We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Accomodations, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Save Saved
You added 1863 Inn of Gettysburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   516 Baltimore St., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
New Fairfield, CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice Accomodations, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We just got back from our 3 day trip to Gettysburg and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The 1863 Inn was clean and comfortable, in a great location with plenty of parking, and offered a good breakfast with a nice variety of choices for breakfast (included in the room rate). Our only minor complaint was the mattress which seemed too soft for our tastes. The Inn is located just south of the main square of Gettysburg, about a 5 minute walk away, and right near many of the shops, restaurants and commercial museums in the southern part of town. The Inn is just north of the Cemetery (a short walk) and a quick drive to the Visitor's Center.

I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are glad that you found your room to be clean and well appointed. I do apologize for the mattress. It is a challenge to find mattresses that are comfortable for everyone. We try to purchase a brand that is somewhere in he middle-not too hard-not too soft. We are going to be renovating 23 rooms this winter. That project includes new mattresses. We hope you will come back to see us. Thank you again for the review. See you soon.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    160
    68
    27
    6
See reviews for
161
181
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our friends picked the hotel... seemed like a nice place, easy to find, plenty of parking. We were on the top floor back, it was not loud. Front door was locked when we came back late- front desk lady buzzed us right in.

Room Tip: rooms out back overlook the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your visit with us. We are glad that you found everything to be clean and comfortable. We hope that you will consider the 1863 Inn of Gettysburg for any future lodging needs. It would be our pleasure. Thank you again for the review. We appreciate it!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiltonsville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Always stay at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg. It is one of the nicest and best run properties I have ever stayed, possibly the best. The rooms are spotless and you can see the attention to the details that most properties don't. In the summer months, a great pool. It is like coming home for a visit. Most of the front desk staff know you when you return. Obviously a well managed property and they carry the excellent service in all departments. Great breakfast, comfortable beds and updated non smoking rooms. You WILL NOT go wrong here. If you would find anything not to your liking they are right on it. So until next time, goodbye, until we come "home" again.

Room Tip: They always accommodate your request. I like the back by the parking. It is quiet, well lit and cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
We are so happy that you consider the 1863 Inn your home away from home! Thank you so much for the wonderful comments. We hope that you will continue to make the 1863 Inn your "Gettysburg Address!" Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

While this is obviously an older hotel, the rooms are scrupulously clean, the personnel knowledgeable and friendly and the included breakfast is great. And, did I mention it is the best location in Gettysburg. Walking distance to most of the town. We will definitely return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you so much for the review. We certainly appreciate it. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and found everything to be to your liking. You are correct-the hotel is not new but our rooms are clean and we offer all the amenities that the newer hotels offer. Our staff does an excellent job at keeping the property ship shape! It may be an oldie but it's a goodie! :) Thank you again for the great review. Please come back to see us. It would be our pleasure!!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Looked for a nice hotel with easy access to downtown (but not downtown prices). Within walking distance of nearly everything, especially souvenir shops, National Cemetery and ghost tours (if you're into that sort of thing). Clean rooms, simple but welcome complimentary breakfast. Very pleasant staff.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay a the 1863 Inn of Gettysburg. We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We hope that you will come back to see us again. It would be our pleasure!!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We just got back from an amazing stay in your hotel. The room was very nice and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful, our housekeeper even checked in with us one day when we got back to our room to see if we needed anything. I love the location it was nice to be able to park the car and walk to most everything. My son couldn't stop talking about how nice the room was and how he wants to stay here again when we come back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit with us. Thank you for posting such a wonderful review! We certainly appreciate the kind words. Please stop back to see us again. It would be our pleasure! See you next time!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms, complimentary breakfast that goes beyond the ordinary and located within walking distance to a majority of Gettysburg attractions. Loyaltty program is a nice bonus.

Room Tip: rooms on the street side have a common balcony that affords a nice view of downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! We are glad that you joined our Loyalty Program. It offers repeat guests a huge savings-our way of saying thank you for your loyalty to the 1863 Inn! Please come back and see us soon. And don't forget to use that Loyalty Card! Thanks again for the kind words! We appreciate it!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1863 Inn of Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Address: 516 Baltimore St., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#11 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 1863 Inn of Gettysburg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 story Colonial style Hotel with exterior entrances.110 rooms equipped with hair dryers,irons and ironing boards,coffee makers,Free wired hi-speed internet service. Free breakfast for registered Hotel guests. Within walking distance to most major attractions. Gettysburg National Military Park Visitors Center-1 mile. Gettysburg Battlefield Bus Tour Center-next door. Ghost Walk Tours near by. Located 5 blocks from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your 1863 Inn of Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1863 Inn Of Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.