We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close enough to walk Pickett's Charge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Best Inn Gettysburg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Savings Special
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Hollywood, Maryland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“close enough to walk Pickett's Charge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Inn is clean, not a modern 5 star hotel, but could not ask for a better location. The weather prediction was perfect so on a whim we packed our dog and ourselves in the car and spent the night. We were able to walk everywhere, including Longstreet's area of the battlefield. Staff was friendly, continental breakfast was deecent and 'free', there was a microwave and fridge, a comfy king size bed and our first floor room had a front and rear entrance, which was perfect for our needs. Our early morning walk together consisted of a 2 block walk to the battlefield where we were right at the scene of Pickett's Charge across the Emmitsburg Road. Despite being right in the center of a busy area the room was quiet and the atmosphere relaxing. And the rate was VERY reasonable. will definately stay here again.

Room Tip: first floor in the back has covered parking and is perfect for travelers with pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your nice review! I'm so glad we were able to provide you with a pleasant stay in Gettysburg and I'm sure your dog appreciated the nice morning walk! We look forward to hosting you again- see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    112
    60
    15
    12
See reviews for
101
84
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Beaver Springs
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just spent another night at the Best Inn. Room was clean and comfortable. Easy walk to just about anywhere in town. Second floor was nice with the private balconies. Staff was friendly as always. Will stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We agree with everything you said! Thanks for your review and we'll see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

All staff at this establishment were friendly and helpful. Although the hotel is of an older style, all amenities are clean and comfortable. Undercover parking was a bonus. While a school group was also visiting, they were well behaved and did not disturb our sleeping. We appreciated the microwave and fridge. The free continental breakfast was substantial. Good value for money. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for visiting us and for writing your nice review! We love pleasing our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I travelled to the Gettysburg area to participate in a fellowship and tour the Gettyburg Battlefield and town. I was satisfied with the motel and have described it as best I could. The Gettysburg experience was great as the new Visitor Center is very nice. This motel is just across the street from the parking lot for the National Cemetery so offers a great location from which to tour. Although the facility is dated is a good value and offers free breakfast.

Room Tip: I arrived in early June, before the larger crowds around the 4th of July. The A/C unit is the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Although we are not a brand new property, we pride ourselves on being able to provide our guests a great experience and a great value. Our location is hard to beat! We do carry satellite TV in all rooms, although we've found most guests who are visiting Gettysburg are not interested in watching much TV anyways. We hope you enjoyed your trip to Gettysburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This place is right by the battlefield and its reasonably priced!The place isn't new but they always add new stuff.Always stay here while in Gettysburg and never had a bad stay!Very friendly staff and love the simple free breakfast!Located in a great spot,recommend this place definitely!Liked the free internet too!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your visit and nice review! We love giving guests such as yourself a combination of great value, excellent location and a clean stay while visiting Gettysburg. Thank you so much for your loyalty and we will see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here again and as always our rooms are great and the staff is wonderful. It may be an older hotel but if you want clean rooms and friendly staff and decent rates this is where you need to go. We have never had bad service or rooms here

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your visit and review! We agree with everything you said! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, WI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stay at ABVI Gettysburg twice a year. The rooms are basic with Cable, wifi, and air. Some rooms are available with microwave, fridge and undercover parking. There is a small continental breakfast bar included for all rooms. The staff are friendly and informative. They are pet friendly with several rooms reserved for families with pets other rooms are restricted to humans only. If you are allergic to animals you will need to ask for one of these rooms. The location is perfect. Gettysburg is a popular destination and parking is limited in the most popular areas. ABVI is walking distance from the Square and across the street from Gettysburg Military Park. Accommodations fill quickly during for July and November so book early. They have been known to fill up a year ahead of the July 4th week and November 19th week. Prices are very reasonable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have under cover parking some rooms have 2 double beds some have a queen. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your continued loyalty and nice review! We aim to give all our guests a combination of a great value, a clean stay, and an excellent location! We look forward to hosting you again the next time you return to Gettysburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 301 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Best Inn Gettysburg)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn is centrally located in historic Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. We are a 100 percent smoke free two-story hotel with both interior and exterior corridor guest rooms. Our 76 clean and comfortable guest rooms are fully equipped with hi-speed wireless Internet access, satellite TV, irons, ironing boards, complimentary local calls, and wake-up service. Start your day right with our delicious complimentary deluxe continental breakfast served fresh daily from 6am - 10am. Relax by our seasonal outdoor pool and year round indoor hot tub. Our hotel also offers ice machines, vending machines, and complimentary daily USA Today newspapers. For added convenience, our friendly and helpful staff is available around the clock to assist you. Gettysburg is America's most famous small town. The three day Battle of Gettysburg in 1863 involved 170,000 Americans. Today the land is a 6,000 acre National Park with over 1,300 monuments along 32 scenic miles. From Americas Best Value Inn - Gettysburg, you can walk to parks, museums and over a dozen restaurants. Must-see attractions in the area include the Civil War Museum, the Eisenhower Tour, Gettysburg Battlefield. Gettysburg is more than just a historic battlefield. The town is surrounded by quaint, picturesque farmlands which create a peaceful and relaxing retreat. Explore Gettysburg and then take some day trips to Baltimore, Lancaster, Hershey, and Washington DC. Let Americas Best Value Inn - Gettysburg be your peaceful retreat the next time you visit our historic town. We offer comfortable accommodations, affordable rates, and excellent guest service. We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Gettysburg
Americas Best Value Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Americas Best Value Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.