We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Old Howard Johnson's Hanging In there” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Best Inn Gettysburg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get 15% Off Your Stay
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Walden, Tenn
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“The Old Howard Johnson's Hanging In there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

If you know Gettysburg you'll remember the Howard Johnson's right on Steinwehr Ave in the heart of the town's cheesy tourist retail center. HoJos went under years ago and now this old dinosaur is one of the America's Best Value Inns. This is the low end of the food chain for Gettysburg hotels but if saving money is your thing, this might be a good option for you. You get what you pay for here: a trip into a wonderful 1950s motel that has had adequate upgrades to bring it into the 21st century. The rooms are worn but not worn out; the TVs are old but work; the heaters are original but function; bathrooms have received some upgrades but still resemble the original; the breakfast room is nostalgic and the food almost as old--but edible. You get the picture. Hotel prices in season can be high in G'burg and of the ten or twelve budget options in town, this one is well located and adequate. Compare with the nearby Travellodge or Budget Host--both similarly well located--to see where you get the best deal. Your next step down is the mom-and-pops on the outskirts of town. Next step up is the Quality Inn, Comfort Inn, etc.

Room Tip: The rooms in the center section are bigger and nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
If I may respond to some of you comments. HoJo’s are still around just rarely, we are happy to be an Americas Best Value Inn since 2006. We actually opened in 1960 but there is no reason a hotel can’t be viable as long as it has; a great location and good management. Our old TV’s do work and their picture is superior to the more modern pat TV’s unless there is a HD signal, which is rare. These old TV’s also use half the electricity than the newer ones, but their days are alas numbered. I do appreciate you telling it like it is.

Thank you
Management Team
Americas Best Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    103
    58
    15
    10
See reviews for
97
75
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, N.C.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This place is a true hidden gem! From the first the ladies in the office were so nice and polite, and knowledgeable about the entire area, Then they told me to go around the building and park in the garage. I asked if I was going to have to haul luggage around the building to my room, thay said ABSOLUTELY NOT! That my room had a back door into the garage. I was able to go aaccross 2 driveways and was at a Friendly's diner, and had food that tasted BETTER than what I'd at the U.S. Capitol the day before. The fact that they are pet friendly is a plus! I will not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Plan ahead for this one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Twenty-one of our guest rooms have undercover parking spaces right by their door. They are popular with our regulars so their cars are not snowed on, rained on, or overheated by the sun. I agree the food at Friendly’s is better then the US Capital. It has less baloney and hot air. Thank you for your testimonial.

Thank you
Management Team
Americas Best Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel has found the key to customer service. We stay at this hotel several times a year. The price of the room is excellent especially when on a budget. House keeping is always very pleasant and helpful as well. They really give the room a good clean down.

The only issue I have is that the tv stations are minimum. I would love it if they would upgrade to a better package. However, it isn't that big of a deal when you are out most of the time. its just a personal preference for me and I just want them to know it would be helpful.

Also I have read complaints about noise. Yes their is a bit of noise. Your in town and on a main road, there is going to be noise. I bring a small fan and use it to drown out the noise. Any hotel you stay in that is at a busy location will have some noise. Especially in a historic area.

Over all this place is top notch. They have also been doing a bit of upgrades. I am not positive but it seems they are getting rid of those old time spreads that are made of the big flower curtains. The last 3 or 4 times we have stayed, the rooms we were in did not have those. They had nice spreads.

Thank you abvi for always showing us hospitality. We will be coming for a week the end of January and this is where we will be staying. Great place, great people!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Yes we are getting rid of those old flower print bed spreads and replacing them with a more up to date bed covering. Thank you for your business and your kind testimonial.


Thank you
Management Team
Americas Best Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Springs
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Front desk clerk was vey friendly upon checkin and gave us a closer room to the end of the building towards town. King room was large and clean. Bed was comfortable, but the heat was lousy. The thermostat was set at 80 but it never got warm in the room. We would stay there again without hesitation. Location was close to restaurants and shoppes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. We are glad you found the room comfortable. We will have maintenance look into the heater. We will be here when you return.


Thank you,
Management Team
Americas Best Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Easy and very friendly check in/out. We have got all the information needed to start planning our stay in Gettysburg. Our king room was spacious, smartly decorated and very clean with a comfy bed. Breakfast was simple.Wireless worked well. Absolutely great value for money and the location is great (walking distance to downtown and the battlefield). We have stayed in many motels in USA and this one is definetely one of the best ones.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind words!

Thank you
Management Team
Americas Best Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCJim1
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Big history buff and love Gettysburg. This is a solid motel right close to everything. Large room, great king bed, EZ chair, desk, chair, frig, micro....two door entrance, TWO sinks in the room....very clean and large with a special rate of $49. The place has a NOON check out and solid no frills Cont breakfast that will get you going. Nice staff. No worries here if you need clean and basic. For what ever reason, this place loves Marilyn Monroe....the room had two large beautiful back and white lithographs on the walls that really stood out. That was a very nice touch. This will be my motor lodge of choice in Gettysburg from now on.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Our rooms and halls are decorated with various pictures of icons of the sixties of which Marilyn is only a few. You can check out the rest on your return visits. Thank you for your kind words.

Thank you
Management Team
Americas Best Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed there 3 nights over thanksgiving break with my daughter and dog.Well maintained property, super clean and friendly, great location. This is the best motel I have ever stayed at in their price point(and then some) and would recommend it to anyone staying in Gettysburg.Great job to all the staff, they obviously take great pride in their work.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We do take pride in our property!

Thank you!
Management Team
Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 301 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Best Inn Gettysburg)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn is centrally located in historic Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. We are a 100 percent smoke free two-story hotel with both interior and exterior corridor guest rooms. Our 76 clean and comfortable guest rooms are fully equipped with hi-speed wireless Internet access, satellite TV, irons, ironing boards, complimentary local calls, and wake-up service. Start your day right with our delicious complimentary deluxe continental breakfast served fresh daily from 6am - 10am. Relax by our seasonal outdoor pool and year round indoor hot tub. Our hotel also offers ice machines, vending machines, and complimentary daily USA Today newspapers. For added convenience, our friendly and helpful staff is available around the clock to assist you. Gettysburg is America's most famous small town. The three day Battle of Gettysburg in 1863 involved 170,000 Americans. Today the land is a 6,000 acre National Park with over 1,300 monuments along 32 scenic miles. From Americas Best Value Inn - Gettysburg, you can walk to parks, museums and over a dozen restaurants. Must-see attractions in the area include the Civil War Museum, the Eisenhower Tour, Gettysburg Battlefield. Gettysburg is more than just a historic battlefield. The town is surrounded by quaint, picturesque farmlands which create a peaceful and relaxing retreat. Explore Gettysburg and then take some day trips to Baltimore, Lancaster, Hershey, and Washington DC. Let Americas Best Value Inn - Gettysburg be your peaceful retreat the next time you visit our historic town. We offer comfortable accommodations, affordable rates, and excellent guest service. We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Gettysburg
Americas Best Value Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Americas Best Value Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;