We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog Welcoming and Super Location = A+” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Save Saved
You added 1863 Inn of Gettysburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   516 Baltimore St., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Last Minute Deal
Ranked #13 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Upstate NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Dog Welcoming and Super Location = A+”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Very happy we chose to stay here with our German Shepherd. Although there is a $20 pet fee per night and that can seem a bit steep, I have to say our room was spotless and I assume the cleaning fee is thus put to very good use! We were welcomed very kindly and found a cute welcome bag of dog treats in the room! Nice touch. The hotel is 100 percent smoke free, so no risk of being stuck with your dog in a smoky room. Great pool (though only open through Labor Day) and we thought the breakfast was just great. Stayed two nights on the weekend and both days had delicious biscuits and sausage gravy in a crockpot. Juices, coffees, pastry, cereals fruit, breakfast sandwiches to microwave, muffins, waffles and more. The location is perfect, within walking distance of SO many charming shops, restaurants and more. We literally found 5-7 restaurants with outdoor seating where our dog was welcome. This is a GREAT destination if you are traveling with your dog. We went to Dobbin House, Farnsworth House, O'Rorkes, and a Mexican restaurant off the square as well as Tommy's pizza with a few outdoor tables. There are MANY more so if traveling with a dog you'll not go hungry. We were able to take the dog on ranger led walks in the park, and all over the battlefields. As well, you can join in Ghost Walk Tours as well,, so you won't feel 'hindered' at all while on vacation with your dog. The Harley Davidson shop also let us bring the dog inside while we browsed and even offered him treats. The hotel as well as all of Gettysburg was very welcoming. Stay at 1863 Inn!! The pet policy is strict (you have to sign a waiver that if any other guest checks out because of the behavior of your dog, you are liable for paying for their room!!) We like this policy as we felt it encourages responsible dog owners to bring well behaved dogs only. We saw a few other dogs and all were very well behaved, so even if you are not a dog lover, you will NOT be imposed upon. The rooms are of the 'motel' style, with access from the outside, so once your dog figures out (pretty quickly) that they can nose open the curtains and see outside you'll need to be sure you don't have a 'barker' type of dog -- I would imagine that would be a problem. Our guy was content to peek out and watch the goings on! That said, you do need to be extra vigilant to ensure quiet and privacy for other guests. There is a nice grassy area outside, and the hotel has provided a dog waste container there, so again, overall this is a hotel that has put a great deal of thought and care into their decision to accept pets. We will be back!!!

Room Tip: We were on the pool side, the hotel was PACKED and it was VERY quiet. I think I would have liked th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We do love our furry friends here at the 1863 Inn. You are correct-the pet fee is put to very good use. Every pet room is "deep" cleaned upon departure. This ensures that the next guest will never find any indication that the room ever had a pet in it. The housekeeping staff does an excellent job. We also keep track of what rooms did have a pet in them in case we get a request for a room that has not had a pet in it for quite sometime. Our rules may seem a bit strict but our system works. We want each guest to enjoy their visit. We are glad that you found your room to be clean and comfortable and that your furry friend enjoyed the treats! We hope that you will come see us again. You and your pup are always welcome! Thanks again for the great review. We certainly appreciate it!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    159
    65
    27
    6
See reviews for
158
178
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bridgeville, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Although we have lived closer to Gettysburg in the past and never took the opportunity to visit, we recently decided to make a visit over three hours from our current residence. And, we had a great time! The 1863 Inn is perfectly located in the middle of Gettysburg. Our room was very clean and well appointed. The front desk staff were very knowledgeable regarding the sites, restaurants and suggestions helpful to our stay. Not only have we decided to revisit Gettysburg, we will certainly stay at the 1863 Inn.

Room Tip: Front rooms are noisy due to street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you so much for telling us about your stay. We are glad that you found everything to be clean and comfortable. Our staff works very hard to make sure that all of our guests enjoy their visit. We want them to come back time after time. Hopefully you will be able to get away and come back to see us again. It would be our pleasure. Thank you for the review. We appreciate it.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel is in a great location but our room faced the major street. You can hear a lot of people talking and car/bus /motorcycle noise. The room was small but the bathroom was large with a lot of counter space. The free breakfast was disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask to have your room on the opposite side - away from the street. Hopefully that will help with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your visit. We are sorry if your room was a bit noisy. We are on a main street and it can be a tad loud at times. We wish you would have let the front desk know that you were not happy with the room location. We would have been happy to change you to a room in the back of the building but we were not aware of the problem. I truly do not know how folks deal with the noise of a big city. Our noise is minimal compared to that of a large city. As for the size of our rooms-actually they are larger than most with plenty of room. The breakfast has a wide selection of items. We try to offer something for everyone and it is FREE. There are many full service restaurants within walking distance of the hotel for those that are looking for a full menu. We had no record of any of these issues being brought to our attention while you were at the hotel. There is always someone on duty 24/7 to help with any issues you may have. We want all of our guests to have an enjoyable stay but cannot deal with an issue unless we are made aware of one. For future reference, please contact the front desk if you have a concern, no matter where you stay.

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our dog friendly hotel room was very clean. The carpets, sheets, blankets, etc. The staff is very friendly and quite helpful. The hotel is next door to the Jennie Wade House and across the street from the Museums. The Battlefield is not even a half block away. Big outdoor pool with tables and lounge chairs. I would definitely recommend staying here if you are planning a visit to Gettysburg.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us how much you enjoyed your stay. We are glad that you found everything to be to your liking. Our rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The location can't be beat! We hope that will come back to see us again. We appreciate the wonderful review. We love knowing that we had another happy visitor! See you next time.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

What a great place to stay ! Right in the middle of the town. Walk only steps to get to restaurants, shops or tours. The staff were wonderful in every aspect. The beds were great and the shower was perfect. The towels and amenities were first class. The pool was wonderful with entry steps across the entire shallow end for ease of entry for children or senior citizens.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for posting such a wonderful review. We are very proud of this hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff is great. They really do know how to make our guests feel welcome. We hope that you will come visit us again. It would be our pleasure. Thank you for choosing the 1863 Inn of Gettysburg.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopelawn, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Spent 5 nights in this hotel (was a Holiday Inn back in the 70's when I went as a kid) in July. Excellent location! Within walking distance of attractions, restaurants and shops. Rooms were big, clean and comfy and bathroom was modern. Large outdoor pool. Elevator. Hotel staff were very nice. The only down side was the free breakfast, coffee, yogurt, pastries just ok, hot offerings were frozen breakfast sandwiches heated in the microwave...very rubbery! I think this is run by an outside company (not the hotel).

Room Tip: Half the rooms that face the street and the other the rear (pool). We stayed facing the back. The st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for telling about your visit. We decided to leave the Holiday Inn franchise in 2009 and have never looked back! We still offer our guests all the amenities that the franchise hotels offer. Each spacious room is equipped with an iron and ironing board-hair dryer-coffee maker and free internet service. Our outdoor pool is always a great way to cool off during the summer. And of course you can't beat the location of the hotel! We are sorry that you did not enjoy the free breakfast. We try our best to offer something for everyone and make it as quick and easy as possible for folks that have their days planned with the many activities available in the area. We do hope that you will visit us if you are back this way. Gettysburg is such a beautiful town. Thank you again for the review. We appreciate the feedback.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is perfect for your stay in Gettysburg. Location- I've stayed on both the square & battlefield ends of Baltimore St. I like this location best. Walk across the street to battlefield, National Cemetery, shops, restaurants, and the ghost tours. Ask for a room in the front to watch the ghost tours that walk by the hotel & hustle of the shops. Bring your chairs. We stayed in rm 410, perfect & thxs to hotel staff for being so accommodating. Nice pool for kids, want to stay in back if small kids. Rooms are clean & practical. Staff is very helpful with directions. Is pet friendly but will check last time pet was in your room. I am picky, saw no signs of dog or even saw any while there. The hotel was sold out when we were there. Standard continental breakfast but full service restaurant right across the street if you must have eggs like me.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for the taking the time to post a review. We certainly are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. The location of the hotel is great! Everything is located within walking distance. We hope that you will come back to see us if you are back this way. Thank you again for letting us know that we played a part in making your trip an enjoyable one! Hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1863 Inn of Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Address: 516 Baltimore St., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1863 Inn of Gettysburg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 story Colonial style Hotel with exterior entrances.110 rooms equipped with hair dryers,irons and ironing boards,coffee makers,Free wired hi-speed internet service. Free breakfast for registered Hotel guests. Within walking distance to most major attractions. Gettysburg National Military Park Visitors Center-1 mile. Gettysburg Battlefield Bus Tour Center-next door. Ghost Walk Tours near by. Located 5 blocks from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your 1863 Inn of Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1863 Inn Of Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.