We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Pet Friendly” 1 of 5 stars
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Save Saved
You added 1863 Inn of Gettysburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   516 Baltimore St., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Last Minute Deal
Ranked #13 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Chantilly, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not Pet Friendly”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

A firend and I stayed at the 1863 Inn at Gettysburg, based upon FindFido's reviews as being pet friendly. We had a painful and pricy experience and hope that other pet owners are aware of the possible impacts. We stayed at the 1863 Inn during Veteran's Day this year. My firend decided to bring his small dog as he was not able to get kennel space in time. We had planned a ghost hunt with one of the local Gettysburg ghost tours for that evening (11:30pm - 2am). We spoke with the front desk before heading out to the ghost tour and provided a cell number should there be any difficulties with the dog. They were told to call us immediately if there are any problems, and if so, we would drop everything and get back to the hotel promptly. We received no phone calls so we anticipated everything went smoothly. Unfortunately it was not the case. First we received a wake up call for roughly 7am, which we did not order. Approximately 30 minutes later we received a call from the front desk to please come down to discuss a situation with the dog. My friend said he would be down there in a bit. He went to walk the dog quickly and returned to the room to find a note on the door stating to please come to the front desk. As he was preparing to head down to the front desk, we received a second phone call from the front desk. He went to the front desk and we were notificed that someone complained about the the barking/wimpering in the room and they were asked to be moved into another room. The 1831 Inn stated due to the difficulties we had to pay for the other room as well. We agreed to cover the price, and told them that we will find remove the dog from the property. We then drove home, placed the dog in a kennel that finally had availability and returned to 1863 Inn. We figured everything was under control. Well that was not the case. Last week, my friend received a fine from the Gettysburg Animal Control regarding the dog staying at the 1863 Inn. The front desk never told us that the police arrived at some point during the evening; AND, the front desk never called us that there was a disturbance while we were on the ghost hunt. So leaving the dog alone for roughly 3 hours cost and additional $300. The 1863 Inn is NOT pet friendly!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Regarding the issue with the pet being left unattended in the room-when your friend checked in he signed a permission slip stating that he would be responsible for his pet while he was staying at the hotel. On that slip it clearly states that the pet cannot be left unattended in the room. The Front Desk tried several times to contact him on his cell phone .He never called back. The Front Desk went up to our room after they received many calls from another guest complaining about the noise. The dog was very upset and causing quite the disturbance. A note was left on the door-messages were left on voice mail of the phone in the room. They tried to contact him again on the cell phone and still no call back. The note was removed from the door apparently when he returned to the room after his tour but still no contact was made with the front desk. We also need to be clear on something-we did not call the police-the guest that complained called them. We had no idea that they had been called until they showed up in our lobby. We had no control over the charge made against your friend. We made every attempt to reach him, going as far as calling local pubs and Ghost Tours to try to find him. We are very pet friendly but we also have rules regarding pets. We cannot ignore complaints from our other guests. When you bring a pet to the hotel you must be responsible for it. The hotel staff did everything they could to take care of the problem. The hotel is in no way at fault. The pet owner signed the permission slip. The dog should not have been left alone in a strange place. We certainly do not blame the dog. We have hundreds of responsible folks with pets stay with us each year. They understand why we have rules and regulations. It certainly was a stressful situation for the staff, the other guest and the dog. It is unfortunate that the rules were ignored and the situation had to escalate to the point it did.

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    159
    65
    27
    6
See reviews for
158
178
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jasper
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Great rooms, helpful, friendly service, and a short walk out the back door puts you on cemetery hill. High highly recommend this hotel. My only complaint was that it hosted a group of middle school kids who thundered around the balcony all evening without any apparent adult supervision, The had quit by our early bedtime, however.

Room Tip: Reserve early as they were sold out one of the night we wanted to stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are glad that you found everything to your liking. We apologize for the behavior of the school group. We would have been happy to notify the escorts but we did not know there was an issue. The building is poured concrete and we cannot hear noise from the upper floors in the lobby. We hope that you will come back to see us again. Please, during any future stays, do not hesitate to call the Front Desk if you have any issues. There is a staff memebr there 24/7 and they will be happy to assist you in any way they can. We look forward to your next visit. Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed in a king sized room and wasn't disappointed. The staff was great and very knowledgeable of the area, they helped add to the mystique of the town. Continental breakfast is more than just bagels, try the biscuits and gravy it's a surprising treat. You're a short distance to all attractions and is definitely worth the stay. I'll most definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit and plan on returning. Gettysburg is a beautiful little town with much to see and do. We look forward to your next visit. Have a wonderful Holiday season! Thank you again for he kind words!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inidanapolis
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

The 1863 is clean and close to the center of Gettysburg. The service is exactly what I've come to expect in Pennsylvania, friendly. I must take some issue with other reviewers about what constitutes excellent. Make no mistake, the 1863 is an excellent value, but an excellent hotel, I must disagree. This is a five story motel with an exterior hallways and room entrances. Think about a five story version of a 1960's era Holiday Inn.

Should you decide on the 1863, be certain to get a room in the back, street side rooms are noisy. If WiFi access is important to you, test it in your assigned room. Amazingly, I was easily able to connect to the 1863's WiFi network in a convenience store parking lot across the street, but not in two different rooms within the building.

Bottom line: a good place to stay, provided you have two star expectations.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit with us. You mention that we are a 2 star hotel with 3 star service. The 1863 Inn provides a clean, comfortable room at a very reasonable rate. Our rooms are equipped with all the extra amenities that the larger, name brand hotels offer. You also mention that we are similar to a Holiday Inn. We actually were built as a Holiday Inn. We dropped the franchise years ago. We are very proud of this hotel and work very hard to keep everything in fine shape. We feel that our other reviews are very accurate when it comes to service, cleanliness and the overall good feeling that our guests get when they stay with us. We think of our guests as family. We have over 2100 "Loyalty Members"-our repeat guest program, which speaks volumes about our service and reputation.We do apologize for the spotty wireless service. This building is solid concrete and the signal can be a bit challenging. That is why we decided to go to the extra expense to provide both wireless and wired service. As noted in each room, we provide ethernet cables upon request. Our goal here at the 1863 Inn is to provide a clean, comfortable room at a reasonable rate. That is usually what folks are looking for and we feel that we fit the bill. We hope that you will stop to see us again if you are back this way. We have several projects in the works for this winter, which include the renovation of 25 rooms, lobby area and a totally refurbished meeting room. As I mentioned-we work extremely hard to stay competitive with the larger, more expensive porperties.Thank you again for the feedback. Have a great holiday season.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I have been coming to Gettysburg for three years. But this is our first time staying at the 1863. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The breakfast offered is nice but the usual stuff you find at other hotel breakfast. We are very satisfied and will be staying here again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your liking. Please stop back to see us again. It would be our pleasure. Have a wonderful Holiday season.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We visited Gettysburg for a brief visit - only one night - and stayed here.......and were very pleased that we did......it is located in the perfect spot....you can leave the hotel and walk about the town, browse in the shops, just great.....The Inn itself was great-our room was roomy, clean and comfortable......we faced the street and I loved that-actually saw a Halloween Parade up the street and ran down to watch it.....the breakfast was better than continental but only average, however, more than enough offerings so there is something for everyone.....the lobby is decorated in a homey, warm, welcoming style......couch and chairs around the fire place! Work was being done with carpeting which tells us they are on top of things......we would recommend it and we go back! The staff was pleasant......Because it was oct. we did not use the pool but looked over that pool area and found it to be very inviting for the warm months....

Room Tip: our room faced the front and I loved that because I love to see what is going on and the town is lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit. October is a great month to see Gettysburg. And thank you for noticing the improvements being done throughout the hotel. We work very hard to keep the property looking fresh and clean. This winter we will be renovating 25 rooms and we are in the process of redoing one of our meeting facilities. We hope that you will come back next year to see us. It would be our pleasure! Thank you again for the review. We certainly appreciate it. Have a wonderful holiday season.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Fairfield, CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We just got back from our 3 day trip to Gettysburg and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The 1863 Inn was clean and comfortable, in a great location with plenty of parking, and offered a good breakfast with a nice variety of choices for breakfast (included in the room rate). Our only minor complaint was the mattress which seemed too soft for our tastes. The Inn is located just south of the main square of Gettysburg, about a 5 minute walk away, and right near many of the shops, restaurants and commercial museums in the southern part of town. The Inn is just north of the Cemetery (a short walk) and a quick drive to the Visitor's Center.

I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are glad that you found your room to be clean and well appointed. I do apologize for the mattress. It is a challenge to find mattresses that are comfortable for everyone. We try to purchase a brand that is somewhere in he middle-not too hard-not too soft. We are going to be renovating 23 rooms this winter. That project includes new mattresses. We hope you will come back to see us. Thank you again for the review. See you soon.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1863 Inn of Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Address: 516 Baltimore St., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1863 Inn of Gettysburg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 story Colonial style Hotel with exterior entrances.110 rooms equipped with hair dryers,irons and ironing boards,coffee makers,Free wired hi-speed internet service. Free breakfast for registered Hotel guests. Within walking distance to most major attractions. Gettysburg National Military Park Visitors Center-1 mile. Gettysburg Battlefield Bus Tour Center-next door. Ghost Walk Tours near by. Located 5 blocks from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your 1863 Inn of Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1863 Inn Of Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.