We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, local hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added 1863 Inn of Gettysburg to your Saves list
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   516 Baltimore St., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Whippany, NJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice, local hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I've stayed here with my husband a few years in a row during the vintage base ball tournament over the summer. The hotel is right in the middle of town, making access to the shops and restaurants extremely easy. The outdoor pool is well maintained, with a lifeguard on duty during open hours. The rooms are exactly what you'd expect from a non-incorporated hotel: not perfectly updated, but clean and serviceable. They are, however, quite large. The rooms are accessed by outdoor hallways that wrap each floor, with two relative slow elevators in the middle. I would ask for a room away from the elevators for noise concerns (and so less people are walking past your door and window to get to their rooms!) The breakfast is plentiful and has a great variety. We will stay here again next year!

Room Tip: If you are concerned about noise, ask for a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your visit with us. We are glad that your room was clean and comfortable. The rooms on the back of the hotel have all been renovated over the past 2 years. This winter we will start on the rooms in the front of the hotel. We are very seasonal here so the renovations have to be done during our off season. We may not be a franchise hotel but our rooms are well appointed and offer the same amenities that the chain hotels provide-iron and ironing board, coffee maker, hair dryer, flat screen TV and the most importantly, our rooms are very clean and spacious. We realize that there are many options when it comes to lodging in Gettysburg. That is why we put in the extra effort to make sure our visitors enjoy their time with us and want to return. We are glad that you will be back next year. We do have a "Loyalty" Program for repeat guests. During your next visit you may want to inquire about the program-a great rate and unlike most franchise hotels-no black out dates! Thank you again for the review. We appreciate it. See you next time!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    177
    74
    28
    7
See reviews for
180
203
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Stayed one night on Aug 9. This is a great place to stay. Right in the center of it all. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very spacious and clean. The breakfast is good with a lot of things to choose from. If you are staying for one night or more I highly recommend the 1863 inn. you wont regret it. I will definitely stay here again on my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your visit with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found everything to be clean and comfortable. We have a wonderful staff here and they work very hard to make sure that every guest has an enjoyable experience. Please come back to see us on your next trip to Gettysburg. It would be our pleasure. Thank you again for the great review. We appreciate it!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harveys Lake, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Came in to town for a photo shoot. Staff very accommodating and friendly. We are loyalty members -but staff went above and beyond to make our stay great. Will be back. Thank you!!!!!!!!! Hotel is in center of beautiful historic area - easy to walk to many scenic areas.

Room Tip: 5th floor is said to be haunted
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
We are glad that you had an enjoyable visit with us. Thank you for the review and thank you for your loyalty. We appreciate each and every guest and hope they come back to see us time and time again. We do our best to provide a clean, comfortable room at a reasonable rate. The staff will be very excited to know that we had another happy visitor! Thank you again. Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This was our second stay at the 1863 Inn and we would never want to stay anywhere else in Gettysburg. The rooms are a very good size and spotlessly clean. The front desk and housekeeping staff were friendly and helpful. The location is excellent and you can walk to many things. Parking is no problem. We like being on the front side of the building, but if you feel that early morning traffic noise will disturb you, you might prefer the back (We find that early morning seems to be the only time when there is a lot of traffic - it was very quiet in the evening.) The pool area is nice and clean. This a pet friendly accommodation, which we appreciate very much. I'm sure they have many pets visiting, but you would never know a pet had been there before you. Here is my plea to other dog owners. Please help keep this hotel a great pet friendly location. Clean up after your dog. There is a nice area to walk your dog out back, with a garbage can. You can walk your dog on the street and there is a garbage can near by. Please use them. So far, so good, but we have seen other pet friendly hotels change their policy because of disrespectful pet owners, so please, do your part to keep this nice for all of us who love to travel with our dogs!

Room Tip: There is some traffic noise on the street side early in the a.m., so if you want to sleep late, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
So glad to hear that you had another enjoyable visit with us here at the 1863 Inn of Gettysburg! Thank you for the great review. We also want to thank you for mentioning how important it is when you travel with pets to be responsible and clean up after them. It only takes one bad experience to ruin it for everyone. We love our furry friends here and we try to make sure that the area where they are walked is clean and well kept. It certainly helps when the pet owners lend a hand in making that possible. We appreciate it. We hope that you will continue to visit with us. We have a wonderful "Loyalty" Program for repeat guests. You may want to inquire about the program the next time you come to see us. Thank you again for posting your comments. See you next time!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I chose this hotel because I wanted something that was close to the Battlefield and the downtown attractions. I had my 2 of my teenaged granddaughters with me and one of them was especially interested in Jennie Wade and this hotel was right next door to her house. We stayed on the 4th floor front. There are elevators! The room was very spacious and spotless. The bathroom was one of the larger ones I've seen. Everything smelled fresh. I found the beds to be very comfortable. After a long day of walking the girls were happy to be able to make use of the pool. It was a nice size and wasn't crowded at all. Breakfast is included. It was more than adequate. I especially enjoyed the biscuits and sausage gravy. There were breakfast sandwiches and omlets that had to be zapped in the microwave, various waffles, french toast, cereals, fruits and yogurts. You certainly wouldn't go away hungry. This will definitely be my new destination hotel in Gettysburg.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to traffic then ask for a rear facing room. The streets are very busy during t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed it! We hope that you will come back to visit soon. It would be our pleasure! Thank you again for the wonderful review! See you next time.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus, ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This is a detailed review. I will bullet point the details to help you.
* we stayed friday through sunday. August 15-17 2014.
* the hotel smelled fresh and looked very clean.
* the staff was very friendly, attentive and helpful.
* we stayed on the 5th floor, rear of the main building, not the annex.
* upon entering our room, it smelled wonderful.
* they gave us 2 welcome kits that contained water bottles, cookies, candies and even a separate bag of dog treats for our dog.
* the carpet, furniture, bed, bathroom tile floor, shower, toilet, sink and counter were spotless and mold free.
* there were no insects inside or outside of our room.
*the refrigerator was new, spotless inside and smelled super clean and fresh.
* the towels and lines were clean, spotless and crisp and smelled great.
* the T.V. had a lot of channels and it was a LG LCD flat panel.
* the bathroom was huge.
* the room was big as well even with a king sized bed.
* the A/C wall unit worked flawlessly and put out very cold air that smelled fresh. the grills were clean and mold free. an electronic digital thermostat was located on the unit.
* shower head was a brand new large Moen variable massager and worked great.
* water pressure was very strong at all times.
* water temp got so hot so fast that i was amazed.
* the bed was a firm to extra firm non-pillow top. it felt new and did not sag in the middle. my wife and i were a little sore in the A.M., but we are used to tempurpedic.
* we never heard any outside noises at any time of the day or night.
* the pool was very clean and relaxing. it is unheated.
* the free breakfast was great. they have everything you could want and it is free. look....it is not a Perkins restaurant....it is a free breakfast. if you want to go across the street and spend $15 per person to get filled up before you go to the battle, then go do that, but don't complain about getting filled up for free. no one is forcing you to eat there and they don't have to offer it. Maria works very hard to keep the breakfast area stocked and clean.
* check in and out was fast.
* free parking is ample and easy.
****ok, my suggestions: really just one, which is for the hotel to spend the money to get tempurpedic mattress toppers, which have a 20 year warranty. expensive?..yes, but worth it, especially with the free replacement warranty.
****conclusion: my wife and i have made this hotel our HQ for gettysburg and have joined the loyalty club. This simply is the best location and amenities for the price.
please look at my photos.

Room Tip: top floor, rear, main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are happy to hear that you found your room to be clean and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. We will look into those pillow toppers for the mattresses. We want every guest to have an enjoyable stay and a good night's sleep is so important. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you again for taking the time to post the review. We value the information provided in those reviews. It lets us know what we are doing right and how we can improve. Our staff will be very happy to know that you were pleased. See you next time!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We recently spent three nights here. It was a nice place to stay. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, friendly staff. Located near everything and good place to park the car. Kids loved the pool to wrap up the day after sight seeing. The only thing that did not work properly in the room was the wifi connection. It was explained to me that their connection was not powerful enough to get through all of the cement walls.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit. We are glad that you found everything to be satisfactory. We apologize for the spotty internet connection. As you mentioned-the building is poured concrete and the signal can be a bit of a challenge. We are in the process of upgrading the wireless connection. We think that should alleviate the problem. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you again for the wonderful review.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to 1863 Inn of Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Address: 516 Baltimore St., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1863 Inn of Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 story Colonial style Hotel with exterior entrances.110 rooms equipped with hair dryers,irons and ironing boards,coffee makers,Free wired hi-speed internet service. Free breakfast for registered Hotel guests. Within walking distance to most major attractions. Gettysburg National Military Park Visitors Center-1 mile. Gettysburg Battlefield Bus Tour Center-next door. Ghost Walk Tours near by. Located 5 blocks from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your 1863 Inn of Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1863 Inn Of Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.