We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fit the budget and need.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Best Inn Gettysburg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Pittsburgh PA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Fit the budget and need.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We found the America's Best Value Inn to work well for our needs and budget. I will tell you that I found you can get get a better rate if you join their free membership. I booked a three night stay over Labor Day weekend that fell into our anniversary weekend. We have been to Gburg before, our honeymoon and several times with our children growning up. Yes it is older, dated, retro, but it was clean. But it seems to be the "feel" at that end of town. Check out Perkins, McD's and they are all kind of retro. Go with it, have fun, things were simpler then! The hotel is between the Civil War Wax Museum and McD's. Encampments are usually on the museum lawn. We were on the second floor double, back of the building with a balcony facing the residential street. This is a pet friendly hotel and I did have concerns that they would be an issue. We did not hear them while we were sleeping and that was my main concern. We arrived before noon, hoping to be able to at least sort of check in. Could not upgrade (part of the membership benefits if available) due to the way rooms were booked for the holiday weekend. But the room was ready so we went up and unpacked. Check in was quick and staff seemed nice.

We booked the room based on our budget. It was clean, tv's are older, our reception wasn't all that good but we only turned it on for weather info for the most part. We used some of the pillows on the other bed, opted not to have full maid service the first day but she did switch out towels for us and we had plenty. We were able to park across from our room/balcony, it wasn't a big deal to do the steps to the second floor. The one thing that was a bit bothersome were the lights above the beds. it kind of seemed like maybe there should of been a queen bed in between and the lights on either side. If you wanted to read, be propped up watching tv you could easily bump your head. The bed was comfortable, we were able to regulate the AC to our liking, shower worked well and we had plenty of hot water. The do have a full bathroom and a small sink is also on the outside of the bathroom. I feel this is a bonus when you have a couple of people trying to shower, shave, do hair what ever. Only draw back was it was right by the door.

The pool area looked nice but we did not use it. Hot tub was also available but you had to request the key at the front desk~we did not use it either. We were busy doing the sights. Breakfast was till 10AM, most are done by 9 AM. It was the basic contenential, cereals, english muffins, bread, bagels, danish, blue berry muffins, 2 juices, hot beverages, apples and banana's. It was enough to get the day started. And with all the little places along the way, you could take advantage of trying some fries or something along the way for a snack. We did breakfast there two of the mornings. Your room card/key also offered 20% off a dessert at Gettysburg Eddie's which was very good too.

We were not in our room all that much. Most evenings we were back after 9:30 or later for showers and chilling for a bit. Out by 9AM to do what we came to do. It was clean, comfortable and quiet. It met all of our needs, our budget and our few concerns were not an issue. I imagine all hotels have some rooms that are not quiet as nice, people smoke in them and they were not suppose to. It is a chance you take anywhere you go. But we booked a three night stay over a holiday weekend for $292.35. As long as it is clean and comfortable, why throw bigger bucks away if you are not going to be there all that much? I would stay there again but would probably book a first floor room with the fridge. We didn't use the balcony, thought maybe we would sit out for a bit in the evening. All we were keeping cold were water bottles and throwing a bucket of ice in the cooler once a day worked for this stay. I had reservations at another hotel in the area but I was glad I researched and changed our reservations to the ABV. It met our needs and helped our budget so we could take advantage of staying an extra day, do a few more attractions. As always, it depends what you are looking for, what your needs are.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the building facing the residential street were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
What a nice review! I'm glad we were able to meet your needs and save you some money in the process! For the future, you are able to book in advance first floor rooms with microwaves/refrigerators. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    93
    51
    15
    10
See reviews for
86
65
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
forty fort,pa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is a older hotel,and it shows its years.But if you are ok with that,this a good place to stay. The staff is friendly,the rooms were very very clean and the beds comfortable. The room is nice size and we had a balconey. The best part is the location and the price. It is walking distance to 90% of the Gettysburg attractions. The price was also less than the newer hotels outside of town. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you! If you are looking for a clean, comfortable, affordable room with a great location, we're the choice for you! See you next time....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, Maine
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I booked this place online when I was 4 hours away. It's too cheap. I should have known. It's old, wicked old. Let's just say, if you are eligible for the AARP, you may remember places like this from your childhood. The "non-smoking room" smells of air freshener overlaying cigar. Who knows how old the carpet is and what stories it could tell. The "TV with satellite" is a 27" picture tube and the signal is analog with snow. The air-conditioning is a window unit built into the exterior wall. The front plastic with the vents was on the floor. It wouldn't come on. The front desk sent a repair person to see if was really broken before she would change my room. The repair guy was younger than the unit. He worked on it for maybe 10 minutes. He did get it to work. Well, it's on, not especially cool. I won't comment on anything else. I took a break from searching for a new place to stay tomorrow night to write this. Others are correct. It does have a great location. Thing is, unlike real estate, with hotels "location, location, location" isn't everything.

Room Tip: A tip...stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
I'm sorry you weren't satisfied with your stay with us. We don't advertise to be the newest, fanciest property in town, but we ARE clean, affordable, and boast a great location. Many of our guests spend their days and evenings touring the battlefield and other sights, and simply are looking for a comfortable, clean place to spend their nights while in town, which is absolutely what we provide to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yarmouth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at America's Best Value Inn in Gettysburg for several nights while dropping our daughter off at college. The decor is very dated (we preferred to think of it as "charmingly retro") but the hotel itself is more than adequate--especially for the price. The staff was very accommodating and room was spotlessly clean. The location is wonderful. One can walk to many restaurants, the National Cemetery and to several battle sites. As a matter of fact, my husband jogged through the National Park (just a short distance from the hotel) every morning. I highly recommend this hotel for an affordable stay with easy access to tourist sites in Gettysburg.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for the review! Don't forget to make your reservation for 'Parents Weekend'...we fill up quickly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Just stayed at the America's Best Value Inn in Gettysburg last week and was very pleased with the location because you could walk to many of the sights. The motel is "dated" but with so much to do and see, little time was spent in the room. The room was clean and the staff was very courteous and friendly. The continental breakfast was sufficient every morning with cereal, bagels, muffins, toast, fresh fruit, juices, and coffee.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We aim to give every guest a clean stay at a great value with a fantastic location! Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgely, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

For my family and I Americas Best Value Inn more then meets our needs and expectations. Since June of 2011 we have stayed there on an almost monthly basis. Each time we arrive to find our accommodations ready and in excellent condition. The staff is always so very friendly and ready to assist you in whatever way they can. If a problem developes, which very seldom does, it is addressed immediately. The hotel is older but very well maintained and always clean. The rates are reasonable and you're within walking distance to so many locations. So if you're looking for a hotel which makes you feel right at home, I suggest you try Americas Best Value Inn. My family and I did and we never stay any place else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Wow, thanks for the outstanding review!! We love seeing you so often- thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband frequently drills with the Navy and rooms in the Erie Americas Best Value Inn and it is a slum. So when I came across this one in Gettysburg I was very, VERY suspicious. I read about a billion reviews and with the price and military discount we would get I figured I would give it a shot anyway. All of the other hotels seem very overpriced and this one seemed like a steal. I held my breath when he opened the door and when we saw the room we were SO happy. The room reminded us of a place you would have stayed in the early 1960's. They weren't anything fancy but they were spotless, smelled fresh and had a funky design that set it apart from the everyday hotels we stay in nowadays. The staff was extremely friendly, the pool was spotless and the free breakfast was a perfect way to begin our day of exploring. While this hotel isn't right downtown in the square, it is close enough to still be able to walk there. We didn't touch our car until our second day and that was only because we were going on the battlefield tour. The BEAUTIFUL National Cemetery is across the street, the Dobbins house is only a block or two away (excellent tour and amazing food), ghost walks are right there and a ton of civil war themed stores with antiques and souvenirs. It is in a perfect location and we have already recommended it to my parents for their Gettysburg trip. We will most definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and love our character! We love to tell our guests they can park their car and walk, and I'm thrilled you were able to take advantage of our fantastic location! Thank you for your recommendations to others, and we'll see you next time....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 301 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Best Inn Gettysburg)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn is centrally located in historic Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. We are a 100 percent smoke free two-story hotel with both interior and exterior corridor guest rooms. Our 76 clean and comfortable guest rooms are fully equipped with hi-speed wireless Internet access, satellite TV, irons, ironing boards, complimentary local calls, and wake-up service. Start your day right with our delicious complimentary deluxe continental breakfast served fresh daily from 6am - 10am. Relax by our seasonal outdoor pool and year round indoor hot tub. Our hotel also offers ice machines, vending machines, and complimentary daily USA Today newspapers. For added convenience, our friendly and helpful staff is available around the clock to assist you. Gettysburg is America's most famous small town. The three day Battle of Gettysburg in 1863 involved 170,000 Americans. Today the land is a 6,000 acre National Park with over 1,300 monuments along 32 scenic miles. From Americas Best Value Inn - Gettysburg, you can walk to parks, museums and over a dozen restaurants. Must-see attractions in the area include the Civil War Museum, the Eisenhower Tour, Gettysburg Battlefield. Gettysburg is more than just a historic battlefield. The town is surrounded by quaint, picturesque farmlands which create a peaceful and relaxing retreat. Explore Gettysburg and then take some day trips to Baltimore, Lancaster, Hershey, and Washington DC. Let Americas Best Value Inn - Gettysburg be your peaceful retreat the next time you visit our historic town. We offer comfortable accommodations, affordable rates, and excellent guest service. We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Gettysburg
Americas Best Value Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Americas Best Value Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.