We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Save Saved
You added 1863 Inn of Gettysburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   516 Baltimore St., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Sale
Ranked #15 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Comfortable hotel that is well situated at the edge of town by the battlefield. Staff were courteous and informative. It is an easy walk to locations in town. Saw young families enjoying the large pool. Nice family hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for posting a review regarding your stay with us. We hope you had an enjoyable visit. The location of the hotel is wonderful. Most of the main attractions are within walking distance. We provide a clean, comfortable room with a friendly staff to assist you during your stay.We hope that you will visit us again if you return to Gettysburg. It would be our pleasure.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    147
    63
    27
    6
See reviews for
148
166
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here in May of 2013. We would have probably stayed at one of your chain hotels but do to the anniversary this year everything was booked solid. The overall property was quite nice.
The rooms were very nice and the location was right down town within walking distance of many things. The place was a bit pricey but dvden the Super 8 was double what you would expect to normally pay due to price gouging for the anniversary. Breakfast was average at best.
At $90 it would have rated much higher in my rating but at $150 a night it was definitely over priced.

Room Tip: Come in the Fall and don't pay over $90
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your stay in May. Our rates were a bit higher this year because of the special events in town but they are still very reasonable and right in line with the other properties in town. We are glad to hear that your room was comfortable and clean. The staff does an excellent job here. We hope that you will stop to see us again. Gettysburg is beautiful no matter what time of the year but if you are looking for a time when it isn't as busy and the rates are a tad better Fall is your best bet. The Battlefield is gorgeous that time year! We often run specials during the year which offer some wonderful savings. If you visit our web site you will find some great deals! We also have our "Loyalty" Program for repeat visitors. You can't beat that rate! For information on our special rate deals please feel free to call the hotel direct on our toll free number-1-866-953-4483. Thank you again for the review. We appreciate it!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Ideal location with small shops all around. Ghost tours and battlefield tours are all within short walking distance. The breakfast buffet was great, something for everyone. The staff was friendly, accommodating and so helpful when we had questions. For all the smokers' like myself, there is an outdoor smoking area on every floor.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the street, so that you can watch the different tours walk by. The guides are all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please stop to see us if you have the opportunity to come back this way. It would be our pleasure. Thank you again for the kind words! We certainly appreciate hearing that we have another happy visitor! Have a great Summer.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We detoured through Gettysburg on our drive through Pennsylvania and after searching through the myriad of B&B's (both full and expensive) ended up on the doorstep of the 1863 Inn. The room was spacious, and being on the top floor, we got a great view of the town. It is also situated close to the battlefields and within walking distance of the city center. I was well pleased with our stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your stay. We are glad that you enjlyed your visit and found everything to be satisfactory. We hope that you will come back to see us soon! Thanks again for the great review! We appreciate it!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Inn is very nice. The staff is friendly and helpful. The Continental Breakfast was first rate including Hot foods, cereal, fresh fruit and an assortment of juices and breakfast drinks (including Hot Chocolate). The room was certainly adequate in size to suit a family of four and the views from the 5th floor balcony were entertaining to say the least. The view of the Sunrise over Eastern Cemetery Hill was simply beautiful.
There were a few things I would have to take issue with though. WIFI on the 5th floor was problematic at best. Yes. There was one hard wire data line to the room but that only solved the problem for one of the two laptops and it didn't do anything for my son's I phone. To add insult to injury the data service was discontinued at around 5:00 in the morning on the day of checkout although checkout time was 11:00.
My only other issue would be that the fitted sheets on both beds popped off every night.
All in all though the good certainly outweighed the bad and we had a very satisfying stay at the Inn. I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any one of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for posting a review regarding your visit with us. I do apologize for the issue with the internet service. The hotel is poured concrete and the connection can be tricky at times. That is why we provide both wired and wireless service to our guests. During your stay there was a major outage in our area therefore the interrupted service. I will also have the Executive Housekeeper take a look at the fitted sheets. I know that can be very annoying and should not have happened. I am glad that you found the room to be clean and the staff to be friendly and helpful. I hope that you will come back to see us again if you have the opportunity to visit Gettysburg in the future. It would be our pleasure!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our first stay at this hotel and we had a great time. Room was clean. Staff was friendly. My daughter loved the pool and I loved the sausage gravy and biscuits for breakfast before heading out to tour the battlefield. Thought the location was perfect since my family wasn't spending as much time on the battlefield as me. It was easy to drop them off and get back out to any part of the field. Also, great location for just going out in the evening and walking the town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit. We are glad that you and your family had an enjoyable stay and found the room to be clean and comfortable and the staff friendly. We hope that you will come back to see us again! Have a great Summer!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Very quiet hotel in a nice area of town. Everything is right there close within walking distance. Staff was super friendly and helpful. Very pet friendly with a huge area to walk them in the back of the hotel. However, the only downfall is, the pet area could have used a little more light. Those late night walks were a little bit creepy. All in all a great hotel and a wonderful location.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit with us. The hotel is in a wonderful area-so close to all of the attractions. Our rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff is friendly and helpful. We hope you will join us again if you are ever back this way. It would be our pleasure. Thank you for the wonderful review! We certainly appreciate it. Have a great Summer!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 1863 Inn of Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Address: 516 Baltimore St., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1863 Inn of Gettysburg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 story Colonial style Hotel with exterior entrances.110 rooms equipped with hair dryers,irons and ironing boards,coffee makers,Free wired hi-speed internet service. Free breakfast for registered Hotel guests. Within walking distance to most major attractions. Gettysburg National Military Park Visitors Center-1 mile. Gettysburg Battlefield Bus Tour Center-next door. Ghost Walk Tours near by. Located 5 blocks from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your 1863 Inn of Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1863 Inn Of Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.