We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay, close to the battlefield” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 Steinwehr Ave., Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Concord, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay, close to the battlefield”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My second stay at this Quality Inn. Room was comfortable, clean and fairly up to date (my one real complaint would be: need better pillows!). Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast fare is typical continental served in a separate cottage - which could be very small if hotel was full. It has a great location - very close to battlefield and shopping. A very good stay at a fair price and would recommend if you are staying in Gettysburg.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thanks for your stay here! Sorry to hear you weren’t completely satisfied with the pillows – they are the pillows we are required to use to keep consistent with Quality Inn standards. Hope to see you again soon. Thank you for the recommendations for future guests.



Thank you!
Management Team
Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    225
    164
    55
    16
    16
See reviews for
170
160
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
River Rouge, Michigan, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Anita is a great housekeeper! Breakfast was good! The hotel has a great central location. The Gettysburg address was practically delivered in the back yard! All the main civil war attractions were within walking distance. I do recommend this hotel and I would stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Not only is Anita a great housekeeper, she is also an extremely pleasant person. Thank you for the kind words.


Thank you!
Management Team
Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights in the Quality Inn recently when on a two day tour around the Civil War battlefields of Gettysburg.

We were in a second floor room in the motel styled accommodation and while the reception area, the first part of the building we experienced, is nice, stylish and modern, the bedrooms are somewhat more basic and aged.

The bedroom area of our accommodation was OK but the washbasin area and room with toilet and bath / shower were quite basic.

Our stay was in March and on the first night in bed we were cold and the blankets way less than adequate but on the second night after asking we were given a duvet which was most necessary and should have been in the room and available from the start.

In the far left hand corner of the motel property as you arrive are two slightly strange buildings, one, the Victorian Breakfast Cottage, where not surprisingly breakfast is served and two, the Reliance Mine Saloon, an underground bar.

Breakfast is included in the room cost and fairly basic in offering. On our first day the cottage was packed to overflowing and it was quite a dance to get food and find seating, the second day we turned up a little later and space was not an issue but several of the toasters and appliance weren't working.
On our first night we went to the bar for a drink and ordered a glass of red wine each. The wine was quite rough in quality and the cost expensive given the taste. There were only two other people in the bar and they were locals so not sure how successful this venture is.

On our second night there we brought pizza in from the pizza restaurant 50 yards away having already driven to a wine store 10 minutes out of town.

Overall the best I can say is that the accommodation was only OK but we wouldn't return or recommend although we have no local comparison.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
I was sorry to hear your stay with us did not meet your expectations. The April 2013 issue of Smithsonian has an article about Gettysburg that says the Reliance Mine Saloon is where Battlefield guides, local historians and other buffs go to drink and discuss the 1860’s the way others debate sports or politics.

Thank you!
Management Team
Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Front desk lady was very sweet. Breakfast was good. However, for $130.00 was disappointed in the uncomfortable bed and smell of smoke in nonsmoking room. Also the pillows had a faint smell of sweatiness. The tub was an in room hottub and it was great!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We are sorry to hear your stay was a bit disappointing. We appreciate you taking the time to review. We will look into the mentioned concerns.


Thank you!
Management Team
Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gananoque, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Clean modern rooms, indoor or outdoor pool, good breakfast, lounge. Close to good restaurants, and in the heart of the battlefield. Once you arrive, you can park the car and walk pretty much everywhere. Was very satisfied and will be returning.

Room Tip: reserve well in advance, it can fill quickly especially around holidays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
The reason why we have so many loyal customers is because of people like you. Thank you for taking the time to go online for us.



Thank you!
Management Team
Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allentown,pa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We like fine hotels and this is not one. But it is a great value, a very clean, comfortable room. We traveled with my mom and pre-teen daughter, and teen son and were able to book them a room with THREE double beds! We had a queen which we found very comfortable. They had an indoor pool and hot tub that we did not use because they were small and full of people that beat us to them. The hot tub was the kind you'd have at home, not what you'd expect at a hotel but perfectly nice for the people that beat us to it! There was a funny looking mine theme bar we did not go to, and while we were not excited about the patrons stepping out of the bar to smoke in front of our room, we did not feel unsafe. Better if the bar patrons were asked to use the back entrance as a smoking area. The breakfast cottage was cute and had what you'd expect at any extended stay microtel. Some fruit yogurt cereal muffins and funky circular eggs for those that wanted to create an egg sandwich kept up by very nice ladies. A waffle iron would be a cool addition. The front desk area has a nice ambiance, fireplace and many different complimentary newspapers. We hung out there a bit after breakfast to read the papers and write postcards we bought on site at the gift shop and mailed from the front desk. Nice staff, very clean, very comfortable, great value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the bar, but don't worry if you are near it..just nicer further away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We aspire to be a fine hotel but I guess we will have to accept being a great value, very clean, cute, comfortable and unique. Check out the current issues of Smithsonian Magazine for their write up on our Mine Theme Bar. Thank you for your fine posting.


Thank you!
Management Team
Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Value for the price can't be beat. Proximity to many of the battle field locations is excellent. Withing walking distance to some fast food places and downtown. Hotel room was OK. A bit smaller than most, it was clean, beds were ok, breakfast was ok. No real problems. I might compare against some of the newer properties in town, but the price we got was very good, so it was what made the choice for us, plus the other reviews. There was one major drawback for me and that is guests are allowed to smoke on the walkway right outside the door. If it had been warm and the air conditioner/fan were on it would have stunk up the room. Ash trays are placed not 5 feet from the door. In our case there weren't many folks staying (too cold/too early in the season?) but if there had been smokers right outside, that would have been a deal breaker for me. I select a hotel based on whether it is smoke free. I would also have to say that out of the 3 staff we dealt with, one was a tad bit grumpy, 1 indifferent, and the other was having a bad day.

Room Tip: Check to see that it's smoke free, if that's what you desire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, General Manager at Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Our heaters/air conditioners are set not to draw in air from the outside. So your room and breakfast were fine but the next time you come to town you are going to compare somewhere else that is more expensive and does not have as convenient a location?

Thank you,
Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge

Address: 380 Steinwehr Ave., Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#10 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAY ON THE EDGE - Park your car and walk to the battlefield, museums, attractions, shops, restaurants and ghost stories. In 1863 the three day Battle of Gettysburg involved 170,000 Americans. Today the battlefield is a National Park with 6,000 acres, 1,300 monuments and thirty-two miles of scenic avenues. Walk to where Lincoln delivered his immortal Gettysburg Address or step on a tour bus to the battlefield, the Eisenhower Farm or even Washington, D.C. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.