We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices from these 11 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Best Inn Gettysburg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get 15% Off Your Stay
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Cape May, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Decent place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My family and I visit Gettysburg every chance we get, some of the hotels are quite pricey, ABVI is an older building but it is clean and the staff are friendly. It is right behind a Friendly's and next door is McDonald's. The location is great, just a short walk to the center of town for shopping and across the street is the Soldiers National Cemetery. The visitor center is about a 1/2 mile away. I would recommend this motel to family and friends.

Room Tip: Second floor is cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    103
    58
    15
    10
See reviews for
97
75
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here for one night while visiting The Mount. The location is great. Walking distance to so much. Attractions, restaurants, shopping etc. Although the hotel is old is was clean
! The beds comfortable, the bathroom had no odor.. however our roomhad a funky smell. I can't place it kind of like a combo of stale smoke and cat odor. That is my only negative. Rooms are basic, no fridge, few channels for kids, but for one night it was fine. If you looking for a cheap pet friendly convenient location, ok choice.

Room Tip: Can't speak for other rooms ours was on the back side of the hotel and had a funky smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks for the review! If you are looking for a refrigerator, we do have rooms with microwaves/refrigerators that can be booked in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

When we travel we look for places that are clean, comfortable, & reasonably priced. This motel fit that model perfectly. We are not an old couple, but we enjoy staying in places that have not been so updated that they loose their charm. As a lover of all things vintage & retro, I feel I must say something about this place. Upon searching for a motel in Gettysburg, we reviewed the pictures & read the description of this one, & noticed the retro look to it, so we made reservations. It was nice to see some past Americana in this motel, & it was one of the reasons we stayed here. In this today's world of "going green", we should think about preserving our past & reusing what is still good rather than tearing down the old & replacing with the, sometimes not as nice, new. There are many choices out there that offer cheap "updated" rooms. Our room was immaculate, furniture was just fine, & the tile bathroom was in good clean condition. No mold or cracked tiles. Service was great. I give credit to the owners for their appreciation of such a pretty piece of property. I will have to be honest though & say that the continental breakfast could be better. Not many choices. Other than that, our stay here was the perfect beginning to our vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for the 5 circle review! I love that you appreciate our character and that we don't look like all the other beige, 3 story, stucco hotels being built today! However, you can always count on a clean, comfortable and affordable stay here with us. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Had room on 2nd floor-door to patio outside would not stay closed nor lock. Had to deadbolt it. Felt unsafe. Had musty smell in hallways. Conten. breakfast poor. little choice. Had to take this hotel because we booked late during the start of 4th of July week. Arrived end of June.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for the review. In any hotel you stay at, please notify the front desk immediately of any issues so they can be remedied right away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed her for just one night on a recent visit to Gettysburg.
Hotel is definitely older and dated and would probably benefit from some updates. However the room was immaculately clean, beds were comfortable and there were plenty of towels in the bathroom which was also very clean.
Hotel is in a great location, far enough off the main road to be quiet but close enough to walk to everything.
Staff at front desk were polite, welcoming and friendly and check in was a breeze.
Overall good value for the cost. If you want something modern this is not the place to stay but for convenience cleanliness and cost this is the place.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room in the 100 block, great undercover parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for the review. We're not the fanciest property in town- but we are clean, comfortable and affordable, and a GREAT location to boot! As we like to say, you can park your car and walk almost anywhere from us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here because it was one of the few even slightly affordable options in Gettysburg which allowed pets. Rooms could use a major face lift, but then they would no longer be affordable (love the history of the area, but what an overpriced town)! Hair in the shower drain... not mine, thanks very much. However, I did find the front desk clerk to be very friendly and helpful with suggestions, and they kept the little breakfast area clean and stocked with what they had to offer. Location was central and walking distance to the cemetery and battlefields. However, I'll stay outside of town next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for the review. I'm glad you were able to take advantage of our prime location to historic sites and town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Disclaimer: we only stayed one night. That being said with some of the prices of hotels in Gettysburg, I was happy to find this one at a reasonable price for an overnight trip to see teh battlefield. It's definitely an older hotel, but served our purposes. The room was very clean, the beds comfortable(my 10 yr old described his bed as very bouncy), everything worked i.e plumbing, lights etc, and the location is right across from the Cemetary. The pool was was clean and in excellent condition and open until 10. They served a continental breakfast, which was sort of standard. Incredibly helpful and courteous staff. This isn't Trump Plaza, if that's what you want pay for it. If however you want a clean comfortable room at a reasonable price for a few days, this is the place. Since we had teh two kids with us who don't appreciate history as much as I do, I didn't get to see as much as I wanted, but I'll definitely be staying here on my return trip

Room Tip: If you're staying more than one night, you might want to choose another hotel because there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for the review! We agree with everything you said! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 301 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Best Inn Gettysburg)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn is centrally located in historic Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. We are a 100 percent smoke free two-story hotel with both interior and exterior corridor guest rooms. Our 76 clean and comfortable guest rooms are fully equipped with hi-speed wireless Internet access, satellite TV, irons, ironing boards, complimentary local calls, and wake-up service. Start your day right with our delicious complimentary deluxe continental breakfast served fresh daily from 6am - 10am. Relax by our seasonal outdoor pool and year round indoor hot tub. Our hotel also offers ice machines, vending machines, and complimentary daily USA Today newspapers. For added convenience, our friendly and helpful staff is available around the clock to assist you. Gettysburg is America's most famous small town. The three day Battle of Gettysburg in 1863 involved 170,000 Americans. Today the land is a 6,000 acre National Park with over 1,300 monuments along 32 scenic miles. From Americas Best Value Inn - Gettysburg, you can walk to parks, museums and over a dozen restaurants. Must-see attractions in the area include the Civil War Museum, the Eisenhower Tour, Gettysburg Battlefield. Gettysburg is more than just a historic battlefield. The town is surrounded by quaint, picturesque farmlands which create a peaceful and relaxing retreat. Explore Gettysburg and then take some day trips to Baltimore, Lancaster, Hershey, and Washington DC. Let Americas Best Value Inn - Gettysburg be your peaceful retreat the next time you visit our historic town. We offer comfortable accommodations, affordable rates, and excellent guest service. We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Gettysburg
Americas Best Value Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Americas Best Value Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.