We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“on vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Best Inn Gettysburg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Somerset, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“on vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

ok room , good housekeeping, not much on the breakfast table, close to attractions and food. not many channels on the tv. helpful staff, ok pool

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QI-GML, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review!

Thank you!
Management Team
Americas Best Value Inn Gettysburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    115
    60
    16
    13
See reviews for
110
87
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a year ago and am quite late at getting to a review for it. I have also stayed at the Quality Inn across the street. Both of the places are older, but seriously a step back in time with great maintenance and quality. Mr.Witt spends a good amount of money keeping this former Howard Johnson property clean. I love new, modern hotels and tend to stay at them because older places sometimes do not have the cleanliness that they usually have. This is an exception at a great price. The hot tub is very nice as well. A snob will not like here, but the majority of people will find this to be a charming place. The location is great as well. On a side note, it is probably the only Best Value Inn not owned by a Mr. Patel haha.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QI-GML, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
There is no reason an older hotel can't be as clean as a newer one. Older hotels often have an advantage because they were there first and have better locations. Thank you for your recommendation.

Thank you!
Management Team
Americas Best Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulls Gap
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We booked this hotel room 8 months ago, spoke with someone directly at the site about the rooms, asked for handicapped access and a room WITH a refrigerator and microwave. We were told that room 218 on the second floor had not only the handicapped access, but a balcony and the refrigerator and microwave - we were guaranteed this! When we confirmed the room one month before after having it reserved for 8 months! we were told the same thing! Well when we arrived this was not the case - the room was handicapped other than the balcony which wasn't an issue, but no refrigerator or microwave. When we talked the desk clerk who was a young woman maybe a college student, she stated NONE of the second floor had these items. And we could talk to an "adult" in the morning! Well we chose to leave and find other accommodations in the morning. The room was fine, but we were very very disappointed and distressed over not being given the appropriate information and being told to talk to an "adult" - room and access were fine for handicapped - breakfast was well stocked, room was very clean - but make sure you triple check on the refrig and micro!

Room Tip: Fee for our 3 dogs was very acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QI-GML, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
If you had booked a room with a micro/fridge you would have gotten it. You booked a room that did not have a micro/fridge and then put in a request for one, (probably because the micro/fridge rooms were booked a year ago). The fee for dogs very acceptable, we have no fee for dogs.

Management Team
Americas Best Value Inn
Gettysburg, PA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

My husband and I have been coming to Gettysburg a long time, and the only place we stay is Americas Best value Inn. The place is always clean, the staff is great, and the price can't be beat. We just came back from a weeks stay, and I must say we were not disapointed. I only booked a room for 4 nights but like always we wanted to stay longer. The desk clerk was very helpfull to stay on top of things till a cancelation came in and held it for us. She made my day when she told me about the cancelation. We always bring our dogs with us to and never had a problem with any of the staff not being friendly with them. So if you want a great place to stay, a clean and friendly place to stay, Americas Best Value Inn is the place.

Room Tip: If you are travelimg with pets the bottom floor with coverd parking is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QI-GML, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. I am glad things worked out for you extending your stay.

Thank you
Management Team
Americas Best Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stay here often. The only problem I have with them is the cable. The television has very few stations I am used to watching at home and I know other hotels in the area at their price range have better station choices. When I come with my grand children and it rains they get bored in the room because they don't like the stations. Other then that the staff is very friendly and helpful, the hotel is close enough to town that you can walk to most places, and it is centrally located to other sites. We like to investigate the paranormal and Picketts charge is in walking distance. For the price, location and staff it makes this hotel a 5 star for me.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QI-GML, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you for your kind words.


Thank you
Management Team
Americas Best Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Sure it's an older facility, but it's spotless and well maintained in a great location for a very reasonable price. Pleasant and helpful staff, pet friendly (without those ridiculous extra pet fees).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QI-GML, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
No Pet Fees!! Gotta love that, right! Thank you for posting your comments!.

Thank you!
Management Team
Americas Best Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittgrove, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I've been traveling to and staying in Gettysburg at least three times a year for many years now. When the prices at "my" hotel got out of hand, i had to find a new home away from home. The America's Best Value Inn is it! The rooms are immaculate, they have every necessary ammenity (wifi, ironing boards, etc.) and in a fabulous location! Right in town but not at the loud/busy Steinwehr/Baltimore intersection. We can park and walk everywhere, always a plus! The staff are pleasant, helpful and know you by name in no time! See you in a couple of weeks and in a couple of months and at the end of the year.....

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms have front and back doors for a nice breeze and if you are traveling with a group y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QI-GML, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
We are glad you found a new home! We look forward to seeing familiar faces time after time! Thank you for posting your comments!

Thank you!
Management Team
Americas Best Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 301 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Best Inn Gettysburg)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn is centrally located in historic Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. We are a 100 percent smoke free two-story hotel with both interior and exterior corridor guest rooms. Our 76 clean and comfortable guest rooms are fully equipped with hi-speed wireless Internet access, satellite TV, irons, ironing boards, complimentary local calls, and wake-up service. Start your day right with our delicious complimentary deluxe continental breakfast served fresh daily from 6am - 10am. Relax by our seasonal outdoor pool and year round indoor hot tub. Our hotel also offers ice machines, vending machines, and complimentary daily USA Today newspapers. For added convenience, our friendly and helpful staff is available around the clock to assist you. Gettysburg is America's most famous small town. The three day Battle of Gettysburg in 1863 involved 170,000 Americans. Today the land is a 6,000 acre National Park with over 1,300 monuments along 32 scenic miles. From Americas Best Value Inn - Gettysburg, you can walk to parks, museums and over a dozen restaurants. Must-see attractions in the area include the Civil War Museum, the Eisenhower Tour, Gettysburg Battlefield. Gettysburg is more than just a historic battlefield. The town is surrounded by quaint, picturesque farmlands which create a peaceful and relaxing retreat. Explore Gettysburg and then take some day trips to Baltimore, Lancaster, Hershey, and Washington DC. Let Americas Best Value Inn - Gettysburg be your peaceful retreat the next time you visit our historic town. We offer comfortable accommodations, affordable rates, and excellent guest service. We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Gettysburg
Americas Best Value Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Americas Best Value Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.