We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place right in town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added 1863 Inn of Gettysburg to your Saves list
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   516 Baltimore St., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Warren, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place right in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Perfect location right on baltimore rd. Walking distance to everything. Nothing fancy, just right. The rooms are comfortable, beds and pillows plentiful and soft. Breakfast is included and there is a lot to choose from. Breakfast lady was constantly restocking things, so there is plenty. Lots of seating for breakfast too and it is open til 10, which is nice for those who like to sleep in a bit. . Lobby is cozy, hospitality room and catered dinner was great. Everything is clean, staff is helpful and friendly, tv is new and large. We enjoyed everything about 1863 Inn and we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We stayed on back side, nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit! The 1863 Inn provides each guest with a clean, comfortable, well appointed room at a resonable rate. We have a wonderful staff that will do what ever they can to make sure our visitors have a great experience. We hope that you will stop to see us again if you are in back this way. It would be our pleasure!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    170
    71
    28
    7
See reviews for
173
197
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Reasonably priced, very clean and close to all the attractions!!! It was walking distance to all our favorite restaurants, like Dobbin House and Farnsworth Inn . Also shopping was very near and gas station right across the street. How could you get any better than that?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay! We are glad that you found the room to be clean and comfortable. You are right-the location of the 1863 Inn is perfect! Park your car and walk to most of the major attractions. We hope that you will visit us in the future. Thank you again for the wonderful review. See you next time!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh pa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

stayed 2 nights this weekend , was in Gettysburg for a wedding , also had the wedding luncheon here . Great Food , nice staff , clean room . Location is great , next to cemetery , east cemetery hill part of battlefield , walk to shopping , attractions , resturants !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found everything to be clean and comfortable. We have a great staff here at the hotel and they will be happy to hear that you were pleased! We hope that you will visit with us again if you are back this way. Thank you again for the review! We certainly appreciate it!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at 1863 twice now both times, we have stayed at another hotel that was a little cheaper but we will only stay at 1863 from now on. The staff at 1863 was great when I made my reservations I could not faint my loyalty card and the number was not in the computer the person I was speaking to made the reservation and said not to worry she would go back through the paperwork and find it by the time we arrived. Romms are very spacious and clean and updated recently . Breakfast was great many choices and types, on our last visit I was told the lady who usually runs the breakfast room was involved in an accident my whole family hopes she is OK. The only problem we did have was we could not access the WiFi with our phones but that might just be our phones not a real problem. Thank you for two wonderful visits we will see you again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoy your visits with us. And thank you for inquiring about our Breakfast Room Attendant. She actually stopped in to see us today and she is on the mend. We will be sure to tell her that you asked about her. She is a very special person and we are lucky to have her here. We are proud of all of our staff. They take pride in their jobs and it shows. Thank you again for the kind words and thank you for your Loyalty to the 1863 Inn. We certainly appreciate it! We look forward to your next visit. Take care.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastern pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We've stayed at the 1863 Inn now for our last several visits to Gettysburg as a more economical alternative to the B&B's, which we also like. Our rooms have always been clean & comfortable and have yet to be disappointed. We like the complimentary breakfast which is open 'till 10am; we like being close to Steinwher Ave, which is our favorite area for attractions like the battlefield, The Dobbin House Tavern and The Farnsworth House House Tavern(Sweney's Tavern); we also like the checkout time of 11am. We like best their loyalty program, which saves us 30% on all our stays. The only downside is that it can sometimes be noisy(get a room on the backside of the building) and because pets are allowed, we could sometimes detect the smell of dog(we don't dislike dogs, however). The beds could also be firmer, which seems to be an issue at just about all the Gettysburg hotels & B&B's we've stayed in.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor with a room on the backside of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit. We are glad that you enjoy your time at the 1863 Inn. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the rate is reasonable. We were also glad to hear that you enjoy the Free "Rise and Shine" Breakfast. It's a great way to start your day. The location of the hotel can't be beat! Most attractions are within walking distance-no need to worry about a parking space. Thank you again for the review. We appreciate your Loyalty! Please come back and see us soon.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington WV
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were given a room on the back side 2nd floor with the roof of the first floor as a view. Rain gathered on that roof made it smell moldy the entire time we were there. The sheets do not fit the beds. I wound up in knots trying to keep them straight. The maid's hair was everywhere. Long black hair stuck to the shower walls, on the bathroom counter, everywhere. We are not brunettes and the location of the hair was new every day so it had to be hers. Don't even mention that "Continental Breakfast". It was very stale microwave food - what appeared to be Eggos, small stale bagels, frozen Jimmy Dean biscuits, etc. I wouldn't trust it due to the hair issue in the room. We drove a few blocks to McDonald's to keep from eating it.
There is a Travel Lodge just up the street and several other hotels nearby. Try those first.

Room Tip: Stay on the street side of the hotel if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Our goal here at the 1863 Inn is to provide each visitor with an enjoyable experience. I am sorry if we fell short of that goal during your stay. There is no excuse for hair of any kind in the bathroom and that will be addressed with the housekeeping staff. I did some research and discovered that you were with us for 4 nights. It is unfortunate that you did not make any of your concerns known to the staff. We are always ready and willing to do everything we can to make our guests comfortable. As for the FREE Breakfast-we offer a wide selection. Most of the items on the Breakfast bar are name brand items and very tasty! I believe that the items offered at McDonalds are very similar to our items. But I also believe our selection is more extensive-hard boiled eggs-yogurt-cereal-waffles-french toast-sweet rolls-bagels-fresh fruit-mini omelettes-breakfast sandwiches and one of the most popular items-sausage gravy and biscuits!. It is quite the spread and it's quick and easy which folks love-more time to spend exploring Gettysburg! Again I apologize for any issues you may have encountered during your stay. I appreciate your comments and hope that you will visit us in the future.

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great hotel, great location! Many good restaurants and shops right in the hotel vicinity. Hotel is clean and is also pet friendly! Staff are friendly and always helpful. We will always stay here when visiting Gettysburg! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us how much you enjoyed your visit with us! We are glad that you found the room to be clean and comfortable and the staff helpful and friendly. That is our goal here at the 1863 Inn-to provide every guest with a clean comfortable room! It seems that we achieved that goal which makes us very happy! We hope that you will stop to see us again! You should consider joining our Loyalty Rewards Program for repeat guests-great savings with no black out dates! Thank you again for the wonderful review! See you next time!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1863 Inn of Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Address: 516 Baltimore St., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 1863 Inn of Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 story Colonial style Hotel with exterior entrances.110 rooms equipped with hair dryers,irons and ironing boards,coffee makers,Free wired hi-speed internet service. Free breakfast for registered Hotel guests. Within walking distance to most major attractions. Gettysburg National Military Park Visitors Center-1 mile. Gettysburg Battlefield Bus Tour Center-next door. Ghost Walk Tours near by. Located 5 blocks from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 1863 Inn of Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1863 Inn Of Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.