We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and staff was nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Best Inn Gettysburg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very clean and staff was nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Price is right, clean and staff very nice. We stayed for the GIG (greyhounds in Gettysburg) they do not charge for dogs. The hotel was very close to everything. I will stay next year. They have a friendlys in the parking lot very nice if you have kids grab some ice cream on a hot summer day.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are very pleased to offer pet friendly rooms so you can bring your entire family with you on vacation. Next time, also walk down to Mr. G’s on Baltimore Street and enjoy their homemade ice cream. Be sure to ask for a ‘Puppy Cup’ so your greyhound can enjoy some ice cream as well.

Thank you!
Management Team
Americas Best Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    112
    60
    15
    12
See reviews for
101
84
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

First time stay here and will make this our new Gettysburg address!
Have been coming to Gettysburg for years and we are done paying high prices elsewhere.

Traveled with our dog and got a room on 2nd floor in the back with balcony overlooking residential area. (highly recommend 2nd floor in back)

Have been in other hotels where pets are allowed and can tell by smell of room. Our room here smells great and is very very clean!
Walk right out the back entrance and you are one block from edge of battlefield. Wonderful for dog walks in early morning/evening.

Everyone here is friendly and you can tell they love their jobs and are proud of this property.
Unless you have your heart set on a B&B save your money and stay here. VERY comfortable rooms that have a homey feel. Great job management and staff! Thank you!

Room Tip: prefer 2nd floor facing rear of property (Johns Street)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Walks on the battlefield are wonderful in the early morning especially with your regular walking partner. We are glad you were able to bring your dog with you and stay for no extra charge. We welcome you back anytime, but don’t start to forward your mail to us just yet.



Thank you!
Management Team
Americas Best Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euless, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I have been stopping in Gettysburg for a few days every year for over a decade. And I always get a room here. I usually ask for a room all the way in the back with covered parking, it's peaceful and quiet on the residential street in the back as opposed to having a room facing Steinwehr. I think this is the best location in Gettysburg because I can just walk out to the Pickett's charge/High Water Mark area of the battlefield in minutes, the National Cemetery in minutes, or hop on my bike and be riding out to the roundtops in a very short while. And it's only a stretch of the legs to get to the Farnsworth's excellent outdoor dining, Dobbin House springhouse tavern, or to one of the many places closer to the center of town. So basically, I can park the car and just walk (or bike) to anywhere I want to go in Gettsburg.

The staff is always friendly, the rooms are always clean, and the stay is always enjoyed. As a history buff, I find this to be a perfect location to start exploring the Gettsburg battlefield and town. And the rooms are a comfortable place to return to after a long day of exploring.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
It is our pleasure to serve customers who are true fans of Gettysburg. Thank you for staying with us.



Thank you!
Management Team
Americas Best Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

When we come to Gettysburg at least twice a year we always stay here. The staff are wonderful especially Kelly. They accomodate your every need. Clean rooms and affordable prices. They also own the Quality across the street and the same applies there as well. Breakfast has lots of options and tastes great. Try it and we are sure you will feel the same.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town!!

Thank you!
Management Team
Americas Best Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owosso, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is the only place that we ever stay at when visiting Gettysburg. Great location, walking distance to many businesses and right across from the battlefield. Very friendly and helpful staff. Love that the Museums are all so close, McDonalds is right out the front door as is Friendly's Restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
“Best Value” is our middle name. Thank you for your contribution.


Thank you!
Management Team
Americas Best Value Inn - Gettysburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Had another wonderful stay. This time we were in a second floor room. I prefer the first floor but they were booked up this weekend. I was very happy with the second floor however.

The last time we were in a second floor room it was not the best experience. I was very worried about what we would experience on the second floor this time. Very elated to see the new carpet and the wall paper looked new as well. The bathroom was spotless. All the bed spreads have been replaced with the nicer ones.

The balcony was so much fun. We were able to see the battlefield across the street and watched to see if we could spy any spirits over there once the Friendly's closed and shut off their lights. Nothing this time:(

The second floor rooms do not have a microwave or fridge but it was cold enough at night we could put things on the balcony. Like milk for coffee. Didn't miss either of those appliances.

The staff,all of them are very special. They know how to handle their customers. You had someone new at the front desk this time and she was just as nice as everyone else we have met there.

Thank you for making our stays in Gettysburg the best ever! If you can find a way for us to sneak onto the battlefield at night that would be awesome. Joking of course!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Each winter we go through all of our rooms and determine which ones need new carpet, wall coverings, drapes, doors, bed spreads, painting etc. This way we can keep on top on things before they get on top of us.
It is always nice to read such an enthusiastic posting. Thank you!

Thank you!
Management Team
Americas Best Value Inn - Gettysburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angola, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have been coming to this location for a long,long time. It has the friendliest staff of any hotel I have ever stayed at. It's in a perfect location right across the street from Pickett's Charge. Great place if you travel with a pet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Thank you for staying with us when traveling to Gettysburg.



Thank you!
Management Team
Americas Best Value Inn - Gettysburg, PA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 301 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Best Inn Gettysburg)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn is centrally located in historic Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. We are a 100 percent smoke free two-story hotel with both interior and exterior corridor guest rooms. Our 76 clean and comfortable guest rooms are fully equipped with hi-speed wireless Internet access, satellite TV, irons, ironing boards, complimentary local calls, and wake-up service. Start your day right with our delicious complimentary deluxe continental breakfast served fresh daily from 6am - 10am. Relax by our seasonal outdoor pool and year round indoor hot tub. Our hotel also offers ice machines, vending machines, and complimentary daily USA Today newspapers. For added convenience, our friendly and helpful staff is available around the clock to assist you. Gettysburg is America's most famous small town. The three day Battle of Gettysburg in 1863 involved 170,000 Americans. Today the land is a 6,000 acre National Park with over 1,300 monuments along 32 scenic miles. From Americas Best Value Inn - Gettysburg, you can walk to parks, museums and over a dozen restaurants. Must-see attractions in the area include the Civil War Museum, the Eisenhower Tour, Gettysburg Battlefield. Gettysburg is more than just a historic battlefield. The town is surrounded by quaint, picturesque farmlands which create a peaceful and relaxing retreat. Explore Gettysburg and then take some day trips to Baltimore, Lancaster, Hershey, and Washington DC. Let Americas Best Value Inn - Gettysburg be your peaceful retreat the next time you visit our historic town. We offer comfortable accommodations, affordable rates, and excellent guest service. We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Gettysburg
Americas Best Value Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Americas Best Value Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.