We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added 1863 Inn of Gettysburg to your Saves list
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   516 Baltimore St., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We recently spent three nights here. It was a nice place to stay. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, friendly staff. Located near everything and good place to park the car. Kids loved the pool to wrap up the day after sight seeing. The only thing that did not work properly in the room was the wifi connection. It was explained to me that their connection was not powerful enough to get through all of the cement walls.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit. We are glad that you found everything to be satisfactory. We apologize for the spotty internet connection. As you mentioned-the building is poured concrete and the signal can be a bit of a challenge. We are in the process of upgrading the wireless connection. We think that should alleviate the problem. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you again for the wonderful review.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    170
    71
    27
    7
See reviews for
172
196
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stroudsburg, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This was a quick trip to Gettysburg to attend a funeral. Usually when visiting family we stay at the Wyndham outside of town that allows pets. This time we decided to try in town with our family dog. We were delighted that the hotel was pet friendly. We rented 4 rooms. Every room was immaculate. Each room had it's own refrigerator, coffee maker, and hairdryer. The breakfast that was included in our rate was good. The pool looked inviting but it was chilly out so we did not use it. This is a former Holiday Inn. It is centrally located in town close to all the main attractions. There is no bar or restaurant but many are close by within walking distance. You get a good bang for your buck if you stay in this centrally located inn.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! We certainly appreciate it. We are glad that you found everything to your liking. A clean, comfortable, well appointed room at a reasonable rate is exactly what travelers are looking for. We hope you will visit with us again and don't forget to bring your furry friend with you! We love our pets here! Thank you for posting the review. We love hearing that we have yet another satisfied customer! See you soon.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during the weekend of 8/16/14 for a Collge Softball Camp, and chose 1863 because of its location central to Farnsworth Tavern and the Dobbin House, as well as the reasonable price with AAA membership. The only drawback we found was that because of its location on a hill beside a major intersection, getting into the check-in area can be a little difficult if the oncoming traffic is busy which may cause you to back up the traffic behind you. If coming from downtown Gettysburg it might be a little easier to go up the hill past the Jenny Wade house and turn around, then come back down the hill and pull in. Also, the parking around the rear of the building is a little tight depending upon the size of your vehicle. The front desk area was welcoming, and the desk clerks pleasant and checked us in quickly. The hotel does add a "$20 refundable incidental fee" to your stay. The hotel is older, but in no means does it show it and is very well kept. The elevators are small and warm up quick depending upon the number of people riding in it, but with 5 floors and 2 elevators the trips do not last long. There was an outdoor pool with a staff member monitoring it, and they provide pool towels. We stayed on the 5th floor facing the street because we wanted the view of Steinwehr Ave. The room was very well kept and updated. The bathroom is spacious with clean tile floors, with the sink, ironing board, and tub in the same room. There is a nice half wall divider between the toilet and the sink. It also has a ceiling heat lamp which does not dissipate the steam well at all, and the shower head is 6 feet high from the bottom of the tub, but the celiing is about 6' 6". We had 2 double beds with a chair, desk and chair, and fridge. The style TV was current and about 32 inches. We did not find any issues with the bedding and furniture, and were very impressed with the upkeep and cleanliness of the room. I had read the reviews about the noise at night, but honestly our room was very quiet with one exception. And that was when the motorcyclists felt they needed to let all of Gettysburg know they were coming up or down Cemetary Hill or were at the intersection and would rev the loud exhaust. Honestly, the obnoxious motorcyclists were the main reasons for any noise heard in our room, but particularly around 12 and 2 AM when the bars were starting to close up. If it wasn't for them purposely being disrespectful and loud with the exhaust pipes, everyone would be wanting the rooms on the front of the hotel to enjoy the view of the town. The breakfast area has a large seating area, and there is a good mix. 4 cereals, milk, chocolate milk, coffee, tea, water, juice. Couple different types of fruit, yogurts, and a type of sausage gravy or something along with muffins and english muffins. There are breakfast microwave sandwiches just like at McDonalds, and the Eggo french toast and waffles. But it wasn't bad and there are 2 microwaves. Overall, we were very pleased with the accommodations and will be back.

Room Tip: If you want to people watch on street with all the tourist shops and nice view of town choose the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you so much for letting us know how much you enjoyed your visit. We're glad that everything was clean and comfortable. I do apologize for the noise from the motorcycles on the main street. We agree that it is uncalled for and very disrespectful. Unfortunately we cannot control the street noise. We hope you will be back to see us on future visits to Gettysburg. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know that you were pleased with your stay. The staff will be very happy to hear that! See you next time!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocono Mt., PA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This was a last minute decision; we were college hunting, got tired and decided to stay overnight. My son spotted the 1863 on his phone. The woman at the desk was very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean, especially the bathroom (always a plus with me). The beds are comfortable as well. The pool was also clean and faces the back of the hotel so it's relatively private. Despite being on the street, it was quiet because the walls are pretty thick. My eat-a-saurus sons were delighted with the continental breakfast -- microwavable breakfast sandwiches, sausage gravy, fruit, cereal, etc. was plentiful. And the price was perfect, which, when college hunting, becomes a really important thing! *lol*

The only issue some may find -- not an issue for me because when having QT with the family, we "unplug" -- is that the wifi isn't easily accessible, but really...? Use your data plan and just deal with it because everything else is great. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Want to people watch? Ask for a room in the front. Want things a bit more secluded? Request a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank your son for us-he found us on his phone! Our goal is to provide every visitor with a clean, comfortable room at a reasonable rate. I do apologize about the wifi signal. The building is poured concrete and the signal can be spotty. The good news is that we are in the process of installing more hubs to strengthen the signal. We pay attention to our guests suggestions and do our best to make their stay an enjoyable one. We do hope that you will come back to see us. Thank you for the wonderful review. We appreciate it!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Room was well maintained. The staff very friendly. Close to all the main attractions and within walking distance of East CemetaryHill. Excellent location overall. Will plan on staying there on my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you so much for the review and thank you for taking the time to contact me and let me know how much you enjoyed your visit. I will make sure that the staff knows that you found everything to be clean and comfortable. We certainly appreciate the review and hope that you will be back to see us soon. Enjoy the rest of your summer.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This hotel has a friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are clean, beds comfortable, and is really close to the national park. Two nights stay, I am happy we chose this place. The breakfast is included in the rate. The Food is just okay but if you are looking for a quick bite before marching through Gettysburg, it serves the purpose.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. A clean, comfortable room and a friendly, helpful staff just about says it all! We are very proud of the staff here. They do a wonderful job. Thank you for the wonderful review. We appreciate it. Please come back and see us again. It would be our pleasure.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This hotel is in a GREAT location right in the middle of the town of Gettysburg. We loved the fact that we could park our car in the lot and walk everywhere we wanted to go. The room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable. However, our the first room were assigned was a bit musty. The desk clerk quickly assigned us another room, and was very pleasant and friendly. There was a strange odor in the lobby. The free breakfast was only so-so - lots of processed foods. I know this may sound like a strange suggestion, but I would recommend changing the color of the bedspreads. The brown covers made the room look dated, when in fact, it was quite nice other than the bedspreads!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I do apologize for any inconvenience caused by moving to another room. I am glad that you found the second room to be acceptable. The Free Breakfast has a very nice selection. We have found that the items we offer are quick and easy-what our guests are looking for to allow them more time to explore this beautiful town. The bedspreads in the rooms are new. We have decided to get away from the run of the mill stark white-oh so heavy-duvets. They are very cumbersome to handle. Our bedspreads add a nice touch of color and are just the right weight for a comfortable night sleep. We hope that you will visit with us again. Enjoy the rest of your Summer!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 1863 Inn of Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Address: 516 Baltimore St., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 1863 Inn of Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 story Colonial style Hotel with exterior entrances.110 rooms equipped with hair dryers,irons and ironing boards,coffee makers,Free wired hi-speed internet service. Free breakfast for registered Hotel guests. Within walking distance to most major attractions. Gettysburg National Military Park Visitors Center-1 mile. Gettysburg Battlefield Bus Tour Center-next door. Ghost Walk Tours near by. Located 5 blocks from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your 1863 Inn of Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1863 Inn Of Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.