We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added 1863 Inn of Gettysburg to your Saves list
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   516 Baltimore St., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter Special
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
kingston, ny
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We spent three nights here and we were very satisfied. The property isn't new but seems to be well maintained. Our room was large and very clean. The room rate was reasonable and the complimentary breakfast was more than adequate. My husband had sausage gravy with biscuits all three mornings! The hotel is walking distance to restaurants and gift shops and there is a mini mart across the street. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your visit. We are glad that you enjoyed it. Our staff does a wonderful job. Our rooms are well appointed, clean and comfortable. The Free "Rise and Shine" Breakfast has a very nice variety of items. You certainly cannot beat the location of the hotel. Everything within walking distance. We hope that you will stop to see us on your next trip to Gettysburg. It would be our pleasure! Thank you again for the review.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    169
    69
    27
    6
See reviews for
170
195
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed two nights here. The location couldn't have been better, it was so central, that we didn't have to use to use the car at all. Less than 100 yards from the battlefields.
The room was large, very clean and reasonably priced. Breakfast was included. we were in the annex by the swimming pool. Our only complaint was the walls were a bit thin!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for the review on your recent visit with us. We are glad that you enjoyed it. The location of the hotel is wonderful. Most of the attractions are within walking distance. Hopefully you will join us again if you have the opportunity to come back to our beautiful little town. It would be our pleasure. Have a wonderful Summer!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were very happy with our stay at the 1863 Inn of Gettysburg! We only came in for one night because we wanted to pay a visit to Gettysburg College. The hotel was pet friendly, which was a must because we had our Catahoula dog with us. They only required a $20.00 fee per night for the dog. The room was clean and welcoming. There was a nice grassy area near the hotel to walk the dog. A complimentary hot breakfast was provided for the guests. Though the coffee was a little burnt, and the apple juice was a little watery, we were very impressed with our stay! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your visit. We were happy to hear that you found your room to be clean and comfortable. I do apologize for the coffee and the apple juice. I will check both machines to see if there is an issue. We hope that you will come see us again if you are ever back this way. Have a great Summer! And thank you again for the review!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellsboro, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel is in the heart of downtown Gettysburg. Very friendly helpful staff. Super clean. Awesome breakfast. You can walk to everything. We did not use the pool, but it looked very nice. After checking out they let us stay parked in their parking lot so we could finish our excursions before we left Gettysburg. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope that you will stop in to see us again if you have the opportunity to return to our beautiful little town. Thank you again for the wonderful review. We certainly appreciate it!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is a very clean hotel; staff very hospitable; breakfast enjoyable; and priced right for a stay in Gettysburg. The location is excellent within walking distance of many places worthy to visit in Gettysburg.

Room Tip: We stayed in the back of the hotel and it was very quite and enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Please come back and see us again! It would be our pleasure. Have a great Summer!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This place is great if you are passing through Gettysburg, but not my thing for more than two nights. The loction and price were very good for the rooms you received, however, the hotel lacked attention to detail. While my room was very clean there were things that needed fixing, such as the carpet to the bathroom was frayed and had a tack sticking out of it, the electrical plug on the desk didn't work, and the bed was super sqweaky. Again, nothing major, but for those of you who may be anal retentive like I can be, a multi day stay with these types of annoyance might bother you, but for others may be just fine. There was a nice sized fridge that kept everything cold. The bed was a bit firm and so were the pillows, so if you are prone to a sore back be forewarned. The staff was very warm, friendly, and helpful. Parking was ample. Wifi had a quick connetion and it was easy to stream.

Room Tip: Given the hotels close proximity to the road, suggest getting a pool view in the back for less noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for the review. I hope you enjoyed your visit. I do apologize for the issues you mentioned. I have discussed them with the maintenance staff and they are being addressed. I have checked the Front Desk Log and found no mention of any problems. Please don't hesitate to bring any issues to our attention if you decide to visit with us again. Our goal is to provide each guest with a clean, comfortable room. Thank you again for the review. We use this information to improve our service. Have a wonderful Summer!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We loved this hotel. The location was perfect, an easy walk to restaurants, and down town Gettysburg. We could also walk to the National Cemetery. It was a short drive to the Battlefield Visitor Center. The complimentary breakfast was very good and served in a spotlessly clean dining area. The entire staff was friendly and knowledgeable of the area. It was great to meet desk clerks who really seemed to love their job. The rooms were comfortable and very clean. We also appreciated the refrigerator which made it convenient to pack picnic lunches for our days on the battlefield. Bring an ethernet cable for free internet in your room or enjoy the free wifi in the comfortable lobby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed you visit and found the hotel to be clean and comfortable and the staff helpful. We hope that you will come back to see us soon. Gettysburg is such a beautiful little town and there is so much to see and do. Have a great Summer and thank you again for the kind words! We certainly appreciate it!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1863 Inn of Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Address: 516 Baltimore St., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 1863 Inn of Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 story Colonial style Hotel with exterior entrances.110 rooms equipped with hair dryers,irons and ironing boards,coffee makers,Free wired hi-speed internet service. Free breakfast for registered Hotel guests. Within walking distance to most major attractions. Gettysburg National Military Park Visitors Center-1 mile. Gettysburg Battlefield Bus Tour Center-next door. Ghost Walk Tours near by. Located 5 blocks from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your 1863 Inn of Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1863 Inn Of Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.