We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accomodating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters to your Saves list
Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Buford Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
stc
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very accomodating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Very nice, quiet spot to stay. A very different pace from downtown hotels. I have stayed in both locations and have found both to be very nice. I do recommend this hotel due to it's unique location and the headquarters museum is a very nice added bonus. The staff is very friendly and always helpful. This location does accept single night stays unlike the downtown location, which is very nice for those of us that can only stay one night. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    166
    47
    8
    8
See reviews for
157
179
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

I chose this Quality Inn because of its location and historical connection to the battle. We had a good sized, comfortable room with a great view of the battlefield. The bed was fine and everything was very clean. The shower needed a little updating but was not a problem. There was a bit of road noise, but I would rather have that along with the intimate connection to the site. The continental breakfast was just ok, and the room was not large enough to accomodte everyone. The staff was very fiendly and helpful. Don't miss the attached museum.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronks, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Very clean, nice staff. They have many standard rooms which are nice, and it's in al;l the action without the downtown noise. Very quite battlefield ghost hunting or hiking without getting in the car.

Room Tip: For romance or extra privacy, ask to stay in the downstairs suite of little house right next to Lee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

I've been coming here since I was 3, and a backseat passenger in my family's frequent excursions to Gettysburg. In later years, my dad and I would go by ourselves. Then, it was me and my wife. When we wanted to bring my mom back to Gettysburg, as she'd not been for many years, we returned yet again. Even when they're booked up and we have to stay elsewhere for the bulk of the trip, we happily settle for just one night here. We ended up doing this the last two trips, and both times all we could talk about was our forthcoming night at Larson's.

I remember being 5 years old, and there being some issue here with the shower very late at night. The result of our phone call included Mr. Larson himself appearing at our door, in his coat and hat, to personally see to it.

Like many places, this one has changed, though not in ways I'd consider detrimental. The swiveling-pedestal TV's with the metal rectangular buttons have been replaced with wall-mounted flatscreens, no sign of the putting green remains, the generic hotel wall art has been replaced with your typical Dale Gallon Civil War prints, and the lucite keychains with the red-and-white room number sealed in have been replaced with ad-strewn keycards. However, the experience--and the familiarity of the place--remain. For some reason, I've always particularly loved the motel office, the perpetually clean smell of which hasn't changed. The doors are still the same, and still solid as ever. Lee's Museum, while the collection has dwindled, is still there, and one of the remaining museums that relies on the basic DISPLAY OF ARTIFACTS to tell its story (i.e. not phony virtual nonsense.) The railroad cut runs behind the property, and it's not a heavily traveled line, unfortunately for those of us who go in for that sort of thing. In NYC, the subway ran under our house every few minutes, but while we stayed here, my family and I would eagerly run out to the back lawn to watch the train go by as soon as we felt the rumble.

They clean the place fantastically, a welcome change from other places in town that don't vacuum up food between guests. Desk staff is always nice.

Appalachian Grill, while the sports bar atmosphere isn't what I seek in Gettysburg, serves up really, really good food. Of course, this is but the latest operation to use this space (I think it goes back to The High Pointe, J.D.'s, Muldoon's, General Lee's Family Restaurant, and the Dutch Pantry) though there are still vestiges of what I grew up with.

This always has been, and always will be, my favorite place to stay; I just wish so many other people didn't feel the same so I could get a room once in a while!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Can't say enough good things about this place. The staff was friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. The rooms were immaculate and very comfortable. The adjacent Applachan Brewing Company restaurant had excellent food. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I think any room or suite would be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed in this hotel a week ago and after 2 night my husband and I received multiple bedbug bites. I had over 80 bites. Med center doctor confirmed they were bedbug bites. No problems at previous hotels with bites.

Room Tip: It is hard to find bedbugs! I checked!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

The hotel staff was great, the breakfast pretty decent (although the coffee didn't make the grade), and the location was excellent. Being adjacent to Appalachian Brewing Company is a plus. Although clean and adequate, I thought the room was over-priced for the quality of the room and its appointments. Comfort was fine, and it served our needs well.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters

Address: 401 Buford Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Heart of the Battlefield, Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters is a Platium award winning Choice Hotels property. Our Inn is perfectly located on historic Seminary Ridge overlooking the Gettysburg Battlefield, the Gettysburg Lutheran Seminary and Gettysburg College.Our Hotel also features General Lee’s Headquarters Museum which is complimentary for our Hotel guests. General Lee’s Headquarters Museum is Gettysburg’s oldest museum and contains one the finest private Civil War artifact collections. We blend the feeling of the Civil War experience with 21st century conveniences at Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters. Quality Inn at General Lee’s Headquarters is the only hotel in Gettysburg that offers suites in Civil War era buildings. In Addition, we offer suites with multiple bedrooms and full kitchens for extended stays. Our Appalachian Micro Brewery and Restaurant is conveniently located on site for signature food and spirits. We also offer a Banquet/Meeting Room for up to 50 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn At General Lee`s Headquarters Hotel Gettysburg
Quality Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.