We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Little Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Save Saved
You added 1863 Inn of Gettysburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   516 Baltimore St., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Sale
Ranked #15 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Nice Little Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I have been coming to Gettysburg for three years. But this is our first time staying at the 1863. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The breakfast offered is nice but the usual stuff you find at other hotel breakfast. We are very satisfied and will be staying here again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your liking. Please stop back to see us again. It would be our pleasure. Have a wonderful Holiday season.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    148
    63
    27
    6
See reviews for
148
167
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers, New York
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We visited Gettysburg for a brief visit - only one night - and stayed here.......and were very pleased that we did......it is located in the perfect spot....you can leave the hotel and walk about the town, browse in the shops, just great.....The Inn itself was great-our room was roomy, clean and comfortable......we faced the street and I loved that-actually saw a Halloween Parade up the street and ran down to watch it.....the breakfast was better than continental but only average, however, more than enough offerings so there is something for everyone.....the lobby is decorated in a homey, warm, welcoming style......couch and chairs around the fire place! Work was being done with carpeting which tells us they are on top of things......we would recommend it and we go back! The staff was pleasant......Because it was oct. we did not use the pool but looked over that pool area and found it to be very inviting for the warm months....

Room Tip: our room faced the front and I loved that because I love to see what is going on and the town is lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit. October is a great month to see Gettysburg. And thank you for noticing the improvements being done throughout the hotel. We work very hard to keep the property looking fresh and clean. This winter we will be renovating 25 rooms and we are in the process of redoing one of our meeting facilities. We hope that you will come back next year to see us. It would be our pleasure! Thank you again for the review. We certainly appreciate it. Have a wonderful holiday season.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Fairfield, CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We just got back from our 3 day trip to Gettysburg and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The 1863 Inn was clean and comfortable, in a great location with plenty of parking, and offered a good breakfast with a nice variety of choices for breakfast (included in the room rate). Our only minor complaint was the mattress which seemed too soft for our tastes. The Inn is located just south of the main square of Gettysburg, about a 5 minute walk away, and right near many of the shops, restaurants and commercial museums in the southern part of town. The Inn is just north of the Cemetery (a short walk) and a quick drive to the Visitor's Center.

I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are glad that you found your room to be clean and well appointed. I do apologize for the mattress. It is a challenge to find mattresses that are comfortable for everyone. We try to purchase a brand that is somewhere in he middle-not too hard-not too soft. We are going to be renovating 23 rooms this winter. That project includes new mattresses. We hope you will come back to see us. Thank you again for the review. See you soon.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our friends picked the hotel... seemed like a nice place, easy to find, plenty of parking. We were on the top floor back, it was not loud. Front door was locked when we came back late- front desk lady buzzed us right in.

Room Tip: rooms out back overlook the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your visit with us. We are glad that you found everything to be clean and comfortable. We hope that you will consider the 1863 Inn of Gettysburg for any future lodging needs. It would be our pleasure. Thank you again for the review. We appreciate it!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiltonsville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Always stay at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg. It is one of the nicest and best run properties I have ever stayed, possibly the best. The rooms are spotless and you can see the attention to the details that most properties don't. In the summer months, a great pool. It is like coming home for a visit. Most of the front desk staff know you when you return. Obviously a well managed property and they carry the excellent service in all departments. Great breakfast, comfortable beds and updated non smoking rooms. You WILL NOT go wrong here. If you would find anything not to your liking they are right on it. So until next time, goodbye, until we come "home" again.

Room Tip: They always accommodate your request. I like the back by the parking. It is quiet, well lit and cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
We are so happy that you consider the 1863 Inn your home away from home! Thank you so much for the wonderful comments. We hope that you will continue to make the 1863 Inn your "Gettysburg Address!" Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

While this is obviously an older hotel, the rooms are scrupulously clean, the personnel knowledgeable and friendly and the included breakfast is great. And, did I mention it is the best location in Gettysburg. Walking distance to most of the town. We will definitely return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you so much for the review. We certainly appreciate it. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and found everything to be to your liking. You are correct-the hotel is not new but our rooms are clean and we offer all the amenities that the newer hotels offer. Our staff does an excellent job at keeping the property ship shape! It may be an oldie but it's a goodie! :) Thank you again for the great review. Please come back to see us. It would be our pleasure!!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Looked for a nice hotel with easy access to downtown (but not downtown prices). Within walking distance of nearly everything, especially souvenir shops, National Cemetery and ghost tours (if you're into that sort of thing). Clean rooms, simple but welcome complimentary breakfast. Very pleasant staff.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay a the 1863 Inn of Gettysburg. We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We hope that you will come back to see us again. It would be our pleasure!!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 1863 Inn of Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Address: 516 Baltimore St., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1863 Inn of Gettysburg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 story Colonial style Hotel with exterior entrances.110 rooms equipped with hair dryers,irons and ironing boards,coffee makers,Free wired hi-speed internet service. Free breakfast for registered Hotel guests. Within walking distance to most major attractions. Gettysburg National Military Park Visitors Center-1 mile. Gettysburg Battlefield Bus Tour Center-next door. Ghost Walk Tours near by. Located 5 blocks from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your 1863 Inn of Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1863 Inn Of Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.