were clean and the room, itself, smelled good. The bathroom was another story! The sink had some odd black specks in it and a few black spots. When I wiped them with some toilet paper, they came off, so I do not understand why the sink itself was not properly cleaned. But the thing which was most odd was the bathroom floor. I stepped in to put my toiletries on the sink and my shoes stuck! Ok, maybe it was my shoes. Later, I stepped in with my bare feet and they stuck as well. Plus, whatever was sticky on the floor was black and stuck to my feet. Since the tile had black grout, I will assume they recently grouted the floor and didn't clean it up well?!? The housekeeper did clean up the floor the next day, but it was still a bit sticky. The tub also could have used a good scrubbing. Although not a problem, the showerhead was low. I am 5'7" and I conked my head on the shower. The water pressure was good, however and the water stayed warm. This is not a bad place at all and I would probably give it a try again. I would just hope the bathroom cleanliness would be improved. I should also give a mention to the nice gentleman who was clearing the sidewalks and parking lot. He did clear the snow from the sidewalk and made a path in the snow to my truck. Thank you very much to him, as I appreciated his kindness!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, ME
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Great hotel - bluegrass band was playing in the parking lot when we pulled up. So fun. But quiet inside and vending machines for us late night arrivals. Great breakfast buffet in the morning. Nice location -- just outside of downtown in the middle of fields. Lovely. Would definitely stay there again. Already looking to re-book!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

I stayed at this motel in November 2011, and for someone who loves the battlefield like I do the location is awesome. You are literally right across the street from and next to Robert E. Lee's Headquarters site, not to mention McPhearson's Ridge, and the Railway cut, west about a 1/2 mile away. You can walk from the motel to the battlefield and beyond to your heart's content.

The motel is very clean and pleasant, with a free breakfast in the morning which is good. The staff is very helpful about touring the battlefield, about places to eat, and to shop in town. The visitor center for the battlefield is only about a mile away.

Stay here if you are going to stay in Gettyburg. At about $70.00 a night, it is a great value. I'll be staying here again when I go back to Gettysburg in March.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
2.8 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#9 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,701 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#6 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#1 of 29 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#5 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 439 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters

Address: 401 Buford Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#12 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Heart of the Battlefield, Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters is a Platium award winning Choice Hotels property. Our Inn is perfectly located on historic Seminary Ridge overlooking the Gettysburg Battlefield, the Gettysburg Lutheran Seminary and Gettysburg College.Our Hotel also features General Lee’s Headquarters Museum which is complimentary for our Hotel guests. General Lee’s Headquarters Museum is Gettysburg’s oldest museum and contains one the finest private Civil War artifact collections. We blend the feeling of the Civil War experience with 21st century conveniences at Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters. Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters is the only hotel in Gettysburg that offers suites in Civil War era buildings. In Addition, we offer suites with multiple bedrooms and full kitchens for extended stays. Our Appalachian Micro Brewery and Restaurant is conveniently located on site for signature food and spirits. We also offer a Banquet/Meeting Room for up to 50 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn At General Lee`s Headquarters Hotel Gettysburg
Quality Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.