We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Best Inn Gettysburg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Millville, Delaware
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Great place if your looking for inexpensive, clean, quiet, friendly and you want to be near battlefield and downtown. Breakfast was as expected; coffee hot, milk cold and fruit fresh. Stayed on first floor facing pool and enjoyed sitting outside for evening cocktail. Only down side, although bathroom was recently re-done, I'm 6'3 and shower head is installed for someone 5'3. It worked out OK. ABVI is highly recommended.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We appreciate it!

Thank you!
Management Team
Americas Best Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    112
    60
    15
    12
See reviews for
101
84
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rhody
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed for one night to spend a day at Gettysburg while traveling to Nashville. This was an outstanding choice for a place to sleep. Spotlessly clean, excellent location for the battlefield and very nice people at the front desk and in the breakfast room. As others have mentioned it is walking distance to restaurants, attractions, etc. It isn't the Ritz but I didn't expect it to be. My wife and I found the beds comfortable and we both slept well. We were on the second floor, away from the street and it was very quiet. We didn't go in it, but the pool looked good. The free breakfast was mostly carbs but the coffee was good and the free local newspaper interesting. I'd highly recommend it for a 1 or 2 night stay where you're looking for value, a place to sleep and your focus is on the history. I hope to go to Gettysburg again in the fall and will make reservations here.

Room Tip: I liked our room, second floor in the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QI-GML, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
If you were staying at the Ritz their rate is 3 times ours and you would pay extra for parking, breakfast, a newspaper and internet service. Their rooms are as clean as ours though. We'll see you in the fall.

Thank you
Management Team
Americas Best Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

The hotel itself is in the perfect spot in Gettysburg. It's set back enough so you dont hear the busy street traffic but all shops and restaurants are within walking distance. The room was nice and spacious and the beds were comfy. The bathroom was a little outdated but it served it's purpose. The only negative comment was that the room smelled a little musty, but it also rained everyday we were here.
The best part- we had a front and rear door to the room, and the back door had COVERED PARKING. A huge bonus when we arrived in the middle of a storm, our stuff stayed nice and dry! (First floor rooms only)
Overall well worth the price

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QI-GML, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
The undercover parking is very nice in all weather. Our Motorcycle friends really like it. Thank you for your comment.

Thank you
Management Team
Americas Best Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

A couple things about this place and why I gave it average. First off a very awesome location! If you are looking to be in the heart of Gettysburg where all the major attractions are this would be the place. It's walking distance to all the shops, restaurants, museums etc, which is great so you don't have to worry about parking. When you go to Gettysburg you def need to go downtown it's quaint, lots of neat things to do and see. Why I chose to stay here because it was deciently priced.

There are alot of places to stay in Gettysburg but I was looking for the cheapest. I spent about 100 for the night. First off the outside of the motel might look a little shady, the doors are painted different colors and the exterior painting is cracking a bit. They do have a pool, it's small, but looks nice, it was raining though so we didn't use it. We did end up switching rooms while we were there, not because of the room itself, but because there was some rowdy kids there, but sometimes you get that in a place like that. Also I wasn't fond of the decor in the first room, it was very drab. We went back to the front desk person and asked to switch rooms, she was really nice about it and we had to problem switching.

Room 2 was much better, it was lighter color in there and it looked more updated and bigger then the other room. We were more satisfied about that. The bed was comfortable and clean, actually the whole room was clean and my husband said the shower was nice when he took a shower in the morning. It had a microwave and fridge and also 2 chairs to sit down. We were satisfied with our stay. We didn't have the breakfast, however it looked like a pretty big room to have breakfast, I believe it was just continental breakfast.

Even though we enjoyed our stay Im not sure if we will go again, only for the fact it looked a little shady and we know we can stay at a nicer place for that amount of money. But again it's a great place to stay if you want to be close to everything.

Room Tip: If it's just you and another person the poolside king room would be your best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QI-GML, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
We painted the room doors different colors to return ro the sixties theme of the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the kind words

Thank you
Management Team
Americas Best Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Lives up to its name: best value. You're right at the battlefield. Individual entrance makes it A1 for your dog. Carport for ground-floor rooms. Old style motel but nice. AC was excellent. Good outside poolin a sort of family setting with folks sitting outside their rooms while watching the kids splash. Nice complimentary breakfast. No complaints. In my opionion, better for pets than the expensive "pet friendly" Gettysburg hotel we stayed at for one night during our July vacation.

Room Tip: First floor rooms get the car port parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QI-GML, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment. We do accept pets and there is no pet charge at this time.


Thank you
Management Team
Americas Best Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights this past June. Rooms were clean, loved the balcony, bathroom was very clean. Breakfast was simple but good. So close to everything we wanted to see, the only time we moved our car was to go to the Visitor's Center. Perfect location. Our two boys loved the pool (which was very clean). The staff was very helpful. We are coming back to stay again in August!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for writing and we will see you in August!!

Thank you
Management Team
Americas Best Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We recently stayed a few days/nites at Americas Best Value Inn, during the 149th Battle of Gettysburg Reenactment, (July 4th week/weekend) and found this dog/pet friendly motel to be an awesome true hidden Gem in Gettysburg. While it is an older property, the rooms and facilities are 100% well maintained. Our large room had a King size bed, microwave, mini-fridge and plenty of outlets for our laptop and cellphones,( as well as my Sewing Machine, to finish a dress for reenactment!) The Air conditioning in the room worked great as it was 100 degrees outside, during a heatwave! Wireless Internet service was outstanding. The Pool was clean and delightful! All the staff were very friendly, polite and very helpful, from Rhonda at the front desk to the housekeeping staff. There was a free (well supplied/stocked) continental breakfast every morning along with fresh juice and coffee. Each morning there was a free local newspaper in the lobby for motel guests to take! The Motel is Walking distance to most everything...A very, very enjoyable stay at a great motel managed/run the RIGHT way! We (as well as friends who also stayed there) already have made reservations for all our return trips to Gettysburg in the future.... Very fair and reasonable room rates Too! Looking foward to our next stay in Gettysburg at the Americas Best Value Inn!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
As you have discovered, just because we are an oldie that doesn't mean we can't be a goodie. Thanks for writing.

Thank you
Management Team
Americas Best Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 301 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Best Inn Gettysburg)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn is centrally located in historic Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. We are a 100 percent smoke free two-story hotel with both interior and exterior corridor guest rooms. Our 76 clean and comfortable guest rooms are fully equipped with hi-speed wireless Internet access, satellite TV, irons, ironing boards, complimentary local calls, and wake-up service. Start your day right with our delicious complimentary deluxe continental breakfast served fresh daily from 6am - 10am. Relax by our seasonal outdoor pool and year round indoor hot tub. Our hotel also offers ice machines, vending machines, and complimentary daily USA Today newspapers. For added convenience, our friendly and helpful staff is available around the clock to assist you. Gettysburg is America's most famous small town. The three day Battle of Gettysburg in 1863 involved 170,000 Americans. Today the land is a 6,000 acre National Park with over 1,300 monuments along 32 scenic miles. From Americas Best Value Inn - Gettysburg, you can walk to parks, museums and over a dozen restaurants. Must-see attractions in the area include the Civil War Museum, the Eisenhower Tour, Gettysburg Battlefield. Gettysburg is more than just a historic battlefield. The town is surrounded by quaint, picturesque farmlands which create a peaceful and relaxing retreat. Explore Gettysburg and then take some day trips to Baltimore, Lancaster, Hershey, and Washington DC. Let Americas Best Value Inn - Gettysburg be your peaceful retreat the next time you visit our historic town. We offer comfortable accommodations, affordable rates, and excellent guest service. We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Gettysburg
Americas Best Value Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Americas Best Value Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.