We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Save Saved
You added 1863 Inn of Gettysburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   516 Baltimore St., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Sale
Ranked #15 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

great location, clean rooms ,courteous staff,good breakfast.Withen walking distance of everything.Stayed their a few times never dissapointed,the only place we stay in gettysburg.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 8, 2010
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are very glad that you enjoy visiting with us! I will pass your comments on to the staff.
Your satisfaction is important and we hope you will continue to stay at The 1863 Inn on future visits to our beautiful little town!
You may want to ask about our Loyalty Program the next time you are here- Great savings for return guests-no black out dates!

Thank you again!

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    210
    148
    63
    27
    6
See reviews for
148
167
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

We have stayed at the 1863 Inn several times dating back to when it was still the Holiday Inn.

We have never been disappointed, but, frankly, this was by far the best stay we have experienced to date. There is absolutely NOTHING negative we can say about our stay.

We do miss the convenience of the restaurant that used to be based at the 1863, but its absence is certainly not the hotel's fault. In the absence of the restaurant, they have implemented a complimentary breakfast for guests which is really quite decent,

Unfortunately, this place is very popular and we were not able to book a room for our planned November 2010 visit as they were full, but we will keep checking.

Can't wait to visit the 1863 again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 26, 2010
Thank you so much for the kind comments! We have an excellant staff. They take pride in this Hotel and we do everything we can to make sure that our guests have an enjoyable experience.

It was nice to hear that you enjoyed the free "Rise and Shine"Breakfast! It does offer a good variety. People love it!

We offer the same amenities that we did before we made the change. In fact, now we can offer more to our guests. We now have our Loyalty Program that gives our return guests a very nice discount when they stay with us. And the great thing about it is no black out dates! We offer it anytime that we have a vacancy! We want our guests to return time and time again!! I hope that you have joined the program for future stays.

Please feel free to call and ask for me when checking for availability for November. I will do what I can to keep an eye out for a cancellation. 1-866-953-4483

We appreciate your loyalty to this property and hope that you continue to visit us.

Thank you again for taking the time to post the wonderful review! It gives the staff an extra boost to know they are doing a good job!!


Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Haven, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

We found this hotel on the internet. It was the perfect location for touring Gettysburg. Within walking distance to most attractions and the bus tours. The hotel rooms were clean and well stocked with towels and small toiletries. The Rise and Shine Breakfast was excellent. Nice variety of hot and cold breakfast items. Attendant kept food well stocked. We would certainly recommend this hotel to all our friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments you posted regarding your stay with us. I am so glad that you enjoyed it! It is always nice to hear that our visitors are happy!

I have shared your comments with the staff and they were very excited to know that they played a part in making your visit to our beautiful town a memorable one! Your satisfaction is our first priority.

It would be a pleasure to have you visit us in the future.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

great location...did the auto tour of the park before we checked in. Arrived around 1 pm and our room was ready 2 hours early. Clean, roomy...no issues with anything to do with the hotel...it was great trip. We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 17, 2010
Thank you for your wondeful comments regarding the hotel and our beautiful town!

We do our best to make sure that our visitors receive a clean comfortable room and a friendly smile to go with it!!

Please feel free to contact the hotel direct at-1-866-953-4483. We will be happy to help you plan your next visit. It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, New jersey
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

Stayed here one night on the way home from a NC wedding. Had a front room which picked up a lot of street noise. Location was great as there were many areas of the battlefield that you could walk to. The fireflies at night on Cemetary Ridge were spooky. All in all a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly area, PA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Stayed here for 5 nights in late July 2010 and have stayed here several times in the past. The rooms facing the main street can be quite loud as there is traffic stopping and going at the traffic light all day and well into the evening. Lots of trucks and motorcycles idling then accelerating at the green light make for the loudest noise. The opposite side is far quieter.
This used to be a Holiday Inn and little changed in the rooms when the hotel went independent as it is now. Rooms are average size - beds are comfortable - bathrooms are clean and well stocked - parking is free and there is plenty of it especially in a large adjacent lot. There is a pool with an attendant on duty - not sure if the attendant is also a lifeguard though. Free breakfast is good a frequently re-stocked.
Lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance. The center town square is about 1/2 mile north of the hotel. Great family friendly hotel at a great location.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

I had a one night stay while traveling through Gettysburg for business with a little bit of time to visit the battlefield. It's basically a stripped down place to stay with nothing more, motel more than inn. Service: on checking in, the front desk clerk was arguing with someone about their non-working Internet and just kept rolling her eyes and saying "What do you expect me to do?" The "handyman" wandering through suggested that perhaps that part of the hotel had the router unplugged, but offered no solutions. Then she tried to get me to empathize about how hard her job was. I felt that set the tone for the whole stay. The Internet, by the way, is not WiFi and I hadn't brought an Ethernet cable. I stopped traveling with one several years ago. Luckily, I had my iPad. The room was clean, very basic and about what to be expected for a lodging of its class. I ended up with a handicap room, again with no advance warning by the desk clerk, so I just had to adjust to shower-- shampoo, no conditioner. Continental breakfast (free) was basic and okay-- cereal, toast, yogurt, pastries, etc. I didn't try the pool, but it looked okay. You check in in the lobby, but then drive behind the hotel to park and then enter your room from the outside. More Motel 6 like than even Howard Johnson's.
My advice, after driving around town was for more of an inn-like atmosphere, try the Best Western down on the town square or if you want a bigger place with more amenities, try the Choice Hotel Suites that was right down the road, closest to the park's visitor center and modern looking.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 13, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay with us. Our goal at the 1863 Inn of Gettysburg is to provide a clean, comfortable and friendly visit to all of our guests. We take all comments seriously and do our best to improve our service based on those comments.
All rooms are equipped with hi-speed internet. This connection is not wireless due to the construction of the building. The signal would not be satisfactory. Therefore we do have ethernet cables available to our guests. When the service is down we are at the mercy of the support department. Our staff does everything possible to have any connection problems resolved in a timely fashion when they are brought to our attention. We do have a very strong wireless connection available in our lobby area.
Our Free Breakfast is very substantial consisting of a variety of hot and cold items to choose from. All items are to be available during the posted breakfast hours. We apologize if you could not locate these items during the time which you came in for breakfast.
The amenities that we provide in our rooms do include conditioning shampoo.(1 less bottle to dispose of) Each room is equipped with irons and ironing boards as well as a hairdryer and coffee maker-not at all what I would consider "stripped down".
We are committed to provide each guest with the room type that they have reserved. If a handicap accessible room is reserved we do not change it or question it. We assign the requested room type. Our housekeeping staff was very pleased that you were satisfied with the cleanliness of the room. They work very hard to maintain the standards expected by our guests,

I do apologize if our service fell short of your expectations. I invite you to call me direct to discuss your concerns. Please feel free to call 1-866-953-4483 and ask for me.

Your satisfaction is our first concern. We realize that there are many options in lodging available and we do our best to stay competitive in what we offer to our visitors.

Hopefully you will visit us in the future.

Thank you,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 1863 Inn of Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Address: 516 Baltimore St., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1863 Inn of Gettysburg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 story Colonial style Hotel with exterior entrances.110 rooms equipped with hair dryers,irons and ironing boards,coffee makers,Free wired hi-speed internet service. Free breakfast for registered Hotel guests. Within walking distance to most major attractions. Gettysburg National Military Park Visitors Center-1 mile. Gettysburg Battlefield Bus Tour Center-next door. Ghost Walk Tours near by. Located 5 blocks from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your 1863 Inn of Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1863 Inn Of Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.