We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added 1863 Inn of Gettysburg to your Saves list
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   516 Baltimore St., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Linthicum Heights, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My daughter and I were on a mother/daughter junket mid April as a pre-18th birthday and graduation celebration. Our intention was just spend two days in Gettysburg. We reluctantly checked out of our superior B&B! After a discussion over breakfast at a local diner, we couldn't resist spending just one more day! We just HAD to see the cemetery, the Jenny Wade house/museum and most notably, the Battlefield at night.

Our B&B was phenomenal, however, we felt that we needed to be closer to our points and do it economically since really, it was just one more night and just wanted a comfortable, convenient place to "rest our heads." We chose well with 1863.

Location, location, location! Can't get any better! We had spent a significant amount of time in this general area anyway. Spontaneously, we walked in, was warmly greeted and accommodated. We were asked if we had a room location preference. I said not really. We were on the 5th floor street side. Actually, I was quite happy about this. We LOVED the elevated view of Gettysburg. Took lots of pictures. We loved watching the activity on Steinwehr Ave. It was a bonus that the Jenny Wade house/museum(not her birth house) was literally next door! The cemetery was within walking distance. A fantastic restaurant right across the street (O'Rourke's.) A 3 minute ride to the Battlefield. It was great!

The room was very nice, clean, and comfortable. My daughter was actually quite happy! 2 spacious, comfy beds with plenty of pillows, television right in the middle and a mini fridge. Life's Good! Privacy? plenty. Noise? We weren't concerned. We were gallivanting not long after we checked in! Visited the Wade museum, Soldier's Cemetery, all the shops on Steinwehr Ave., supped at O'Rourke's and then prepped for our night visit to the Battlefield. Upon our return, we relaxed in our comfortable room and drifted fast asleep.

I'm an early riser as rule. My daughter is not. I was rousing her early over the last couple of days. I decided to let her sleep in. I was looking forward to breakfast and coffee. I noticed a lack of electrical "hums." Apparently there was a significant power outage, through no fault of the hotel. It actually was wide spread all the way to Westminster, MD. I went downstairs and they still had hot coffee! (generator) The hotel staff was quite accommodating and their disposition was not of panic or indifference, but of friendly assistance. I even received a phone call later that morning explaining the status. They offered assistance to carry our bags because we were on the 5th floor and the elevators weren't working. I declined, but it was very, very nice! Despite the lack of power, our checkout was smooth and they did send me my receipt. Very nice. Thank you.

Room Tip: We loved the top floor! Great bird's eye view for "shutter flys" and people watchers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are glad that you enjoyed your extra night at the 1863 Inn! I am sorry about the power outage. It was wide spread and a very unpleasant surprise. I am glad to hear that the staff put to use the emergency procedures that we have in place for such events. They are a great bunch of folks. We are very lucky to have them! Please stop back to see us again. Maybe the next time there won't be any surprises with the power.:) Thank you again for the kind words. We certainly appreciate it.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    184
    78
    28
    7
See reviews for
187
210
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was our second visit and the very reason we chose to stay here again is due to the great location and the quality of the hotel. The rooms are clean, bed's comfortable and you do not hear noises from other rooms. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are bothered by traffic noise you need to request a room on the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us how much you enjoyed your visit. Our location is wonderful-just park the car and walk to most of the attractions. I am glad that you found the room to be clean and comfortable. I hope that you will visit with us again if you are back this way. It would be our pleasure!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
Gneral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay so much last year, we booked for this year right after we got back. Of course, we needed to do that, what with this year's big celebration! We enjoyed the big selection at the free breakfast, and we especially like the central location....which will DEFINITELY come in handy this year!! :)

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are glad to hear that you will be back. This year will be very excitiing with the 150th events. The hotel is in a perfect location to just park the car and walk to the attractions. We look foward to your next visit! Thank you for your loyalty!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Perfect location right on baltimore rd. Walking distance to everything. Nothing fancy, just right. The rooms are comfortable, beds and pillows plentiful and soft. Breakfast is included and there is a lot to choose from. Breakfast lady was constantly restocking things, so there is plenty. Lots of seating for breakfast too and it is open til 10, which is nice for those who like to sleep in a bit. . Lobby is cozy, hospitality room and catered dinner was great. Everything is clean, staff is helpful and friendly, tv is new and large. We enjoyed everything about 1863 Inn and we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We stayed on back side, nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit! The 1863 Inn provides each guest with a clean, comfortable, well appointed room at a resonable rate. We have a wonderful staff that will do what ever they can to make sure our visitors have a great experience. We hope that you will stop to see us again if you are in back this way. It would be our pleasure!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Reasonably priced, very clean and close to all the attractions!!! It was walking distance to all our favorite restaurants, like Dobbin House and Farnsworth Inn . Also shopping was very near and gas station right across the street. How could you get any better than that?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay! We are glad that you found the room to be clean and comfortable. You are right-the location of the 1863 Inn is perfect! Park your car and walk to most of the major attractions. We hope that you will visit us in the future. Thank you again for the wonderful review. See you next time!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh pa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

stayed 2 nights this weekend , was in Gettysburg for a wedding , also had the wedding luncheon here . Great Food , nice staff , clean room . Location is great , next to cemetery , east cemetery hill part of battlefield , walk to shopping , attractions , resturants !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found everything to be clean and comfortable. We have a great staff here at the hotel and they will be happy to hear that you were pleased! We hope that you will visit with us again if you are back this way. Thank you again for the review! We certainly appreciate it!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at 1863 twice now both times, we have stayed at another hotel that was a little cheaper but we will only stay at 1863 from now on. The staff at 1863 was great when I made my reservations I could not faint my loyalty card and the number was not in the computer the person I was speaking to made the reservation and said not to worry she would go back through the paperwork and find it by the time we arrived. Romms are very spacious and clean and updated recently . Breakfast was great many choices and types, on our last visit I was told the lady who usually runs the breakfast room was involved in an accident my whole family hopes she is OK. The only problem we did have was we could not access the WiFi with our phones but that might just be our phones not a real problem. Thank you for two wonderful visits we will see you again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoy your visits with us. And thank you for inquiring about our Breakfast Room Attendant. She actually stopped in to see us today and she is on the mend. We will be sure to tell her that you asked about her. She is a very special person and we are lucky to have her here. We are proud of all of our staff. They take pride in their jobs and it shows. Thank you again for the kind words and thank you for your Loyalty to the 1863 Inn. We certainly appreciate it! We look forward to your next visit. Take care.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to 1863 Inn of Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Address: 516 Baltimore St., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1863 Inn of Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 story Colonial style Hotel with exterior entrances.110 rooms equipped with hair dryers,irons and ironing boards,coffee makers,Free wired hi-speed internet service. Free breakfast for registered Hotel guests. Within walking distance to most major attractions. Gettysburg National Military Park Visitors Center-1 mile. Gettysburg Battlefield Bus Tour Center-next door. Ghost Walk Tours near by. Located 5 blocks from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your 1863 Inn of Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1863 Inn Of Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.