We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but would have picked something else” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield to your Saves list
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 Steinwehr Ave., Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Ok, but would have picked something else”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Value for the price can't be beat. Proximity to many of the battle field locations is excellent. Withing walking distance to some fast food places and downtown. Hotel room was OK. A bit smaller than most, it was clean, beds were ok, breakfast was ok. No real problems. I might compare against some of the newer properties in town, but the price we got was very good, so it was what made the choice for us, plus the other reviews. There was one major drawback for me and that is guests are allowed to smoke on the walkway right outside the door. If it had been warm and the air conditioner/fan were on it would have stunk up the room. Ash trays are placed not 5 feet from the door. In our case there weren't many folks staying (too cold/too early in the season?) but if there had been smokers right outside, that would have been a deal breaker for me. I select a hotel based on whether it is smoke free. I would also have to say that out of the 3 staff we dealt with, one was a tad bit grumpy, 1 indifferent, and the other was having a bad day.

Room Tip: Check to see that it's smoke free, if that's what you desire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, General Manager at Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Our heaters/air conditioners are set not to draw in air from the outside. So your room and breakfast were fine but the next time you come to town you are going to compare somewhere else that is more expensive and does not have as convenient a location?

Thank you,
Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    181
    60
    17
    18
See reviews for
193
184
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Located next to battlefield and close enough to town to walk. We had 3 rooms total. All were very clean with average decor. Beds are very comfortable, rooms and lobby were clean. Breakfast was hot and fresh, the lady that serves breakfast was VERY friendly. Front desk staff also friendly. Used weight room once, didn't swim but pool looked clean. Would stay here again if we return to the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope you visit again.


Thank you,
Management Team
Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The hotel is located downtown and many amenities are within walking distance. However, it's not right in the center of town so you have a little breathing room. We chose the hotel because it had the best price for a location that had both an indoor swimming pool and a breakfast included. We were not disappointed. The staff was friendly and accommodated our special requests. The continental breakfast had sausage, hard boiled eggs, muffins, doughnuts, english muffins, yogurt, cereal and some kind of egg disk good for making a breakfast sandwich. (I was a little disappointed there were no waffles - another reviewer said there was before- but that was not a big deal). The pool and hot tub were used a lot by our group and we were glad we stayed in the building where it was located so we didn't have to go outside to use it. Room was clean and large enough to move around. We all agreed we would be back!

Room Tip: No elevators to second floor. Some rooms have balconies which are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your taking the time to post a review.

Thank you!
Management Team
Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lock Haven, PA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I reserved a room at this Quality Inn due to its proximity to the National Cemetery where I planned to attend the Dedication Day ceremonies Monday November 19.

Check in was quick. The desk staff were helpful and friendly. I had chosen a ground floor room with parking just outside, which was perfect. Usual Quality Inn “quality” -- queen sized bed in an efficiency. Room was clean, bed was comfy. Nighttime was quiet.

I had no complaints other than the annoying man who was having breakfast in the cottage when I was and constantly asked questions which were none of his business. He probably thought he was being friendly. I thought he was a PITA. But that wasn’t the fault of the Quality Inn; I’m just saying it was the only annoyance I encountered.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have assigned parking right outside....easy unloading and loading suitcases and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We have a regular pest control service, they must have missed this one, sorry. I'm glad everything else was fine.

Thank you!
Management Team
Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenison, Michigan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for a wedding, it was the cheapest of the hotels the bride booked for out of town guests. We were pleasantly surprised with our stay. The hotel has an older look to it, two stories, accessible by outdoor stairs, most rooms opened to the outdoors rather than a hall. Very clean inside and on the grounds.The outdoors had many beautiful flowers and trees turning color. Cable TV, nice bathrooms, Great king bed. Microwave was available in the lobby. Breakfast was included in an older home on the property, continental with some warm eggs, sausage and option to make waffles. The staff was very friendly and helpful in the lobby and in the breakfast area. We were there for 2 nights leading up to the arrival of Hurricane Sandy. It is located on a main road in town and was easy to follow signs to head West. Walking distance to many places in town and close to the Battlefield for the driving tour as well. There is a Bar on the property as well, but we did not go in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Now you have a reason to return, to visit our Reliance Mine Saloon. We will look forward to seeing you.

Thank you
Management Team
Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa cruz
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this Quality Inn for two nights in October,2012. The property is two story and several two story buildings comprise the property. The motel has a pool but it was winterized for the season. There was a self serve breakfast included with the room. The breakfast staff was very helpful and polite. The motel was in good walking distance to many sites, including the Gettysburg Address site at the adjacent National cemetery.

Room Tip: Our room was an end room which was convenient to assigned parking as there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
The indoor pool was open in October. We do not close it during the winter season. We assigned the parking spaces for the upstairs rooms to be near the stairways. Thank you for your recommendations.

Thank you
Management Team
Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for the weekend. The king suite was spacious and clean. This motel is within walking distance to many historic places such as the cemetery and Jennie Wade house. It is also close to many restaurants and gift shops. The breakfast is good with a nice selection of foods and is in an old cottage. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is an indoor and outdoor pool in this multi-building complex. The only issue we had was the heater in the room. We could not find a comfortable temperature; it was either too hot or too cold. We ended up throwing on a extra blanket on the bed and were fine. We will stay here again when we come back for couple's weekend next year!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay.


Thank you
Management Team
Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield

Address: 380 Steinwehr Ave., Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#13 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAY ON THE EDGE - Park your car and walk to the battlefield, museums, attractions, shops, restaurants and ghost stories. In 1863 the three day Battle of Gettysburg involved 170,000 Americans. Today the battlefield is a National Park with 6,000 acres, 1,300 monuments and thirty-two miles of scenic avenues. Walk to where Lincoln delivered his immortal Gettysburg Address or step on a tour bus to the battlefield, the Eisenhower Farm or even Washington, D.C. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.