We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added 1863 Inn of Gettysburg to your Saves list
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   516 Baltimore St., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter Special
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Pittsburgh pa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

stayed 2 nights this weekend , was in Gettysburg for a wedding , also had the wedding luncheon here . Great Food , nice staff , clean room . Location is great , next to cemetery , east cemetery hill part of battlefield , walk to shopping , attractions , resturants !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found everything to be clean and comfortable. We have a great staff here at the hotel and they will be happy to hear that you were pleased! We hope that you will visit with us again if you are back this way. Thank you again for the review! We certainly appreciate it!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    169
    70
    27
    6
See reviews for
170
195
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at 1863 twice now both times, we have stayed at another hotel that was a little cheaper but we will only stay at 1863 from now on. The staff at 1863 was great when I made my reservations I could not faint my loyalty card and the number was not in the computer the person I was speaking to made the reservation and said not to worry she would go back through the paperwork and find it by the time we arrived. Romms are very spacious and clean and updated recently . Breakfast was great many choices and types, on our last visit I was told the lady who usually runs the breakfast room was involved in an accident my whole family hopes she is OK. The only problem we did have was we could not access the WiFi with our phones but that might just be our phones not a real problem. Thank you for two wonderful visits we will see you again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoy your visits with us. And thank you for inquiring about our Breakfast Room Attendant. She actually stopped in to see us today and she is on the mend. We will be sure to tell her that you asked about her. She is a very special person and we are lucky to have her here. We are proud of all of our staff. They take pride in their jobs and it shows. Thank you again for the kind words and thank you for your Loyalty to the 1863 Inn. We certainly appreciate it! We look forward to your next visit. Take care.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastern pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We've stayed at the 1863 Inn now for our last several visits to Gettysburg as a more economical alternative to the B&B's, which we also like. Our rooms have always been clean & comfortable and have yet to be disappointed. We like the complimentary breakfast which is open 'till 10am; we like being close to Steinwher Ave, which is our favorite area for attractions like the battlefield, The Dobbin House Tavern and The Farnsworth House House Tavern(Sweney's Tavern); we also like the checkout time of 11am. We like best their loyalty program, which saves us 30% on all our stays. The only downside is that it can sometimes be noisy(get a room on the backside of the building) and because pets are allowed, we could sometimes detect the smell of dog(we don't dislike dogs, however). The beds could also be firmer, which seems to be an issue at just about all the Gettysburg hotels & B&B's we've stayed in.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor with a room on the backside of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit. We are glad that you enjoy your time at the 1863 Inn. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the rate is reasonable. We were also glad to hear that you enjoy the Free "Rise and Shine" Breakfast. It's a great way to start your day. The location of the hotel can't be beat! Most attractions are within walking distance-no need to worry about a parking space. Thank you again for the review. We appreciate your Loyalty! Please come back and see us soon.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington WV
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were given a room on the back side 2nd floor with the roof of the first floor as a view. Rain gathered on that roof made it smell moldy the entire time we were there. The sheets do not fit the beds. I wound up in knots trying to keep them straight. The maid's hair was everywhere. Long black hair stuck to the shower walls, on the bathroom counter, everywhere. We are not brunettes and the location of the hair was new every day so it had to be hers. Don't even mention that "Continental Breakfast". It was very stale microwave food - what appeared to be Eggos, small stale bagels, frozen Jimmy Dean biscuits, etc. I wouldn't trust it due to the hair issue in the room. We drove a few blocks to McDonald's to keep from eating it.
There is a Travel Lodge just up the street and several other hotels nearby. Try those first.

Room Tip: Stay on the street side of the hotel if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Our goal here at the 1863 Inn is to provide each visitor with an enjoyable experience. I am sorry if we fell short of that goal during your stay. There is no excuse for hair of any kind in the bathroom and that will be addressed with the housekeeping staff. I did some research and discovered that you were with us for 4 nights. It is unfortunate that you did not make any of your concerns known to the staff. We are always ready and willing to do everything we can to make our guests comfortable. As for the FREE Breakfast-we offer a wide selection. Most of the items on the Breakfast bar are name brand items and very tasty! I believe that the items offered at McDonalds are very similar to our items. But I also believe our selection is more extensive-hard boiled eggs-yogurt-cereal-waffles-french toast-sweet rolls-bagels-fresh fruit-mini omelettes-breakfast sandwiches and one of the most popular items-sausage gravy and biscuits!. It is quite the spread and it's quick and easy which folks love-more time to spend exploring Gettysburg! Again I apologize for any issues you may have encountered during your stay. I appreciate your comments and hope that you will visit us in the future.

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, great location! Many good restaurants and shops right in the hotel vicinity. Hotel is clean and is also pet friendly! Staff are friendly and always helpful. We will always stay here when visiting Gettysburg! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us how much you enjoyed your visit with us! We are glad that you found the room to be clean and comfortable and the staff helpful and friendly. That is our goal here at the 1863 Inn-to provide every guest with a clean comfortable room! It seems that we achieved that goal which makes us very happy! We hope that you will stop to see us again! You should consider joining our Loyalty Rewards Program for repeat guests-great savings with no black out dates! Thank you again for the wonderful review! See you next time!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegevill
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

While the staff were friendly, the hotel, overall, was bleh. I wanted to love this place so much but too much going against my wishes. Outdated. Kinda nice in some spots, kinda icky in others.

The pros: LOCATION!! Full pressure showers. Great Moen Showerhead. And say it again...location!! The cons: Price. $110-$120 a night for a 3 star hotel's a tad steep especially coupled to the following.... The BED. After long days of walking the battlefield, sleeping on this thing was a nightmare. I began having visions of my luxurious bed at home!! Seriously, I've slept on floors that offer more support!! Dingy public areas. Outdated furniture. (Socket on the lamp falling out) and hey a suggestion, set the bed closer to an accessible outlet for people that need their cell phones to charge and be nearby? Free [--] breakfast. Free doesn't always necessarily mean good value. (Frozen Jimmy Dean sandwiches...microwaved so that one muffin's hard as rock, the other soggy. ) Maybe cut back on the free breakfast and replace some matresses? Just a thought.

With some updating (time to get away from that teal/white palette), some furniture updates, focusing on matresses (really long physical days = need for COMFORTABLE night sleeps), maybe carpet cleaning, removing rusty metal fixtures in bathrooms, spruce up those slightly spooky elevators... You could corner the entire hotel market in that .25 mile radius as the utmost place to stay!! I would become so loyal, as I see ourselves coming back to Gettysburg more to soak it all in!

But, until then... We'll be staying at places, even though a little farther from the center, that will provide the much needed comfort after touring our country's history.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
I do apologize for any issues you may have encountered during your visit with us. I have checked our records and found that none of the issues that you noted were mentioned to us during your stay or at check out when you were asked if you enjoyed your visit. Acutally the room you were in has new drapes, carpet, paint, bedding and chairs-not at all "lackluster". As for the mattress-we realize that you can not please everyone when it comes to a mattress. Some folks like them soft and some like them firm. We try our best to fall somewhere in the middle. We also feel that the FREE Breakfast offers a very nice selection. Most non franchise hotels do not offer a FREE Breakfast. We try very hard to provide each visitor with an enjoyable experience. We also realize that it is extremely hard to satisfy everyone, but we sure do try. The 1863 Inn is far from a "lackluster" hotel. We are very proud of this hotel and the staff. We hope that if you visit with us again that you will bring any issues to our attention during your stay. We would have been happy to address any concerns you may have had.

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The 1863 Inn sits in the middle of historic Gettysburg and is within walking distance to so much. I had read on Tripadvisor about asking for a back room because of street noise, but I wanted a room that overlooked the city and not the parking lot so we chanced a front street room. Yes, there is street noise and if you are a light sleeper, a front room is not for you. But we were not bothered by the noise and would choose a front room again. The room was clean and comfortable and was everything one needs for a room you will only be there to sleep in. I will say the wifi connection was SLOW. The complimentary breakfast is all processed foods but they do give a nice variety-----cereals, breads, microwaveable breakfast sandwiches and omelets, sausage gravy over biscuits, etc. Parking is adequate which is nice. We had a very positive experience on our four night stay here and would choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: Remember----rooms facing the street do get traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for the review on your stay with us. We are glad that you found everything clean and comfortable. We hope that you will stop to see us again. Thank you for choosing the 1863 Inn of Gettysburg. Have a wonderful Summer!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1863 Inn of Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Address: 516 Baltimore St., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 1863 Inn of Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 story Colonial style Hotel with exterior entrances.110 rooms equipped with hair dryers,irons and ironing boards,coffee makers,Free wired hi-speed internet service. Free breakfast for registered Hotel guests. Within walking distance to most major attractions. Gettysburg National Military Park Visitors Center-1 mile. Gettysburg Battlefield Bus Tour Center-next door. Ghost Walk Tours near by. Located 5 blocks from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your 1863 Inn of Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1863 Inn Of Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.