We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all around stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 Steinwehr Ave., Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Delaware
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great all around stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Very nice and clean accommodations right next to the battlefield and comparably priced with other nearby hotels. Nice breakfast included, indoor and outdoor pool and a a bar is located on-site after 6pm. The location makes it easy to get to the cemetery, battlefield, tours, Visitor Center and downtown Gettysburg. Steinwehr Ave becomes the Emmitsburg Rd and directly behind the property is the Tanaytown Rd. so you are actually on the battlefield. Found the staff friendly and accommodating.. All in all, a nice place to stay in a truly interesting town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    224
    163
    55
    16
    16
See reviews for
170
159
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

A typical lodge, very close to the battlefield and the local stores on Baltimore St and Steinwehr Ave. great breakfast and a pool. For the price we paid, it was a great place to stay, not too fancy but functional and clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for the review! Glad you were able to utilize our GREAT location! See you next time...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in July. We are with a group of 20+ that go to Gettysburg every year. This was our 12th stay at this hotel.

Upon checking in we had some problems with the "not so nice" front desk clerk. We always get rooms that are together b/c we are a large group and we enjoy sitting on the balcony and visiting throughout the day/night. We like our rooms to be together so we do not disturb other guests. We had all of this in our contract that we signed a year ago.

When we checked in some of the rooms were on the 1st floor and some of the rooms were on the 2nd floor. We explained that the contract stated that all the rooms would be together on the 2nd floor and the "not so nice" front desk clerk said that this was impossible b/c there was a large group of people coming in that booked 25 rooms. We explained again what our contract stated (and even showed her the contract), but she kept saying that it was impossible.

I believe that she did not tell us the truth b/c there was NEVER a group of people that came in that took 25 rooms. The hotel was not even fully booked. And the 2 rooms that were beside us were empty until that evening when someone checked in and they did not request specific rooms so there is NO reason that she could not have accommodated what we asked and what the contract stated. We wanted the rooms together so we did not disturb other people.

We never had this clerk in the past and I hope we don't have her in the future b/c she does not know what the words "customer service" mean.

When I checked in to my room the message light was flashing on my phone and I called the front desk and asked them how to retrieve the message and they had no idea how to do it. So the light just flashed all weekend.

Overall if it wasn't for the clerk, our vacation would have been perfect. We did visit the Mine and "Five Star Donna" was a joy to talk to. She is so full of information and a very good and kind person/bartender.

We did book our reservations for next year with the hope that we will be able to get all the rooms together on the 2nd floor and that there is a different clerk at the front desk when we check in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your review, and for your continued loyalty! I'm sorry to hear about all of the confusion at check in and the way the front desk clerk acted. We do have your requests for next year...see you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Md
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was our 3rd time staying at this hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We spent our time enjoying a Vintage Baseball Tournament which was truly "Old Fashion Fun". Several soldiers came and General Lee came to pitch and lots of woman dressed in the era of the times and also the baseball players. What a great place to have Vintage Ball. We enjoyed the outdoor pool as it was a very HOT weekend. Nice breakfast served daily. After checkout granddaughters accidentally left something in the room so the staff was very helpful locating it for us and calling us on the phone to let us know they found their stuff. The town is soooo awesome with great shops, food and tours. Went on the Ghost Tour which was fun!!! We can't wait to go back again next year for the tournament!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thanks for the review! I'm so glad you were able to attend the Vintage Baseball Tournament- it's a neat event! See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had a 3 night stay at this hotel and would definitely recommend it. The staff is phenomenal - friendly, courteous and extremely helpful. The rooms are clean & comfortable - room 225 is huge with a separate living room, kitchen and bedroom. This might not be the newest hotel but it has all the amenities and is close to the battlefield.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you! What a nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel in July. I think it would hard to find a better location to visit the battlefield and town. The outdoor pool was closed on the day we checked in but we were given the option of using the indoor pool or using the outdoor pool at their sister property across the street (which we did). This hotel's outdoor pool was open for the remainder of our stay and my kids were thrilled that it had a diving board which most newer hotels do not have. I was pleasantly surprised that there were towels available to use at the pool so we didn't have to use the towels from the room. Our room was clean when we arrived and well maintained throughout our stay. The main reason we chose this resort was that it would accommodate our family of six. One improvement I would like to see is a refrigerator in the room, some rooms have them but I was told that none of the rooms with three beds have a refrigerator. The breakfast was adequate, nothing out of the ordinary and by the third day the hot items (sausage patties and egg rounds) were a little boring. Overall, I would return to this hotel again, it was a decent value compared to other hotels in the area and again, the location is fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your visit with us and for your review! You're right- we do have one of the best locations in Gettysburg!! Our triple bed rooms are very popular with larger families traveling together and I'm glad we were able to accommodate you. You are not the first guest who has suggested adding microwaves/refrigerators to the triple rooms, and we are in the process of looking into upgrading those rooms. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Close to the battlefield, this hotel is a good value with great staff. The rooms are clean and the staff ensures that everything runs well. Not a fancy destination hotel, but the basics are sound. In-room refrigerator is a plus. The staff is warm, helpful, and very courteous. I have stayed here 5 times over the years and would not think of staying anywhere else when in Gettysburg.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you! And thanks for your continued loyalty! Not many hotels can say they have so many repeat guests....... :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge

Address: 380 Steinwehr Ave., Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#10 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAY ON THE EDGE - Park your car and walk to the battlefield, museums, attractions, shops, restaurants and ghost stories. In 1863 the three day Battle of Gettysburg involved 170,000 Americans. Today the battlefield is a National Park with 6,000 acres, 1,300 monuments and thirty-two miles of scenic avenues. Walk to where Lincoln delivered his immortal Gettysburg Address or step on a tour bus to the battlefield, the Eisenhower Farm or even Washington, D.C. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.